A Love Note From The Fella, And A Call For More From You!

**This post is written by The Fella**

April 18 is a day that many will remember, and for good reason. It is the day, in 1906, that the 1906 San Francisco earthquake and fire destroyed much of that city. It is the day, in 1923, that “The House That Ruth Built,” Yankee Stadium, was opened. And it was the day, in 1973, that the lovely Ms. Sizzle was born.

And thank goodness. Because without her, the world would be a much sadder and drearier place.

Her effortless smile lights up any room that she’s in. Her beautiful brown eyes shine with mirth when she laughs, and oh, what an infectious laugh it is, too. She gives the best hugs I’ve ever gotten from anyone (and she’s a dang fine kisser, too). She listens when you talk, really listens, and it doesn’t seem to matter what you’re talking about. She loves adventure, and wants you to come along. She makes great blueberry pancakes, roasted chicken, and tofu stir-fry. She’s a terrific dancer and sometimes she’ll even let you lead. (Sorry, baby, couldn’t resist.) She accepts you as you are, while encouraging you to be the best “you” you can be. She seems to genuinely like just about everyone she meets, and more often than not, those people return the favor.

Is it any wonder I love her as much as I do?

Happy birthday, baby. I love you with all my heart.

Now, it’s your turn. In a grand tradition started by one of Sizz’s oldest and dearest friends, Bird, feel free to leave a comment here and tell Sizzle how much you love her, and she’s sure to return the favor. After all, what Aries doesn’t like to be showered with compliments (especially on their birthday)?

So, let’s get started then, shall we? You there, in the back by the soda machine, step up to the front here.

Now, tell me, what is it about Sizzle that you absolutely love?

***

One more day to CLICK for my birthday present- a free blog redesign from the talented Delicious Design Studios!

96 thoughts on “A Love Note From The Fella, And A Call For More From You!

  1. I adore Sizzle for being true to herself. She’s down with her weaknesses, tries to better herself and in the process betters the world around her. If only I weren’t half a country away. I know we’d be great pals. Sizzle, Happy Birthday!

  2. I adore Sizzle for her honesty, both towards herself and others. She is always striving to grow and understand herself and her past. She is compassionate and joyful and I love her to pieces.

    Happy Birthday Friend!

    xoxoxoxxo

    PS: Great post Fella!

  3. I couldn’t narrow down what I love about Sizzle if I tried, because it’s all encompassing. Have a super happy birthday!

  4. I just left a comment that did not show up! I said Happy Birthday, I hope it is a wonderful day.

    There are so many things I love about her. I love that she is honest and kind and tells it like she sees it. I get the feeling that if I ever needed something, she’d be here for me and I feel the same way about her.

    Happy Birthday!!!!

  5. I love, that in being so true to herself, she brings that honesty out in others all around her.

    I love that, like me, she’s always up for a friendly distraction from work…And those distractions always make my day a little better.

    And I love her willingness to help the helpless, even when the helpless is me and my absolute lack of fashion and hair sense.

  6. What an adorable post. I love how she always seems to look at the bright side of things, without being annoying about it. She is able to learn from difficult situations and seems to have no bitterness. She also has a great sense of style.

    Happy Birthday Sizzle! I am still clicking. I want you to win, damnit.

    Click people, click. Sizzle deserves her new design.

  7. Hey Sizzle,

    I love your hair and your glasses. I love the undercurrent of optimism in all the post. (yes, even the not so happy one.)

    I wish you a very happy bday. OH and Fella spoil her rotten for us.

  8. I love Sizzle because even though I have never met her I feel like I “know” her. I love that even when expressing her sorrows there is a lightness and wit. I love that she is always trying to be a better version of herself and that she is inspiring. I love that she can cut her hair short, put red streaks in AND look hot while doing it!

    Happy Birthday Sizzle!

  9. Pingback: Pssst… « Wafelenbak!

  10. I can’t narrow it down to just one thing either. She is so sweet, so fun, so wonderfully infectious, so brave, and so self-aware. Of all the bloggers I’ve not met in person it kills me the most that I’ve not yet met Sizzle!

  11. What can I say about Sizzle? She left a random comment or two on my blog awhile back so I clicked to check her out. She looked so adorable and stylish that I knew I had to make her mine. I mean, become her friend.

    She is a strong, independent woman who is so filled with life and energy. I can just see that she makes everyone around her happy. And can’t we all use more people like that in our lives? I think so.

    Sizzle, I look forward to meeting you at BlogHer this year. We shall drink whiskey and coke and try not to stumble.

    Happy Birthday! I hope you win the blog design contest.

  12. Happy Birthday! What a sweet note!

    I love sizzle’s honesty, and her great way of telling stories – you feel like you’re there with her!

  13. From the moment she commented on my blog I knew we would be friends. She always knows just the right thing to say. I swear sometimes she reads my mind. I hope that some day we can meet because I have to see this magic everyone talks about in person.

    Happy Birthday Sizzle! Here’s to many more.

  14. Happy Birthday Miss Sizzle!

    There are lots of things I love and admire about Sizzle. One that tops off the list is her authenticity. There is so much depth to her writing. She always seems to follow her heart, and in doing so, is true to herself. I admire this ability, this grasp on one’s inner self and ability to be so self-aware.

    Also? I like her new do’, her newphew is damn adorable, and she always makes me laugh. I feel like I “know” her even though I don’t know her know her, in real life, and I always look forward to reading her blog!

    Hope you have a fabulous day lady!

  15. That was a great love note from the The Fella! Well done sir!

    I have only been in the presence of Sizzle for a little while, but I have to say that her sense of humor, her attitude, the fact that she responds to blog comments and her admiration for that little thing we all call cheese makes her A-OK in my book, figuratively speaking of course. I really don’t have a ‘book’ of people and I’d never write A-OK in it.

    Plus, like me, she was born in ’73! Hey, that rhymed. Happy Birthday!!

  16. I love that Sizzle is almost always the first person to comment on my blog.

    Happy Birthday! May you get lots and lots of cake.

  17. Happy Birthday, Sizzle!

    I love that very often Sizzle’s posts seem to be plucked straight from my brain, lending support to the idea that I’m not really all alone on that limb after all.

    Hope you two have a fantabulous day!

  18. I don’t know Sizzle personally but I just think she exudes compassion, passion, coolness, funniness and spunk. She makes me laugh and I love reading her blogs. Happy birthday!

    love ya sizzle!

  19. I love that post.
    I love that Sizz is one of the most easy-to-relate-to people I’ve ever encountered.
    I love that she cares so obviously and deeply about the people who matter to her — and about people in general.
    I love that she’s not afraid to let her ‘warts’ show.
    I love that she’s always working on getting over speedbumps and bettering herself.
    And I love that she’s an April birthday!!

  20. HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Sizzle writes with a warmth, humor, and self-awareness that few can match. She’s a one of a kind.

    I got you something: http://tinyurl.com/3esnn5

    I hope this weekend is tons of fun, and this birthday marks the beginning of your best year yet!!!

  21. Awww…how sweet:) I wish that Ted could sometimes be a little more vocal about his sentiments, but then I guess he shows it in other ways, like cleaning up Kona’s pee (how romantic!).

    Happy Birthday and I hope you two have a fabulous weekend together!

    Oh yeah, one thing that is really cool about you is how you have such a long blogroll, yet you make time to visit each and every person — everyone seems to matter to you:)

  22. your smile and yes, infectious laugh
    love of family
    love of music and all that comes with that…yes the singing in the car…*the best of memories*
    passion for believing in people, searching for the best, seeing the good…
    honest words
    willingness and openness to grow, learn, reach, teach
    the best cup of tea
    love for decorating and making wherever you are feel like “home”
    the best hugs ever
    unconditional friendship…close to 20 years of it…

    happy birthday, my dear friend
    you, too, are always with me

    xoxo
    jenny (two times)

  23. I love keeping up with you on your blog and thanks for reading mine (and actually commenting on it). You are a totally awesome gal and I know you will have a terrific birthday.

    And a great year to come!
    Cheers,
    Jen

  24. Happy birthday, Ms. Sizzle! (Am I the only one still calling you Ms.? Maybe it’s how I was raised. Or maybe I took the lyrics to some Janet Jackson song way too seriously. Yeah, that’s probably it.)

    Anyway, hope you have a wonderful day, week, month, quarter, year, decade, eon, etc.

  25. I love that I have never met Sizz, but feel like we hangout on a regular basis. I love that we both know Santa Cruz and all that it has to offer. I love that she loves her little nephew as much as I do my niece. I love that she has a passion for fashion and that she takes the time to keep up with her readers. Very swanky, sassy and funkalicious sweet.
    Happy Birthday Sizz!

  26. I love Sizz’s tenacity and continual soul searching efforts. There’s more but that’s the best I’ve got!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, SIZZIE-POO!

  27. Great post!

    I love Sizzle because she’s a great kisser. Er, I mean, I love Sizzle because she always makes my day. I think she’s super.

    Happy birthday!!

  28. If we were in person I’d sing you the happy birthday pig salute that has become a family tradition…lucky for me, it doesn’t really translate in text. ;-)

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

  29. From what I’ve read on Sizzle’s blog, she’s a caring, hilarious, honest and very loving person. Happy Birthday Sizzle!! Wish you all the best and hope you have a fantastically, wickedly awesome day!!! :)

  30. Happy Birthday Ms. Sizzle!

    You have no idea who I am but I admire your willingness to be open and honest with the readers of your blog. You show us that it’s alright to have bad days and help us keep our chins up to keep trying to be all we can be. Thank you for being a great writer and sharing your life with us.

    I hope your special day is just as special as you are! :O)

  31. I just started reading her blog, but from the few posts that I’ve read so far, both present and archived, I can safely say that I admire her spunk, candidness, sense of style, and ability to so eloquently put her thoughts in writing. Happy Birthday!

  32. Happy birthday Sizzle! And as a fellow aunt to two adorable nephews, I love your total affection for and devotion to your ‘lil guy.

    Have an outstanding b-day weekend!

  33. I love the way Sizzle makes everyone feel special. When I finally delurked and even started my own blog she went out of her way to make me feel welcome and not at all like a “newbie”.
    I also love her red lipstick, but she knows that ;o)
    Happy Birthday gorgeous lady and fellow Aries – having a glass right now for you ;o)

  34. Happy Birthday, Sizzle!

    I love Sizzle so: let me count the ways…

    Proud to be among the lucky ones who knows Sizzle personally (have received many of those wonderful hugs that The Fella describes so aptly), I am equally proud to tell everyone out there in the blogosphere who read her words but haven’t yet had the pleasure of meeting her, that…. yes, she is all she seems.

    Witty, wise, sassy, sweet, fashionable, feisty and certainly smart as a whip.

    Sizzle is that gal who can make you smile even on an impossibly long work day, invites you to knit with her even if you don’t know how, and is there magically to straighten your wedding dress and give you a wink right before walking down the aisle.

    Sound too good to be true?

    It’s not.

    We’re lucky to have her.

    Happy Birthday, Friend. We love you.

  35. I love that Sizzle is a super-friendly blogger who takes time to respond to her readers and comment on their blogs ;)

    And she is veryyyyyy PURTY. And cool.

    Happy birthday!

  36. I love how genuine she is. I find so many bloggers portray a different and false image of themselves in BlogWorld. I think it is refreshing to be real, whether on good or bad days. Even though I haven’t met her, I just get the sense she’d be exactly the same in real life- and I love that. :)

    Happy Birthday, Sizzle.

  37. Wishing you a happiest of happy birthdays!! I shot you a tweet shortly after midnight, but I’m sure you missed it in all of your morning birthday wishes.

    I just met Siz online a few months back, but I’ve got to say, she’s one helluva blogger. I love how she always seems to find time to return comments (man, could I learn from her). And of course, her content is both touching and personal as well a sassy and amusing.

    Thanks for being you!

  38. Add me to the long, long list of people who love the Sizz even though we’ve never actually met. Anyone who can start an email conversation with a stranger and manage to keep it alive and interesting for days on end is pretty cool in my books. Happy Birthday, Sizzle.

  39. Oh sure… I spill my guts at how much I totally love Sizzle, then get a visit from The Fella so he can beat the crap out of me! Good plan!

    Bleh.

    I think I’m going to assign an alias to “The Fella” because this pan-generic reference is driving me nuts. I’m leaning towards either Bernard or Ralph. I don’t think I’d mind having the crap being beaten out of my by a Bernard or Ralph. Well, maybe instead of Bernard it would sound better for me if his alias were Bruiser or Buster. Those sound more like the name of a guy who beats the crap out of people professionally, so there’s no shame in that.

  40. I love how great a friend she is to a shlub (sp?) like me even though we’ve never actually met.

    And I love that she’s found a guy like you who is willing to write out a love letter to her on her birthday like this one.

    Happy B-day, Blog Sistah!

    Dave, you can’t call him Bernard! That’s my ghost! Take Buster.

  41. I love how Sizzle, though I’ve only known her via the blogworld for a few weeks, has been so kind and welcoming!
    I love her style of writing and how she always seems to be living her life for joy.
    I love how happy she makes me when “Sizzle Says (1)”
    pops up on google reader.
    Muah! Happy Birthday Siz!

  42. I’ve only just started reading Sizzle, I love her already! She always answers comments and emails and is all around fantastic. I can’t wait to me you at BlogHer!

    Happy birthday!

  43. To miss Sizzle, whose name I still don’t know in spite of the fact that she’s on my Top Ten Women to snatch away from their equally awesome boyfriends.

    What started out as a good old fashioned blog-crush of a hot girl with glasses, turned into full-blown virtual adoration.

    I hope you have a nice birthday where you consume much alcohol, and indulge in healthy portions of birthday sex.

    It’s been my pleasure to have been added to your blog roll and to be called your ‘friend’.

    Thanks for being so awesome Sizz.

  44. Have a wonderful, wonderful birthday, Miss Sizzle! Enjoy yourself and your day of awesomeness!

    (I’m gonna go click some more. Just for you. Cuz these current comments are kinda small to read, so I’d love to see a new blog design too O:))

  45. I’ve clicked and I’ve clicked and I’ve clicked.
    I can’t bring down the moon for you (even though you deserve it), but I would love it if you would win the new design!
    Happy birthday, dear Sizzle!

  46. I like it when I comment on your blog, you often send a personal little note, and we have a mini-conversation on the side.

    You sure know how to welcome a new reader to your blog! Makes me wish I lived on the west coast and was one of your real-life friends!

    have a happy, wonderful, incredible birthday. soak up every moment and celebrate YOU. (we are!)

  47. (Stepping back from the soda machine and opening up my diet coke)

    Happy (BURP)sday!

    Doesn’t it rock to be a fiery Aries?!?!

    (This is another Aries Becky who wandered over here thru Seattle Aries Becky’s website!)

  48. I love how well Sizzle writes. I never feel the urge to grab a digital red pencil when I’m reading her blog.

    I love how photogenic she is, and how she isn’t ashamed to admit that she likes her own face.

    I love how faithful she is in reading and commenting on her friends’ blogs (including mine!), even though there must be a shitload of them.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, PUMPKINBUBBA! Have a Sizzlicious celebration with The Fella.

  49. HOPE YOU ARE HAVING A WONDERFUL BIRTHDAY DAY!!!!

    I love you Sizzle for so many reasons!!!!

    You are always thoughtful, kind and reply with comments in lightening speed.

    I love that you get my sense of humor, especially when most of time, the humor is that of a 16 year old boy.

    I love your honesty about pretty much every subject out there – including yourself. You don’t hold back and I want to squish you for it.:)

    You are a real person who makes everyone feel like they are one of your best friends. even if we have never met.

    I hope you have/had a very special day because you deserve it in spades!!!!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    **p.s. your present will be sent out early next week. Sorry, poor planning on my part!**

  50. Dare I sing to you Sizz?

    Oh what the heck. No one will know how badly I sing here, right?

    From the song made popular by Ronnie Milsap:

    Happy Happy Birthday Baby
    I know I’m actin’ kinda Crazy

    I’ll let you finish the rest of the song in your head.

    You and the fella have a grand time.

    Big hugs.

    TAG

  51. Happy birthday, Ms Sizzle!

    I am impressed by your energy and your honesty on this blog, and I’ve often laughed out loud (just as much as I’ve grinded my teeth from the pain that was showing through, sometimes) while reading some of your posts. You have an edge, a unique voice, and that’s why I like you.

    I am very happy you found someone who writes such beautiful things about you. You deserve it. :)

    One day late, I hope you had a great b-day.

    S.W.

  52. Fella posted?!

    Sizzle is awesome because of her true heart, and the way she is comfortably honest.

    Plus, she posts pics of her super nephew :)

  53. I don’t know Ms. Sizzle well enough. But, I love her writing. It is near and dear to my heart.

    :hug:

    Happy birthday to you Ms. Sizzle

  54. Happy Birthday Sizz!!

    I love you because you are so real….you let your readers know you.

    And I love that you got a haircut first cause you inspired me to get a new ‘do.

    From one Aries gal to another….Happy Birtday.

  55. Happy Birthday Sizzle!

    I love that I feel like I know you even though we’ve never met. It’s hard enough to relay emotions in real life, but to be able to do it so genuinely over a blog…pat yourself on the back girl!

    I’m also a child of 1973 and you have inspired me to inquire with my own mother of her (our) birth story. Funny thing about you being “late” – my mom’s due date with me was October 9th & I was born on October 31st! Like you, I think that was the last time I was late…I’m one of those that is sitting in her car 10 minutes before I’m supposed to be there.

    Happy Happy to you. Loved the Fella’s tribute. He’s a keeper!

  56. Well, of course I had to just post about my love of Miss Sizzle… so it’s over there.

    Fella? You done good. I’m so glad she has you in her life now. You really compliment each other and you both seem so, dare I say it? Sickeningly sweet happy…! But then, I’m diabetic.

    Hey! Sizzle WON the web design! YAY!!!! Happy B-day, sweetie.

  57. Awwwww!

    This is exactly like the love letter my husband wrote me! Except I wrote it and signed his name. DAMMIT.

    I have only known you for two days now, but clearly you are very, very loved, and that speaks volumes.

    Hope your day was and continues to be spectacular!

  58. I love Sizzle’s writing style, the way she describes daily situations with a bit of fun, and how she openly tackles real life issues. I have a feeling that if I knew her in real life (ie, not the internets) we’d be friends. That makes me like her even more.

    Happy Birthday, Sizzle! Congrats on winning the blog-redesign.
    :-)

  59. Happy Birthday! Sorry I’m a day late. Hope you had a great day yesterday, and congrats on winning the redesign!

    What I love is your writing; so completely honest and laying it out there in a way that I wish I had the courage to do.

  60. oh fella, you just made me cry, if only all men were made like you.
    I stumbled on Sizzle’s blog a while ago, I thnk from la’s blog?? Or is it La from Sizzle’s blog?? anyway, If I had know she was a fellow Aries I would have discriminately loved her from the get go. It turns out that through her sincere, unpretentious posts, I got to know her and respect her all the more.
    I feel weird writing about her in the third person (hey Sizz) but there you have it.
    Take care.

  61. Sniff. Sniff. You made me cry Fella.
    I love Sizzle and am so happy both of you found each other :)

  62. Aw beautiful words from the Fella!

    I love the way Sizzle writes, and how she writes in her blog nearly every day, no matter how busy she is. I love her positive attidue to life and how she finds the energy to do so much with her time. And I love her face, not only is she gorgeous but her face just oozes fun and enthusiasm.

    (belated) Happy birthday Sizzle!

  63. I love that Sizzle is such an open, warm, and accepting person – sometimes even to her own detriment. Not everyone can give that much of themselves.

    Happy (belated) Birthday, my friend!
    (Yeah, I’m a slacker. Sorry!)

  64. I like that your honest and real. I like your writing style and especially the way you search your soul to solve your problems. I like how you blog about how you dig deep into your past, especially things re: your dad to..well, get it out in the open and heal yourself. It makes me think of my own troubled relationship with my dad. And, you are never dull, sizzle, so that’s why I keep on stopping by from time to time.

    Sounds like a great fella ya got there.

  65. i’m late cos i was off celebrating my birthday hehe!

    do you know what i love about this blog? sometimes you say or do things that make me go “oh no i don’t agree with that” and going by the comments you get i’m the only one thinking that. but then the way you talk on this blog you make me remember that it’s okay for me not to follow the crowd and to think “bad sizzle” even when no one else does! and vice versa of course :)

    i hope you had a great day :D

    PS your fella’s a sweetie.

  66. Ok, I know I am LATE.late.late. but damn I had to scroll a long ways down to say:

    one. i love you sizz because you have big huge brains. and you use those brains for good, not evil… you brighten the lives of others with your smile and your words. I love that you are fearless in your writing and that you put it all out there with honesty. It makes you human and loveable. And, of course, last but not least, I love ya’ Sizz cuz YOU ARE A HOTTIE!

    happy bday.
    and congrats to the Fella for a great post!

  67. Pingback: Going Coastal « Sizzle Says

  68. Pingback: Annual Sizzle Birthday LoveFest « Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.