Keyed Up

I am not managing my life very well.

Here’s an example: Last night I worked until 9pm and I could not find my hide-a-key box. What do these two things have to do with one another, you ask? I’ll tell you.

First, you should note that the hide-a-key box is a very handy tool for apartment managers like myself so that I can leave keys to the building in secret places for repairmen so that I am not forced to miss work at my other job sitting on my ass waiting. And waiting.

I had been searching high and low for this hide-a-key magnetic box in my apartment to no avail. I remembered putting it in a “safe place” which, in my case, always equates with “losing it forever.” After working late, I was too fed up to start my search in earnest again when I returned home. I was in a foul mood and didn’t want to chance an emotion explosion. Everything is blown out of proportion this week thanks to PMS. Including my stomach. Hello! Bloating! I hate you!

I digress.

When I woke up today I gave up entirely on searching for it and just decided I would wait for the repairman to arrive since he said he’d be by in the morning. I called and left a message for the repair company but come 10am, I still had not heard from them. I called again and they told me that the ordered part won’t be in until this afternoon so the repair guy won’t come out until later. Gee, thanks for telling me that NOW after I am now late for my real job.

This whole time I am sitting in my apartment waiting (and working on my third “job” but that’s a whole other tangent) when I could have walked over to the locksmith and gotten a new hide-a-key but I didn’t because I was afraid I’d miss the damn repairman. You see my conundrum? I hate wasting time. I hate being late. I hate disorganization. But that seems to be the theme running through my life lately.

I got myself together and went to the locksmith.  When I returned to the building I went to the hiding spot for the box. Guess what I found?  The “missing” hide-a-key box. Of course. That’s just like my life. Search high and low for a thing but never look in the obvious location. Usually what I am looking for is staring me straight in the face.

It’s no wonder I can’t figure out how to manage my life right now. I can’t see the big picture. I’m too focused on the minutia. And the PMS blurs my vision.

39 thoughts on “Keyed Up

  1. DOH!

    PMS is a bitch ain’t it. Luckily there is chocolate to get us through these trying times.

    Eat two bite sized Snickers and call me in the morning. lol.

    =)

  2. poor sizzle. i feel your pain dear. my entire life is that way. i hate to look for a photo on my computer. i know i have it in literally 3 – 4 places, but i can’t find any of them. it stinks.

  3. I think PMS does something to your brain. Like pregnancy brain. I’m always clumsy and forgetful around that time. At least you have a back-up hide-a-key now. :)

  4. Heh, in our house the “nice safe place” is a running joke. My husband always comes up with new, crazy, “safe” places to put crap that we really need, but can then never EVER find again. Until we move or someone dies.

  5. You sound like another blogger today who marched back into the doctor’s office looking for her glasses, only to be told by the nurse that they’re on her head. Sigh. Hang in there. These are little things – while they muddy your day, they will be forgotten with time.

  6. Just pretend you’re a repairman and start showing up for things whenever you damn well please. Then you’ll feel much more relaxed.

  7. Sorry, pushed the enter button before I finished what I was typing! I desperately need this week to end too!

    What I was going to say is that the repairmen are ALWAYS late. I don’t think I’ve ever known them to come on time. And it’s such a waste of your own time! How can anyone be organized around people like this anyway?

  8. I do stuff like that ALL. THE TIME. Bad as I am with keys, I’m even worse with umbrellas. I probably have a dozen of them, but where are they when it rains?? About half the time, the answer is “darned if I know.”

  9. Hehe- I was just getting at my 11 yr old for losing a book from the library @ school ’cause I had to pay $8.99 for it…then, of course, within HOURS she finds said book in her BOOK BAG…lol…I threw my hands up in the sky of despair! 2 months I had to tolerate the nasty graham from the school and she never thought of looking in her book bag? Really? Sigh…..is it me, or is that a pretty obvious place to look?

    My point?

    It’s not just you sizzle…trust me! ;)

  10. I think we all have a hard time looking at the big picture. We spend too much time picking out the color of the picture and criticizing the crappy matting to fully appreciate the art work in itself.

    Wait, this isn’t about actual artwork, right?

  11. “safe place” which, in my case, always equates with “losing it forever.”

    Yup. Me too.

    Every once and a while I try to coerce St.Tony to help out, but he doesn’t usually delivier (Tony, Tony, please come down, something’s lost that can’t be found)

    Which probably has something to do with the fact that I haven’t gone to mass in about 3 years…

  12. Yup, I try to avoid putting things in “safe places” because then the little gremlins take them away.
    I find “middle of floor” to be the best spot for anything, PMS or not!

  13. Too damn funny. Although I’ve always known it to be true that things hide until you quit looking for them and then they make themselves seen. Bastards.

  14. So funny. I had a day like that on Monday due to a long weekend with little to no sleep—I seriously couldn’t focus on anything. Of course, I picked that day to call my new cable company to set up service for our new apartment…I’m still not completely sure what services I’m getting…I think maybe digital cable, but maybe just expanded basic, and perhaps high speed internet, but there were three levels and……yeah. We’ll see how that turns out in a few weeks.

  15. Hmm, maybe you could help me find the key to my garage that mysteriously vanished over the weekend? And now I can’t get into my garage? At all? UGH.

  16. I avoid the “safe place” and instead go with the counter top. I figure if it’s in plain sight, I still have just as muc chance of loosing it, but a better chance of finding it. Hang in there, something will shift.

  17. Oh I hear you on the PMS front, she’s with me as we speak. Bloating, upset stomach, tiredness, cravings, the whole package!

  18. Lion breath Sizzle! My crazy yoga friend used to make me walk and breathe out loudly through my mouth (like a lion?) when I was on the verge of exploding. I thought she was crazy, but it worked.

    If it doesn’t for you, beat the crap out of something. As long as it won’t need repairing later :)

    *Hugs*

  19. I wouldn’t worry… Unless of course the item you are so desperately searching for turns out to be in your hand… I lose my keys and sunglasses that way all the time… Once I even lost my mobile phone – While talking on it… I was so stressed looking for it, I had to end the call.

  20. pms is so bad when you’re already having to handle a situation that would stress you out if you weren’t pms’ing!

    i have “safe” places too! and they always always end up being lost “safe” places too ;)

  21. Three jobs?!!! Holy smokes! My head is in spins just thinking about it!

    PMS – Ayyy. I’ve been feeling this for two days already. yuck!

  22. Ugh, I always put things “where I’ll remember” and then I NEVER DO. I hate that disorganized feeling more than anything! Chaos is SO overrated.

  23. That’s so frustrating! When my life gets out of control, I always have much less tolerance for the little annoyances. Here’s hoping you find some balance very soon!

  24. Oh my god, NEVER put anything in the “safe place”!!! There’s a vortex there that sucks said item straight out into deep space. You are very lucky to have caught your hide-a-key box on its return trip.

    Also? They don’t call it The Curse for nothing.

Comments are closed.