What Makes Family

For a long time my immediate family consisted of my Dad, my Mom, my younger sister (Dokey) and me. Then we lost my Dad to the bottle and eventually to his emphysema and the lung cancer and it was just us girls. We wore our battle scars differently but were united survivors- tight-knit, over-protective and fiercely loyal to one another. My Mom, my sister and I relied on each other as friends as well as family. We were an inseparable trio.

Enter: Double B.

My sis had dated a fair share of boys but was by no means a shameless flirt bordering on hussy like her older sister. (That’d be me for those of you who are trying to catch up.) Double B and Dokey became pretty much inseparable from their first date. On their second date, Double B showed up at my Mom’s door to pick up my sister only to be greeted with scrutiny and the incredulous question, “Did you have BLUE hair yesterday?” (The answer was “yes” she just hadn’t noticed.)

The years have rolled by since then. There have been small moments- nights spent over board games and too much booze, simple dinners accompanied by belly laughs, dancing with Finn to Jurassic 5 in the living room- and bigger moments- Christmas in Mexico, coming to my aid when I fell and gave myself a bloody concussion, helping me move into my first apartment in Seattle (and my second). And then the biggest moments of them all. . . the two of them standing sweetly under trees lit with tiny lanterns exchanging vows and me standing up with them, toasting their union and their love. They filled me with hope that it WAS possible. That maybe that could happen to me too someday despite my best efforts to sabotage it. And then years later when Finn came into the world- there we were, me holding my sister’s left hand as Double B held the right and we watched her push that beautiful boy into a room surrounded with so much love. I watched as Double B’s tears fell as he looked at his son for the first time overcome with precious emotion.

These are the moments that bound us to another. These are the moments that make up a life.

Double B is an easy-going guy who is skilled at many things like building wall cat scratchers and kitty ledges to occupy my cats, precisely hanging shelving and framed art, and making hands down the most delicious french toast ever. He lives up to his nickname “basket ace” at disc golf, knows all the words to certain (if not all) King Missile songs, and in his hey day concocted some very powerful cocktails at their annual holiday party. He’s a stand up guy who tells corny jokes and always runs out to pick up the take out. And he is an awesome dad to Finn who absolutely adores him.

All this is to say that over time this man who was once just some guy with blue hair who courted my younger sister has now become, I’m proud to say, my brother.

Happy Birthday, Double B.

I love you.

59 thoughts on “What Makes Family

  1. What a great guy. It feels so good when you know a sibling has found someone really great, who will love and appreciate them, and join them in a wonderful life together!

    Happy Birthday Double B!

  2. This is a great post – you were lucky to get such a good “brother” :) It’s amazing how people become your family without being truly related isn’t it? A great feeling. I like some of my in-laws better than some of my own family for pete’s sake. HA!

  3. um…jeeeezus. now i’m teary at my desk. how do you always do that?

    happy birthday, db

    j

  4. This is one of the sweetest posts :) He’s lucky ot have such a great sister-in-law who adores him too :)

  5. This post gives me hope that my lil sis can have a blue-haired boy whom I can call brother of her own someday.

    Happy Birthday, Double B. You are obviously part of a fabulous family.

  6. Ohhh! That was beautiful! You painted a real pretty picture of your blue haired brother-in-law! Awww! I love that photo of him curled up next to your little cutie pie nephew! Ahhh! CUTE!

    Happy Birthday Double B!

  7. Sizzle, your posts make me cry. This is so sweet and I’m sure Double B is just as thankful to have a “sister” like you. Hope he has a great birthday.

  8. THat just made me all teary!
    My younger brother and his wife are expecting their first child in November. We JUST found out that it’s going to be a girl. I can’t wait.

  9. Yay for in-law posts!

    As a brother-in-law to a totally cool sister-in-law, I’m all about cross birthday celebrationialism.

    Plus, it’s another excuse for Grandma cake, right?

  10. I had to do a double take on that first picture, you and your sister are identical down to the glasses!!
    You are so sweet to dedicate this post to your BIL.
    Happy Birthday Double B.

  11. I can not believe how much you, your Mom and sister look alike.
    Beautiful post to what sounds like a fantastic BIL.

  12. I’m all teary eyed too, sizz. Thanks for your moving words… you are an awesome sister and I’m so lucky to have been accepted into your family.

    Thanks for being there for me…

    I love you too!!

  13. I think for us single gals with no brothers, having a great BIL makes all the difference in the world. I surely love mine!

    Happy Birthday Double B, you rock!

  14. When you talk like this Sizzle, it gives me real hope that my girls can one day find a man who will be so wonderful, and can be called lovingly, a part of our family.

  15. Every one of those photos is awesome, but I especially like Double B and Finn bowling.

    What a great, great family and you are all blessed to have each other.

    Mayberry Magpie

  16. That is such a nice post. And Double B’s comment, was so cute. He looks like a great guy, and fun daddy.

    Did your sis have a home birth? I am curious from that picture of Dad and son on a “normal” looking bed.

  17. Happy Bday to Double B!! It’s nice that you have gotten so close to your brother in law…Mine I know but not that close.
    I had to laugh at your gyno experience. Jeezzzz…that doc talks to much about herself that’s for sure. And as for the kleenex they need to give you after the exam is over…never have I had a doc give me one either. God, how I hate my annual exam but I know it is a necessary evil.
    Thx for the comment….looking forward to the Seattle greet and meet too.

  18. Don’t you love when people just fit into your life and you just know they’ll be there for a while. :)

    Nice tribute.

  19. aww sounds great :)

    i still haven’t been given a brother-in-law from either of my sisters. i can’t wait for it to happen tho.

  20. Hi Sizzle,
    I have been visiting, just not had time to comment but wanted to say that I’m so thrilled you did win the new design for your blog, it’s just gorgeous and cute and rather you. I haven’t blogged in months, but life is all good and I will eventually get around to posting … maybe sometime soon.
    Hope you and the fella are doing fabulous … hugz from Africa.

Comments are closed.