Portland, You Saucy Minx

The Fella and I escaped via the train to Portland this weekend to visit Jenny Two Times in celebration of her upcoming birthday. This will mark my third trip to Portland and the Fella’s first and I just have to say, I fall more in love with it each time I visit. I adore Seattle but Portland has many alluring charms. Despite the unseasonal heat, we managed to pack in a lot of fun.

Jenny Two Times is a fantastic host- driving us around, showing us the sites, taking us to delicious restaurants and picking up the bill (too many times!). We were spoiled. We also got to meet/hang out with Rhiannon and her main squeeze and Kerrianne and Chris. (Thanks for coming out with us!) It was great to see them outside of the BlogHer madness and Twitterville.

In the scorching sun, we explored the Hawthorne Street Fair (fun!) and then I spent too much money but not enough time at Powell’s (of course!). I was craving sushi so we checked out BaRa Sushi House in the Clinton ‘hood- super yummy and we highly recommend. We drank sake and beer and shared many laughs. The deliciousness was later marred after waaaaaay too many ginger ale & Jamesons when I threw it all up outside of Jenny’s house. Let’s just say, it tasted better the first time and THAT marks the beginning of my alcohol abstinence. Plus, I might need to chew more because why could I pick out shrimp and edamame in my barf? Sadly, I do not think I will be craving seaweed salad anytime soon.

Sorry, that was over-the-top TMI.

Here, look at these. They will take your mind off of it.

Oh! And here are some bullet points for you:

  • You should visit Portland
  • And while you are there, do yourself a favor and eat at Gravy
  • Allot many hours to exploring Powell’s
  • Just FYI, the Saturday Market is also on Sunday
  • If you don’t know anyone in Portland, make some friends there- pronto
  • Don’t mix sake with other alcohols except maybe beer
  • Take the train

P.S. Sorry about the throw up talk.

56 thoughts on “Portland, You Saucy Minx

  1. Throwing up outside somebody’s house is part of the Portland experience! Well, that or going to a drag show.

    (Next time choose the drag show, your head won’t hurt so much in the morning.)

  2. I’m from Portland, though I have not lived there for 30 years. Most of my family still lives there and I visit once a year, I never have time to go to Powell’s, but I always try! I have a love/hate thing going with Portland, but it is a lovely city.

  3. I had hoped to visit Portland on my recent trip up north, but it didn’t happen?

    Shrimp in your hurl? Edamame in your spew? I am oddly and inappropriately curious.

  4. I would love to go to Portland. Making mental note of your tips, especially the not mixing part. Hell for me would be throwing up…. Blah! I was a bad pg mom.

    Sounds like a fun weekend!!!

  5. Dude, You are a little sick but very funny.

    We are going to Portland next month I think. Hitting Powells, of course.

  6. We LOVED having you here and I hope to come see you soon! I only wish I was feeling a bit better so that we could have stayed a bit longer. (Dear Uterus: You suck)

  7. I love Portland… Used to live in lake Oswego… Well, when you are back in alcohol mode, try one of my favorite drinks… The Japanese Martini – Bombay Sapphire and Sake – Super-dooper-yummy and as toxic as it sounds…

  8. Jameson=the Devil. Avoid at all costs. Also learned this weekend – Johnny Walker Blue=Second Cousin of the Devil.

    Bring on the Sambuca.

  9. I’m headed to Portland next Thursday! Very excited too, I might add!

    I’m confused though: ginger ale + Jameson? As in, together? Like a mixed drink? WHY?!?! I just do shots of Jameson straight up :)

  10. It has been a long time since alcohol made me do that…It also made me an uber-bitch the same night, so Brian and I agreed to lay off liquor and limit consumption of other alcoholic beverages.

    I really want to visit Portland. I was supposed to go last month for a workshop but then didn’t end up going. I am still disappointed.

  11. Forgot something: How was the train ride? We are thinking about taking it when we go.

    Hope a weekend away helped you feel better.

  12. I have been meaning to get back to Portland forever now. I just love it there.
    And now I know to avoid, what was it?, Jamesons? Okay, good to know.

  13. *sigh* I need to get going on a Pacific Northwest trip.
    Hopefully with no vom involved, but lots of sushi! :)

  14. Whoa!
    Glad you had fun with some cool people.
    Glad that it was you and NOT me with a hang over but I would have held you head ya while you puked Sizz! That’s what friends do right?

    =D

  15. Yay for your weekend away! My company had a project there for about a year. And while I never got to visit, I’ve heard countless amazing things about that part of the Pacific Northwest.

  16. I was just thinking what a fab time you’re all having…right up until the sushi-puking moment when I had to take a deep breath! Yikes!!! Still glad you had fun though ;o)

  17. I couldn’t read your throw up description because I am eating french onion soup right now..but I heart Portland…when we met my hubby lived right under that Volvo sign (that’s all I know about getting around in Portland, “look for the Volvo sign”). I don’t know how I managed to drag him back to the center of the country. Sounds like great times!!!

  18. Ahhh…Portland, my hometown! I love it and surprisingly don’t get down to visit as often as I should. Sounds like you had a fun weekend. Next time (if you haven’t already) go to Rimsky’s for dessert and coffee…mmmmmm. It’s a hidden secret, but really not so much so since it was featured as a “hidden secret” in some magazine…WTF?! Why do they do that…it’s not a hidden secret if you are publicizing it to the ENTIRE freakin world! grrr!

  19. Doesn’t every great drinking story have puke in it somewhere. I have sworn off alcohol so many times, it’s now officially a joke when I say I will NEVER drink again. I have to get myself to the northwest, it sounds like my kind of place.

  20. I am WAY more jealous of the company than the city sites. (SOOOOO Jealous!!!!)

    I do love Portland, though.

    Except for driving in it. I always get lost and damn those one-way streets!

    I inevitably end up crossing one of the damn bridges when I SOOOO don’t mean to. :S

  21. Sounds like you had a good time (aside from the puking)! I need to make my way to the Pacific Northwest. I think I’m missing out on a lot of good times.

  22. This city is one of America’s best kept secrets, not anymore. Geesh. Kidding, but it really is a great place. Nice mix of small and large city with a progressive feel. Great restaurants, mass transit, no sales tax, the ocean is near, etc. Yes, I’d move there no questions asked.

  23. Perfect timing, we’re going to Portland this weekend! I love that whenever I go to Portland whether for a day, a weekend, or longer there is always fun stuff to be found. I think I’m adding the Saturday/Sunday market to the list this time around…

  24. That throw up talk is making me laugh. I loved your line about needing to chew more! Too funny. Well, I mean funny that you wrote that, not funny at all that you experienced the sick.

  25. Living here has been the best time of my life. I’m glad you enjoyed your Portland visit, even if it did involve a little puking. Whoops! Come back soon, we Portlanders are nice folks and look forward to seeing you! :)

  26. This post is hilarious. Are the pictures in honor of the face you made when you barfed?

    I’ve only been to Portland once, but I LOVED it when I went. All those bridges and neat old buildings. I believe I saw some interesting transvestites, too. Everything a person could want in one city!

  27. I went to college in Portland and would probably live there if my family wasn’t all up here. And Powell’s…I could spend all day there. :)

  28. I had a good friend in HS that was from Portland, and she said it was the greatest place on earth. Later, pictures did confirm that! :-) Mostly tho, she always said it was the people that were what made Oregon so neat a place, altho the scenery is ah-mazing.

    Great post, and it sounds like a great time was had too.I almost envy all that happy, but then you shared it with us in the silly poses– so thank you for a post that made me smile too!

  29. Portland rocks the party that rocks your body. What, what.

    Holler.

    OK, I’m done being 1993 now. But, still. I LOVE my city. And I love it even MORE when you’re in it, amen.

  30. Oh, hey! Welcome to my town. Okay, not really my town, but the big city near my town (I live in one of the western suburbs). Portland is a great place to visit AND our traffic has not yet reached Seattle-like proportions (Sorry!).

    Summer is a great time to visit, but I actually prefer fall. So, you’d better come down again! ;-D

  31. See? Now you can relate to what I was going through all last week… lol.

    Sounds like you had fun (except for that one moment)… !

Comments are closed.