Snow Lesson

Snowshoeing has long been on my list of things to try. If I ever actually got off my bum and finished my Life List I would have put it on there. In fact if I ever finish it, I might just add it so I can cross it off because Saturday my sister, a couple of girlfriends and I drove about an hour East and went snowshoeing.

Not pictured: high winds!

It was a blast. Of course, I had absolutely no snow gear. I borrowed snow pants from one friend, socks from another and boots and gloves from yet another. I never learned how to ski so I’ve not invested in any of the gear. I’m not what you would call “outdoorsy.”

Bring it, snow.

I should back up to the beginning. When my friend Carly invited us I immediately said yes. I left the planning to her and Carah who were more seasoned snowshoe-ers. I’m trying to be less of the planner all the time. I am not a spontaneous person who is comfortable going with the flow so this is challenging for me but necessary for personal growth. Plus, I feel like a lot of my relationships continue to exist because I take the initiative to make the plans or send the invite. I’ve been trying to let people reach out to me or even see who bothers to. Because of this I’ve been re-evaluating a lot of my friendships because I’m seeing which relationships I was carrying.

I digress. Sort of.

Shoeing on snow

It’s important to note that I wasn’t “in charge” because as I walked up to Carly’s at 8:45am on Saturday at the same time as my sis, I saw that she carried snowshoes in hand. I did not have snowshoes. Out of all the things I thought to borrow, I had assumed that we were going to a place where snowshoes could be rented. I never asked about this specifically because as I said, I assumed, and thus made an ass out of myself.  Because yes, I was supposed to have snowshoes.

Snow picnic where we ate chips and string cheese while freezing our hands off.

Needless to say, I panicked and as my sister was ringing Carly’s buzzer to let us in I was already bowing out, feeling totally embarrassed that I hadn’t understood I was supposed to get the snowshoes BEFORE we left. I felt like a total idiot, very ashamed of my error. My sister insisted that I was coming and that we’d figure it out. Carly was equally encouraging. When we got to Carah’s car she went so far as to call a friend and drive us over to borrow hers. A friend who was in the middle of making pancakes with her young son and husband while they were still lounging in their pajamas.

Happy and snow-drenched: Carly, me, my sis, Carah.

I was and am humbled by their flexibility and support. They never let me wallow in my feelings of inadequacy and I appreciate it so much. I’m so glad I went with them. It was just a really fun day full of good conversation, laughter and beauty. I’m so lucky to have great girlfriends and to live in such a gorgeous place. Every day I am learning to loosen up, take risks, forgive myself, and be open to what comes.

The fact that these two landscapes can exist less than an hour away from each other is kind of wild to me.

I can’t wait to go snowshoeing again.

20 thoughts on “Snow Lesson

  1. I have yet to try snowshoeing, and I want to.
    I love that you let your friends do the planning. I have been working on that as well – not automatically taking over when someone suggests an activity.
    I have also been letting certain friends take initiative in reaching out to me, and yeah, not happening so much.
    And this “They never let me wallow in my feelings of inadequacy and I appreciate it so much” is what friends do for us.

  2. Love the pics! Looks like so much fun! I’ve gotten to the point in my life where I have a good balance of taking initiative some of the time and letting other friends do the planning other times. I’ve also learned those friends who take it upon themselves to do the planning some of time are some of the most awesome friends I’ve made and kept!

  3. When I got to the mention of ‘life list,’ I thought, ‘Oh! I need to add snowshoeing to my own in-progress life list. It’s something I’d like to do.’ So I pulled up my LL draft, and low and behold it was already on there! I do NOT remember putting it on there.

    Anyway, I’m glad to see you give it such a confident vote, and it only reinforces my desire to do it!

  4. So proud of you. You are the reason I decided to try to arrange my own damn party this year and not just dump it all on you. And it worked out ok. Of course I still dumped the making of the cake in your lap, but that’s just because your cakes are delicious, and mine are really not.
    Way to be outdoorsy!

  5. Oh, this is awesome. I LOVE snowshoeing. I’ve only done it in the Pyrenees with my French host family. But we live so close to the Rockies! Must try it here someday too.

  6. I would have totally done the same thing. Anytime I’m not the one planning something, I somehow manage to space out on everything.

    It looks like you guys had so much fun and I am so jealous. There is nothing I love more than being somewhere beautiful with friends and getting exercise while you’re yackin’ it up together. So great.

    And your point about letting other people reach out to you – brilliant. I might have to borrow it.

  7. That sounds like so much fun! I’m glad you had a good time. On another note, I just posted a picture of a dress I made for my daughter. I thought of you when I was making it for her because I think she’s a little girl after your own love of pockets!

  8. Gorgeous pics, how fun! Glad you were able to “let go” – sounds like going with the flow worked out great. I can also relate to what you wrote about friendships. I took a step back from planning and always being the one to reach out and I watched several friendships fade or end. I’m o.k. with that, because the other friendships got stronger. I think it happened because I just didn’t realize how much energy was used to hold on to friendships that should have ended years ago. I was watching “The Revolution” premiere yesterday (wasn’t a huge fan) – but the one take away from the advice expert – whatever with that title – was to regularly clean house on friendships. If you get a call from someone and your first response is joy and excitement to talk to the person no matter what you are doing… that’s a keeper. If you look at your phone and chose to ignore it – or feel like you don’t have the energy to deal with it – re-evaluate that friendship. Makes total sense. It’s important to surround ourselves with the “keepers” and it’s taken a few failed friendships for me to see that. I deserve to be the best version of myself that I can be and that includes surrounding myself with people and friends that bring out the best in me.

  9. while i’m not much of a LIFE planner, i am definitely a TRIP planner. i read about everything first, get maps of the transportation systems, figure out what i want to see in each city, make sure i have control of the situation and will be able to handle any mishaps that occur without freaking out.

    and then we booked that trip to south america last year that was all pre-planned, and my life was insane leading up to it, so i did no research/planning and figured for once, i’d trust someone else with the details & the logistics.

    (that was the company that went bankrupt the day we flew to rio and stole our money & cancelled all our reservations, naturally.)

    um, i’m not sure what the point here was supposed to be. wait! i remember! that even though i didn’t plan it AND the worst case scenario that someone-who’s-a-planner can imagine happened, shockingly (to me) it still worked out ok and still was one of the best vacations ever.

    man. it’s hard to learn those lessons though, after a lifetime of habit.

  10. If I had, say, $20 for every time I’ve shown up somewhere without something that everyone else apparently naturally knew beforehand, well let’s say I could take us all on our little vacation. I pride myself on knowing and noticing all kinds of important details yet sometimes do not totally comprehend the obvious. There must be a name for these kinds of brains? :)

    I am so jealous you went snowshoeing and I am so glad you had fun! I want to go now!

  11. I’ve always wanted to try this. It’s definitely on my list for next winter – we have a backpack thingy for Henry to ride in and I hope to put it to good use when he’s a bit bigger!

  12. I LOVED seeing some of these pics on IG. What a perfect combo of friends, exercise, being outside and wintery weather! It makes me want to find some snow stat. And I could definitely use some lessons in letting others run the show.

  13. LOL – why would they think you HAD snowshoes? HA HA. Good for you for being so flexible and letting other people plan! I just finished this really interesting book about friendship, and she cites all these studies/facts (for lack of better term). One was about how one of the keys to maintaining a friendship is reciprocity (right word?) and that you can’t be the only one initiating. I am an initiator too.

    And I LOVE to snowshoe! I actually have my own (they are the kind you can run in). That is the only reason I want snow this year is so that I can use them!

Comments are closed.