Later, Tater

I have to break some news to you.

I do not own a laptop or an iPhone.

This is important to note because as of tomorrow I will be without internet access for seven days during my trip to California. SEVEN DAYS. I am going to do my best to not “borrow” anyone’s computer because honestly, there is a piece of me that is looking forward to this experiment of being without the world wide web. Certainly the irony is not lost on me that I am attending a blogging conference and yet, will not be blogging. I am sure to return with a month’s worth of post ideas and 15 bajillion photos- all of which I may just force you to endure in post after post until you scream out ENOUGH ALREADY and throw a pencil at me.

Do people even use pencils anymore?

Alright, alright! I solemnly swear to not ramble on for an entire week about my California adventure when I get back. Unless. . . you really want me to. Remember the magic word.

I have my packing list but have not yet packed. By the end of today I will have run all my errands and printed out all my schedules and confirmations and directions. My phone will be charged and my iPod fully loaded. I have extra batteries for my crappy digital camera so I can take 12,000 pictures. Of drunk bloggers, San Francisco, my friends, the ocean and all the food and drink I consume. Or of me with drunk bloggers in San Francisco by the ocean eating clam chowder. A picture is worth a thousand words. Don’t you forget it.

So all this is to say, I won’t be around for a week. I won’t be reading your blogs or posting on mine. I won’t be answering emails. I won’t know what in the hell is going on with you and I’m sad about that but then I think about the ocean and California and seeing all my old friends and meeting new ones and I forget. . . who are you again? Oh, come on. . . I am kidding! You know I love you more than my luggage.

My trip is packed from start to finish. I have sent off my itinerary to all my friends in California (and they’ve still agreed to meet up with me). Starting with Marnacakes and Supple Wednesday, then Bird and RaeRae Thursday followed by a bunch of BlogHer then Saturday night with Dumpling and Jersey Girl. Sunday is my family reunion at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk where I will get to see most of my relatives (think loud, Irish clan that freckles & burns consuming chocolate dipped ice cream cones), ride the Giant Dipper (my favorite!) and see my Mom,  Tomato and Androol. Monday until I return home Tuesday I will get to hang out with Angelou and Mikey & Meagan at their new house.

After hearing all that is it any wonder that I plan on returning home exhausted, probably needing a new liver and 36 hours of uninterrupted sleep? I imagine that when I check my google reader I will become so overwhelmed with the 1957 feeds that I will be forced to hit “read all” and cry a little inside. But you will forgive me, won’t you? We’re close like that.

I’ll see you next week, my friends.

P.S. If you’re following me on Twitter. . .I apologize in advance.

74 thoughts on “Later, Tater

  1. I can’t believe you’re going to a blogging conference without a computer! LOL I am interested to see if you actually make it through the whole conference without sneaking onto someone’s computer!

    I can’t wait to see all your pictures! I totally wish I was going to be there to meet you!

    (I’d totally share my computer! ;) )

  2. Have a terrific time! I am eager to hear about all the cool stuff you learn about blogging. Although you’re such a good blogger already, is there really any room for improvement!? :)

  3. Have a great trip!!!

    And I will never own an iPhone. Ever.

    Also, I do use pencils. All the time. They’re mechanical, though, so I don’t know if that’s like… the iPhone of pencils.

  4. I don’t have an iPhone or laptop either.

    Take plenty of pictures and I can’t wait to hear your stories when you get back!

    Will definitely miss you but have a fantastic time!!

  5. It’s going to be lonely without your presence for a few days, but I’ll manage. Honestly, I wish everyone who was going to Blogher would take a cue from you, because the daily updates from the conference can get kind of annoying to those who are not attending (ahem, me). I plan to stay away from Twitter the whole weekend, in fact.

    Have fun! Looking forward to a succinct wrap-up post afterward!

  6. Don’t forget to pack the pj’s. Never know when you’ll have a change of heart and decide I’m right about making that unique and unforgettable fashion statement.

    TAG

  7. This is for Dumpling and Jersey Girl… if you are reading this… please take your sweet time coming to fetch Sizzle on Saturday night. We won’t mind.

    And I promise to have my laptop handy at BlogHer should an emergency arise for Miss Sizzle. Otherwise, I too will be busy posing for arm length photos and doing shots of whisky with the gal I just can’t wait to meet.

    DAY AFTER TOMORROW!!!!!!

  8. Enjoy!

    Wish I was DRIVING over to the conference, but because I just had a baby and my gal pal in crime didn’t want to go, I’m not making it this year.

    ah well. I’ll just sit back drinking my diet coke and enjoy watching both my kids get sicker and sicker.

  9. Oh yay! I’m so excited for your trip. And your break from all things electronic. And cannot wait to hear more upon your return. Though, it’s my turn to apologize. I will be gone on vacation when you return and will only be able to catch up with you in the most delayed of fashions. Your turn to forgive me. :-)

  10. I’m just as technologically behind as you are (which is probably more sad considering my age), so I understand. I will miss your writing though! Have a blast!

  11. No updates from Sizzle for almost a whole week? What will I do?

    Can’t wait to hear about all your adventures, have so much fun!

  12. Have a great time! Don’t worry, I don’t own a laptop or an Iphone either, despite me trying to get my cardiologist to say I need both for health reasons.

    Enjoy the time and the conference and the city by the bay!!

  13. I am no where near prepared for BlogHer. I will be doing ALL of my packing Wednesday night (I leave Thursday morning – smart).

    As for not owning a laptop…how do you do it? I would go into withdrawal if I didn’t own a laptop/iPod Touch/Blackberry.

    I am technology’s bitch and I’m strangely okay with that.

  14. awe, just when i get hooked to your blog you go and leave! LOL…nah, have a great time and enjoy the time away from the computer- we just spent a week over near Twisp in the Methow Valley, no radio, tv, or computer…it was a wonderful break!

  15. Darn that BlogHer! Some of my favorite bloggers are going to be there and it seems you’re all going silent for the duration.

    Have fun in CA though. The Santa Cruz boardwalk always reminds me of Lost Boys – my very favorite movie in 6th grade. Ahh…the Coreys used to make me swoon.

    Safe travels!

  16. Have a good time. Yeah, I’m debating whether I should leave my laptop at home when I go to England in a couple of weeks. Perhaps remaining unplugged for 12 days will be oddly refreshing ;-)

  17. I hope you have a wonderful time! Sounds like an awesome vacation time, and opportunity to visit with friends too! :-D

    I don’t own a laptop or iPhone either, but I inadvertantly signed up for a mountain of spam with an e-card earlier. *sigh* 1048items, and counting!
    Maybe it would be good to be disconnected for awhile!

  18. Have a fantastic time, Sizz – what a wonderful opportunity for you, and how lucky you are to return to your family & friends. :) I will miss your updates – can’t wait to hear all about your trip!!!

  19. Have a great time. I’m sure you’ll do fine without the internet. We on the other hand might be lost without you…

    Have fun!!!

  20. I don’t think I’ll bring my laptop to the actual BlogHer events, but you can probably use my non-iPhone to check mail, if you need to. :)

  21. I can’t imagine a whole week without internet. You’re clearly much stronger than I am for even attempting such a thing.

    Have fun!

  22. The fact that you own an ipod means you are one ahead of me. I don’t own an ipod, an iphone or a laptop. In fact, my technology consists of a 10-year old 19″ TV and a VCR. Yes. I still own a VCR.

  23. I insist on rambling. And pencils.

    And you can totally borrow my laptop if you want, not that I will pressure you into it by waving it around your head and sing-songing to you how badly your email, it MISSES you. I would never do that.

  24. Have a great trip Sizzle!!! It does sound like a lot of things to do and people to meet up with in one week but I know you can do it. ha. San Fran. is always good too…I wish I could have spent more time there last month.

  25. Have a great time! don’t worry about us – and don’t feel you have to read all the old posts we write. Enjoy a week off and try and catch up along the way when you get back. I doubt anything too exciting will happen while you’re gone – you’ll be the one having all the excitement! :)

    See you when you get back :D

  26. What are we to do for these 7 days?!! Ahhh!

    I hope you have a great time and a safe trip! I look forward to hearing all about it when you return!

    Smiles, cheers and more smiles!

  27. Promise you will miss me not being there because I have a baby on the tit. So jealous that you will meet everyone even though I have totally fallen off the face of the world with commenting. I totally laughed out loud at your description of Irish family. Fabulous. Have the best time and come back alive with TONS of pictures!!!

  28. I just want to cry that all my fave people are going and I won’t get to see you. Leave it to me to whine. ;) Have fun, Sizz.

  29. Pingback: If There Were 25 Hours In The Day, I Would’ve Read…

  30. I love love love the giant dipper! Since my first ride 16 years ago (good grief that seems so long), I cannot visit Santa Cruz without a ride. (Sad to say, I haven’t been to Santa Cruz in about 3 years – oh my,)

  31. Have a great time! And don’t feel bad about your internet withdrawals—I’m on vacation now and made my husband bring his laptop from work!

  32. I love this. Going to BlogHer and taking a no internet pact.

    I do wonder if college kids take notes with pencils anymore or if they just type in a laptop instead. Have a great time in Cali!

  33. I’m traveling next week and can’t decide whether or not to bring my laptop. I’d really really like to try to go without it, but I guess we’ll see.

    Ugh, I still need to pack.

  34. I’m late to the game here, but you are inspiring me to forgo my laptop on vacation this week.
    Knowing my luck, one of the other couples staying in the house will bring theirs, then I’ll just HAVE to take a peek at my e-mail, then maybe just a quick check-in on my blog, then maybe just quick check a few on my blogroll…
    It’s a slippery slope.

Comments are closed.