Love Shack, Baby

It’s been a while since I updated you on my new role as The Super. I really shouldn’t call myself that as it is false advertising. You see a Super fixes things and I? I delegate. A tenant called the other day about a clogged sink. Did I whip out the snake (wow, that sounds totally naughty) and unblock the clog? Um, no. I called the Plumber. I suppose I should learn how but I don’t yet have the Dare To Repair book. Here’s to hoping someone (Hi Mom) takes the hint and gets it for me for my birthday (which is, coincidentally, on April 18th). (Shameless birthday self-promotion. Damn Aries.)

The other day I was instructed to pass out rent increase notices. Every ounce of my body filled with dread. Nooooooooo! my mind screamed. I guess I relate all too well as a tenant and am not yet fully invested in my role as manager. I really, really didn’t want to deal with (understandably) upset people who were having their rent jacked- it turns out this is the second time in a year it’s gone up for some people. This is one major downfall with the month-to-month tenancy. Luckily no one has come screaming at my door though a couple have mentioned possibly moving out.

This gig is good though. For the most part I haven’t had any major issues (knock on wood) except for trying to make sense of the files. The former manager used to have the tenants write letters stating how long they wanted to extend the lease. The master log was not updated so many people actually had extended leases though the owners were unaware of it. I’m straightening all of that out in true Type A uber-organizer form. Typical me. Eventually it will all run like clockwork and the vacuuming of all four floors will seem like a breeze (very skeptical of that).

The Fella and I have been talking though and have decided it’s silly for him to live four blocks from me while I struggle to work two jobs and he forks over rent. He’s here a lot, especially on weekends. The way we figure it- it’d be a win-win situation if we shacked up together. We could share the manager duties, both reap the benefit of free rent and get to be together all the time like the lovesick couple we are.

So, he’s moving in with me.

I know. Crazy, huh?

77 thoughts on “Love Shack, Baby

  1. Holy cow! Congratulations! I’m so glad you’ve found someone you’re willing to share your space with. How are Dot and Dash going to handle sharing their space? We all know our animals truly run the show :)

  2. Way to go on having The Fella move in. And sorry they put you in the Evil Super role with the rent thing. I still think you’ll be in the Super Hall of Fame with Schnieder and Mr. Furley in no time!

  3. Holy moly, roommate fun! :) hehe!

    Also, I loved “true Type A uber-organizer form.”

    Sorry I have been MIA a bit. Like the new layout and can’t wait to see what else develops.

  4. Congrats on the moving in together. That is awesome.

    PS I wish listed that book for myself. My house repairs list is getting longer by the day.

  5. Hey, nothin’ sez lovin’ like sharing vacuuming duties. Am I right, or am I right? ;)

    Seriously, though, can’t wait to get started. Being roommates, that is. :D

  6. Congrats on having someone to help with vacuuming! ;)
    I feel like a Super sometimes at my b/f’s house and I don’t even live there!! Not only a Super… but a maid to LOL… I love him to pieces though…
    Peace out!

  7. Not crazy. I lived with my husband for many years before we got married. I’m so glad I did. Your new job sounds great. The answer to a clogged drain is Draino and hot water. . . so my husband tells me.

  8. No, not crazy! I think it’s a very natural next step…and a great way to truly figure out if it’s “meant to be” ;) You really learn a lot about a person once you move in together!

    (And I don’t mean that in a bad way!)

    I have the Dare to Repair book and it gets A LOT of use.

  9. Not crazy at all. Roth and I moved in together after six months of dating, and it’s been bliss ever since. I think it’s crazy when couples spend all their time at one place, yet keep their other place. It’s a smart move, for both your head and your heart.

  10. How awesome is that?! I love it! I’m so happy for both of you.

    Also, I know I said this last year, but my birthday is April 16th. I had forgotten that our birthdays were so close together!

  11. Yay for shacking up! Yay big step! Yay good financial situation! Congrats!

    Also, our sink is clogged and I do own that Dare to Repair book, but I am still calling the management office and getting them to send someone to fix it. That’s what I pay rent for, right?

  12. The Man and I moved in together for similar reasons in 1995. We’re still together. It rocks. He’s just there! :)

  13. Sizzle, I’ve fallen for too many April fools jokes today. Please tell me THIS is not another??

    IF not..CON.GRAT.TU.LATIONS!!!!!

    As a fellow newbie (in a new relationship) I’m so estactic for you!!

  14. I’m waiting for you to pop in and say “April Fools”…. Now, if it is TRUE, you know I’m thrilled for you. If not… WHAT’RE YOU TWO WAITING FOR? There. I said it.

  15. OH. OK. Now. Is this real? I mean, serious congratulations are in order, if so (YAY!). If this is an April Fool’s joke, you got me. You are very convincing by tying in the Super duties to having a live-in studmuffin. Good one, Sizz!

  16. Congratulations on the big move(in)!

    When I was a manager, I hated rent increases because it’s not my fault! It felt like I was babysitting grownups.

  17. Yay!! Congrats!

    Really? How could he turn down free rent?! *KIDDING*

    I don’t know that I could handle passing out the notices either, I’d be so worried that someone was going to yell at me and stuff.

    P.S. Like the new design!!

  18. Holy crap! Nice! I wish I could convince Spike of the same but he is just too set on living where he does (which I must remark is much too small to share with me!). You are an inspiration. I hope you’re having a great morning.

  19. Dr. Laura would disapprove.

    So, do it! I hate that bitch.

    Although, I’v always noticed a gradual yet significant decline in the daily romance department once i start shaking up with my lover. I hate that.
    So here’s wishing you, endless romance, fun surprises, and continuous open honest loving communication with each other, as roommates, friends, and partners.

  20. Congrats on the big news! B and I found that with each step of commitment we made, we faught less and life got easier. Living together really made things a lot simpler. Plus, it shows ya what your relationship’s made of!

    Also, I feel ya on the effed up files. I’m in property management too and I dread finding old resident files where the t’s weren’t crossed nor the i’s dotted. Organization, people! It’s the key to sane living!:)

  21. How fun!!! BF and I moved in together after only knowing each other a month- so I’m all about taking the leap (of course if it hadn’t worked out, I would probably be counseling you otherwise)! Congrats!

  22. Wow, that’s pretty soon, isn’t it? How long have you two been together now? Course, I can’t say shit, really. I moved in with my ex-wife three months after we met.

    Course, I was young and foolish and in love and all that jazz.

  23. Congrats!

    I don’t think it’s crazy at all. But then again, we got engaged after six weeks, although he told me from date one that we were getting married. Our six month anniversary was days after we had gotten married. :)

  24. Why oh why does my Google Reader take a million years to update. Because on days like today? When you have posts like this? I want to be one of the first to know!!!

    CONGRATS! Very exciting about you and The Fella! I’m feeling warm and fuzzy over here. Chicago style. Which isn’t really warm. Because it’s still stupid cold. But, it’s definitely fuzzy. Lots of fuzz, for sure!

  25. I can’t comment until I find out if this is a hoax or not. Because it’s been a sore spot for me and my fella, and I don’t want to lay all that personal junk out on the table if it’s not for realz. :p

  26. Congrats on the fella moving in! By the way, I put Dare to Repair on my wishlist as I’m miss fix-it wherever I go. Hope you don’t mind!

  27. Not crazy at all for you to co-habitate. Win-win as you state and you learn so much more about the other person.

    Oh, love the title of the post. The lovely B-52s have a new album out and it’s pretty damn good I must say. The birthdays are a coming!

  28. Are you moving in together for reals? Or are you just playing a prank?
    If the former, they that’s awesome! Congrats on taking a new step together :)
    And maybe he can take on the super like duties. ….

  29. Batshit crazy…but I would probably consider doing the same thing if I already spent a lot of time with my partner(and they didn’t drive me nutso).

    You two have good chems, why fight it if it feels right?

  30. Crap, I forgot about the calendar today. I’ve been fooled once already and now I’m wondering about the validity of this move in situation.

  31. Is it wrong that all I can think about is your new template (and wonder how long you’ve had it, hello, reading in Bloglines)?

    Seriously, though, congratulations! Unless it’s an April Fool’s thing, in which case, fuck you. LOL

  32. You are so fucking with us.

    If you are not, congratulations. If you are, congratulations. You really pulled it off.

  33. I hate it when I have to tell my client that we have incurred more charges on a project. It is always the last thing they want to hear. I hope most of your tenants are reasonable!

  34. Clawing my way back from the brink of death (okay, I’m really exaggerating here!) to finally see your new design and leave a comment. I like the design and was going to comment on the other thing, but see longer time, more skeptical readers above and wonder…

  35. best of luck to you! just remember to write your name in your books and claim the best shelves in the fridge.

    let us know how it goes.

  36. BEST THING I HEARD ALL DAY!!!
    Love that you guys are shacking up. Congrats!!!

    And the rest will fall into place…I promise.

  37. Congrats on the big decision!! It’s such an exciting time for you guys. And the best part, he’ll help with the supervisory duties…awesome!

  38. Whoa! I’m a day late to the party, but congratulations.

    Do you need to borrow my Brother PT2610 label maker so he knows where to put his stuff?

    I’m so evil.

  39. If this IS a joke, I don’t want to know. Because I think it’s frakking awesome, and about damn time you got this joyfulness.

    SO.HAPPY.FOR.YOU TWO.

Comments are closed.