Holiday Cheer to the Max

I’m finally able to breathe through my nose! It’s amazing the things we take for granted- like breathing through unobstructed airways. I’m grateful to be feeling 90% better because there is much holiday-ing I need to participate in and when I am sick, I don’t feel like doing much but laying on the couch streaming Netflix and being crabby. Besides, think of all the holiday booze I am missing out on! I have a lot of catching up to do.

My family volunteers at the Wonderland Carousel every holiday season. It’s fun to do something good with the people you love. Besides, they don’t stand a chance in getting out of it as I am a tried and true Volunteer Coordinator even if that is no longer my title. I think volunteering is a tremendous thing to do with your time all year round.

The Carousel was again, awesome. Though this year there were no marriage proposals. There were 2 drunk Seahawks fans who when I asked for their ticket rifled though some papers in their hand all the while the ticket was sticking out of his mouth. And a lady who when I said she and her daughter might have to wait for the next go round said she would just have to go get her money back because she couldn’t wait. IT WAS A DONATION TO A NON-PROFIT THAT HELPS FOSTER KIDS YOU SCROOGEY BITCH. I mean, Merry Christmas and I hope you are saving up for your daughter’s eventual therapy needs.

I’m pretty sure my nephew rode the Carousel, oh, ten times in the span of 2 hours. At one point while riding it with him he exclaimed, “THE CAROUSEL IS THE BEST!” with delight on his face. That boy loves the Carousel more than his Barbie – a newly acquired toy (thanks thrift store) that he insisted on disrobing while hanging out with us on our volunteer shift. I helped him undress it saying, “Well, I guess Barbie is a nudist.” He looked at me quizzically and asked in all seriousness, “What’s a nudist?” So I told him, “It’s a person who doesn’t like to wear clothes. Now go tell your mother that Barbie is a nudist.” And off he ran, first running into his dad where he held up naked Barbie and proclaimed, “BARBIE IS A NUDIST!” then off to his mom where he giggled the term again.

Hey, what are aunts for if not to teach their nephew terms like “nudist”. It was a teaching moment that I couldn’t pass up.

Finn & Dokey on the Carousel

Man, I love that kid. I can’t wait for Christmas morning and sharing in his insane delight in presents.

Mr. Darcy and I have agreed on a holiday tradition. Since we don’t have that many ornaments and want to start a collection of special ones, we decided we would make each other an ornament each year. I haven’t finished started his yet but the idea is ripe in my head. He made mine yesterday while I was out at yoga. This is what you get when you are living/loving/making a life with an artist.

Mr. Darcy to Ms. Sizzle: 2010 Ornament

How I will match that masterpiece, I have no idea. I do so love it though. And him.

Bonus gratuitous shot of my two favorite boys. I was booted from the seat next to Finn because he always wants Mr. D to sit with him. Awww.

Mr. Darcy & Finn have a man-talk on the Carousel.

23 thoughts on “Holiday Cheer to the Max

  1. I am so glad you are feeling better and having fun!
    That ornament is awesome…but I’m sure whatever you come up with will be equally treasured. ;)

  2. Good to hear you’re feeling better!
    Finn is ADORABLE, as always.
    And that gift from Mr. D. is both brilliant and fantastic! Also superbly lovely. :)

  3. LOVE that ornament! Tavo and I have a similar tradition – every weekend we each pick out one new ornament for the tree – a new store every week. Yay for new traditions!

  4. That ornament is awesome! And it’s a terrific idea. We need to start doing that. I have the same ornaments I did 15 years ago. Time for some freshening up!

  5. That looks like so much fun! I love carousels. For awesome ornaments, check out Bronners. You don’t have to be an artist to get a great one, and they are super awesome nice.

  6. Being an aunt is the absolute best – particularly when you get to corrupt the children. :D

    That ornament is the cutest ever! He should totally sell those online! I would buy one for sure!!

  7. oh man, this whole post is filled with so much awesome. i LOVE that ornament. i love that last picture! and i love how happy you sound! :)

Comments are closed.