I Ate My Way Through SnOMG 2012

Same street with 3 days in between shots.

The snow has nearly all melted and I can’t say I am sorry to see it go. Being home-bound for 3 days was a bit crazy making. We watched a lot of movies and I basically cooked the entire contents of our kitchen.

No. Seriously! Here’s what I made:

Peanut butter & chocolate chip cookies- delicious, dangerously delicious

Oatmeal coconut cookies- mmm good (too good!)

Chicken Curry- I didn’t love this recipe. It lacked flavor. Next time I will try this one.

Cheddar-Beer Soup- very beer-y but Mr. Darcy liked it

Crusty bread- always good except if you try to make it with spelt flour then it won’t form a ball so stick with white flour or a mix of white/wheat for perfect bread

Roasted vegetables

Braised Brisket Stew- I will totally make this again- easy but needs all day to cook

Energy Bites- yummy!

Can you see why I desperately needed to go to dance class?! I feel like a sludge. I can’t wait to get back in the swing of driving (I didn’t drive my car for 4 days), working in the office (haven’t done that since Tuesday), not eating sugar, going to dance class 6 days a week, putting on a bra and make up and seeing people other than my wonderful Darcy.

On one of your snow jaunts we came upon this Slayer snowman.

 

Snow love.

13 thoughts on “I Ate My Way Through SnOMG 2012

  1. Yay for jobs and passable roads! Last year we got like 17 inches in one night. (and no, I do not live in Alaska, but I’m not exagerrating, either. Oklahoma is extreme, yo.) Being trapped at home for a week made me insane. I cleaned like a madwoman, then resorted to useless shoveling of the driveway and street just to feel like I was doing something. This winter has so far been close to 60 degrees most days, so I’m not sure if we’re getting a reprieve because of the horror of last year, or if we’re being lulled into complacency before snowpocalypse returns!
    Love the snow pics. You guys are so cute! :)

  2. I hear you! I didn’t drive for 8 days, and I think I made a new personal record of days away from shopping at Trader Joe’s (I’m usually there 3 – 4 times a week). I baked cookies, and made cream of spinach vegetable soup, but that’s nothing compared to your kitchen prowess… had a I known all the good stuff cooking at your place I would have hiked miles through a Blizzard to get there!

    Walking around my neighborhood and seeing all the downed trees (some slicing through rooftops) reminded me to tell you to add one more thing to your house shopping list: look at the tall trees in neighbor’s yards and hillsides nearby…

    In our neighborhood there are really tall trees in a “protected greenbelt” that the city will not cut. The city’ll come out after a storm and chop up what’s fallen (if it’s large), and maybe pay for a roof patch (if you submit to lots of red tape for a claim), but the rest of the time you kind of live in fear when the wind blows. Just another thing to consider on your house hunting excursions!

    Have fun at dance class, just no snow or rain dances, OK?

  3. Snow days will drive you up the wall crazy. It’s a good thing it didn’t last all week! You’ll have to let me know if you like the second curry chicken recipe!

Comments are closed.