Best for the Best

It was Valentine’s Day the year I turned 30 and a bunch of us girls were going out for sushi. Jenny Two Times invited her friend on a whim, the lone guy among us females. He ordered a pork roll and made me laugh.

It was the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

Dumpling & I at my going away party (which he helped plan!) 4 years ago in Santa Cruz, CA.

Many of you have been around Sizzle Says awhile and have heard about Dumpling. For a brief period of time, we were a couple. He’s the last person I dated that I seriously considered a future with- we even looked at moving in together. He’s the one who would surprise me with flowers just because. He’s the one who would read the instruction manuals so I didn’t have to. He’s the one (along with Supple) who drove up with me from Santa Cruz to Seattle. He was the Harry to my Sally, the Clinton to my Stacy, the Duckie to my Andie. He’s been one of my best friends for years.

And on Sunday? He’s getting married.

The Bride & Groom AKA Jersey Girl & Dumpling.

When they called me on New Year’s Eve to tell me they’d just got engaged, I cried. I flippin’ cried! I was so over the moon thrilled for them. I can’t adequately describe how happy them finding each other makes me. Dumpling is one of the best people I know and he deserves every happiness. His bride, the lovely and sassy Jersey Girl, is a real peach. She’s so smart and funny and generous. I just adore her and couldn’t imagine a better match for someone so dear to me. I love them both and only wish that we didn’t live on opposite sides of the country (Washington to North Carolina is quite a stretch) because I know that Mr. Darcy is going to fall in friendship love with them and vice versa. Who wouldn’t? They’re that awesome. I have good taste. What can I say?

So on Thursday, Mr. Darcy and I are hoping a plane to the Garden State* where we will spend time with his parents in the place he grew up. He’ll show me around his old haunts and introduce me to some of his closest friends. We’ll spend some time in Philadelphia, a place he called home for many years. Then we’ll drive up north to New Brunswick to see Dumpling and Jersey Girl get hitched. Yippee!

*It is not lost on me that both Dumping & I ended up with loves from New Jersey.

26 thoughts on “Best for the Best

  1. This is so sweet! I really love it when people can maintain close friendships through many years and different situations. Congratulations to them! They look really happy.

    Plus you will be coming around my neck of the woods! I love Philly and work right next to New Brunswick. I hope you have a great time.

  2. What a special friend. A special history. And what a special trip this is going to be! And I’ll wave to you from the road – Sweets and I are hitting the road tomorrow and heading east, too! Think the East Coast can handle all of us being there at the same time?

  3. For the last few weeks, I have cried every time you write something like this.

    I want to blame PMS, but I think there is something deeper…

    maybe the amazing unconditionally loving friendships that sustain us, how much we all have shifted and changed and emotionally grown-up, how grateful we are to watch each other fall in love… with the *right* person -just for us-

    It’s scary and weird and beautiful all at the same time.

    xo

  4. hooray for new jersey folk! they breed us good over there ;-) i expect this will be an AMAZING weekend for you – enjoy enjoy enjoy!

  5. Good gracious woman you are stunning in that photo. This doesn’t really surprise me though as you photograph better than anyone I know.

    Happy Wedding Dumpling and Jersey Girl! I wish you a lifetime of love.

  6. Love this! I hope you have fun in the Garden State…you are coming to my neck of the woods…Jersey Girls and Boys are the bestest :)

  7. I totally remember you taking that call that night, and crying and telling us how much you loved Dumpling. (And again I’m reminded of your amazing talent for nick-naming friends.)

    Congratulations! to the happy couple. And I hope you guys have a fantastic! trip.

  8. Look at your gorgeous self in that pic.

    I hope you guys have a great time! Have fun celebrating your friends’ love, and your own love. What a treat to explore his stomping grounds. Bring back lots of stories for us!

  9. Awe I love that you cried for them. Those are the best kinds of friendships. I’m sure you and Dumpling both helped each other get to where you are today (perfectly paired with your Jersey folks).

  10. YOU ARE THE GREATEST!!! Marc told me you posted something and I ran to the computer like it was christmas–because everything you write is love and thoughtfulness in a box. I love you and can’t wait to see you!! and meet mr. darcy to boot–a jersey festival to end all jersey festivals *=(whatever that means)

  11. This is so funny. I have been offline for – er – a few years. I went back to check on you and whalaa! You look exactly the same! And so do your friends! And you pose the same! Oh wait, that’s a picture from back when – when I read you back when! Too funny. Congrats on the new man. Happy for Dumpling he has a gal. I was always rooting for the two of you, but I am so much happier it turned out even better! Hope all is well with you.

  12. I love friendships that age well. Sounds like this is a friendship you’ll not only have for a long time to come, but that is expanding to include more love this weekend. Congrats to Dumpling and best wishes to his bride!

  13. Such a mature attitude toward an ex! I’m glad you threw in a Freudian slip after the asterisk (Dumping instead of Dumpling) to let us know you’re human. :-) I love it.

  14. Pingback: The Tide of Friendship « Sizzle Says

  15. Pingback: To My Nephew on His 5th Birthday « Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.