Romantic Gestures

This post is inspired by my friend’s blog post about surprise gifts from would-be suitors. Her teenage son received a heart shaped pizza with an invitation that read, “I know this is cheesy but will you go to Sweetheart with me?” I mean COME ON! How adorable is that? Pizza and an invitation to a dance? I sincerely hope he said yes.  She also shares a couple of romantic moments from her past (Please go read the whole post!) and it got me thinking about some from mine.

I was dating The Tomato in high school. There was a TV show we watched called Anything But Love that starred Richard Lewis and Jamie Lee Curtis (yes, it was the late 80′s). There was one episode where Richard’s character stands out in the rain to fill up a bottle with rain water. There was some romantic symbolism to this gesture that went along with the plot but I don’t exactly remember it now. What I do recall is that Tomato had collected a small jar of rain water for me soon after that, probably after we had a fight (we argued a lot- two drama queens should not date). Tomato left it for me with a long note and we were back on good terms again.

It was my birthday and James Dean and I were dating. He took me out for a nice dinner and then drove us to the ocean.  He left the headlights on and as a Frank Sinatra song played, he asked me to dance. And we did, caught between the beams from the car and the ocean tide as people walked by.

This is the same guy who would frequently call my answering machine just to leave snippets of songs or would drive over to leave love notes on my car.

In college I had a good friend, Jeremiah, who worked with me at The Wherehouse. We were great pals for a long time until I was suddenly single and he finally asked me out to go see Mighty Aphorodity (he knew I loved Woody Allen films). We started dating and my birthday came along. He called me up to wish me a happy birthday and asked if I’d been outside. I had not so he said, go outside on your porch and then call me back. Okayyyyy. I did and there hanging from our porch awning was a hand made wind chime. He’d twisted fishing line around glass blown marbles that hung down from little puppeteers made out of wire. It was beautiful and thoughtful. Weeks prior I had mentioned in passing how I loved wind chimes.

Once he drew a comic strip depicting himself coming across a French man who asked him to carry out a mysterious plan that required him (Jeremiah) to fly to France on this man’s behalf. At the end of it he asked, “Care to go to France with me tonight?” When he picked me up later that night he walked me down through our neighborhood where he’d hung signs in French that we had to translate with a pocket French to English dictionary. When we got to the spot, he laid out a blanket from his backpack and pulled our French food from a local restaurant plus a disposable camera and a small bottle of wine.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! How is that for overture? He was a sweetie. I hope he is happy wherever he is.

When Dumpling and I were an item he once invited me over to his place. When I showed up, I was greeted by a sign at the front door that told me to come in. There were rose petals strewn along the floor making a path to his room. He had Etta James playing, candles lit, and my favorite movie cued up (When Harry Met Sally for those not paying attention).  Later when we were no longer dating but were friends we had a standing Friday date. We’d usually go grab sushi and watch What Not To Wear with James Dean and Natalie Wood (we were wild, I tell ya!). He’d always bring me flowers “just because”. I’ve never forgotten that kindness.

When Mr. Darcy and I were first dating, I took him to the Central Cinema to see Jaws (his favorite movie). I bought tickets in advance and when I checked in at the counter and said my real name, the guy looked very confused. Apparently he thought I was asking for the movie by MY NAME. I joked, “My life hasn’t been made into a movie yet.” We all had a good laugh about it. A few weeks later it was Valentine’s Day. Mr. Darcy came over bearing this:

My life as a movie poster.

Not the best photo but if you click on it I think you can see that at the bottom it even lists characters. And there you go, now you know my real name.

Since it’s almost Valentine’s Day, I thought I’d share these and see if you had any to share. Let’s inspire each other. Please feel free to share your romantic stories in the comments!

33 thoughts on “Romantic Gestures

  1. I think this has to be the sweetest thing I’ve ever read in my life. I love the photo! Not really romantic story, but when I was in middle/high school, on Valentine’s Day you could buy a can of Crush soda (sometimes they were glass or they were aluminium) and have them sent to your “crush” during school. I always wanted one and really hoped that someone would send me one. It wasn’t until I was a senior that I finally got one. I was so excited to get one that I didn’t drink it until that night.

  2. I love all these gestures, but I think Mr. Darcy’s is my absolute favorite! So sweet! And high-five, Mr. Darcy!

    I was just thinking yesterday about an old high school flame who’d taken years and years of piano lessons. On one of our early dates, we had slow danced to Bonnie Raitt’s “I Can’t Make You Love Me.” The next day when I walked into jazz band, he busted out a piano rendition of the song, which he’d taught himself the night before.

    I dated a different guy in college, who wooed me with singing and playing Sheryl Crow’s “Strong Enough” on his guitar. *swoon* (Obviously I had a soft spot for musicians.)

    I have yet to convince Brent to pick up an instrument, but he makes up for it with lots of silly & witty notes and doodles.

  3. Thom used to have a crush on a gal he went to college with, but she had put him firmly in the friend zone. So to impress her he had his grandmother (who made porcelain dolls) make a doll in her image. She still kept him in the friend zone. Which ended up working out for me. I guess the most romantic gesture he’s ever done for me would be the painting he had commissioned in my image last month. Took him long enough! :)

    Man you’ve had some real gems there Sizz.

  4. Is it strange that I like the pizza idea the best? I am not huge on romantic gestures, but all of those are pretty great. I do like notes, though, and I guess that goes in any type of relationship. There’s something about a note that lets you know someone thinks about you in times they’re not around you, and that’s one of the best feelings.

  5. The thing about your real name — even though I know it, have known it now for years — I still refer to you as “Sizzle” when talking to friends like Kerri or Terrell. :)

  6. I remembered another one! I had a fling with a friend turned lover. We were driving in my VW bug and it was super windy. I had this air freshener that was shaped like a butterfly (I had a thing for butterflies back then). As it was whipping around I said to him, “Don’t get hit by the butterfly!” Later he wrote a song about me and included that line. So sweet!

  7. So funny that your memory about the rain water is about as clear as mine. I didn’t even remember doing it until you said so, but now that you have I do remember doing it, no idea what the significance was! What happened to me? I used to be so romantic and full of gestures! Now I am so hardened and heartless! Although while my sick boyfriend was at home, I saw a Super Mario toy/candy dispenser at the market (where I was buying his dinner) and bought it for him because he loves Mario. My gestures might not be as grand, but I show I care in my own way. Also, congratulations on finally coming out on your website. Does this mean we can all stop tripping over ourselves when we talk about you in fear of using your name? :-)

  8. I have looked everywhere online and can not find any mention of that Anything Buy Love episode. I totally want to remember the point of collecting the rain! I remember it being sooooooooooooooooo sentimental, but I want to remember if it was good or cheesey! :-)

  9. oh i LOVE all these stories! the odd thing is i absolutely adore hearing about romantic gestures (and watching proposal vids, etc) but get all weird when it happens to ME. like i had someone write me a poem once, and… ack. my brain just sort of shuts down and i act like someone who has never experienced human interaction before. i think i like the IDEA of romantic gestures, but not the ACTUAL romantic gesture when gestured my way :)

  10. That poster is SO RAD. That Mr. Darcy is one creative, creative dude.

    (We don’t “do” Valentine’s Day, usually, but Matthew will surprise me with flowers, etc. on random occasions.)

  11. AMAZING. I love it! He’s definitely a keeper. :-) And how awesome is your name?! It sounds like a Tarantino character.

    The best romantic gesture I’ve ever experienced was when we got engaged last May. I had planned a surprise party for Andy’s birthday with all of our friends and close family. I didn’t think he had any idea I was planning it and I thought I was so slick. We arrived to the party, everyone yelled surprise, then he said “Thanks guys, but I have a surprise for YOU.” He took the ring out of his pocket, got down on his knee and asked me to marry him. Best ever.

  12. What wonderful gestures! Thank you for sharing. And I LOVE the poster!!! So creative, fun and incredibly sweet of Mr Darcy.

  13. ZOMG! YOUR SECRET IDENTITY… EVERYBODY KNOWS YOUR SECRET IDENTITY!!!

    Now Mr. Darcy is going to have to track down and kill everybody who reads this blog post. Talk about an act of love…

  14. Admittedly, I’m not huge on romantic gestures, although it is adorable when guys prove to be so clever :) For our second Christmas together my hubby (we were engaged at the time) glued Scrabble tiles down to the board arranged in words that meant something to us. I find his smaller romantic gestures to be the ones I really love — like when he’ll make a special run to the grocery store to get something that just I need.

    Also, I freakin’ LOVE your name!

  15. That poster is ALL SORTS OF AWESOME SAUCE! Looooove it!
    I gotta be honest, I’m not a romantic. I don’t like romantic gestures. I know, I know I’m missing the gene. I haven’t really had many romantic gestures in past relationships probably because when a boyfriend tried to be romantic, I burst out laughing. When Matt and I started dating, I told him to please not be romantic because 1. I don’t like it and 2. I’d more than likely make him feel bad/embarrassed. Yeah I’m horrible.
    Now if Matt ends up taking the trash out or preparing a little snack/dinner (he doesn’t cook, just puts stuff together we get from Trader Joe’s) or something of the sort, THAT’S when I pull out an “awwwwwww!”

  16. Aww, love this. And Mr. Darcy. Although not as much as you love Mr. Darcy, obvs. :)

    When I was…I think 16 or 17 — high school, anyway — I came home to find a dozen roses in my back door, from an anonymous guy to me. I still wonder who sent those sometimes!

    And today…Dave is by no means a grand gesture kind of guy, but he melts me with little stuff all the time. Like going out and getting chai in the morning if he’s up first…fixing and cleaning things before I even notice they need to be fixed or cleaned…and knowing when it’s time to bring me a glass of wine and order sushi and sit on the couch watching 30 Rock reruns. :-)

  17. Dancing by the ocean? I love it. My favorite romantic gesture remains the boyfriend who went out in the rain on his skateboard to fetch me a hot fudge sundae when I was sad and PMSy. Skateboard. In the rain. Just to cheer me up. Lovely.

  18. So VERY SWEET! I LOVE IT!

    Man, you have been very blessed with sweet and thoughtful moments from others. I can’t really remember too many from the dudes I’ve dated and well, married.

  19. Sweet…My special gentleman friend walked in the snow to my house last week to spend time with me while I was off work, stranded. it is a pretty good trek and in the snow and icy condidtions even more so. For the romantic that I am, I have never gone out with a guy that does those really romantic grand gestures. I felt pretty special.

  20. LOVE that movie poster. He is a keeper.

    Bill has, on several occasions , opened up a Word Document on my computer and written me little notes to find later. And, as simple as this sounds, lately he’s been sending sweet emails after particularly rough nights with Master Henry. It’s nice to know that he thinks I’m doing a good job when I’m still wearing my pajamas at 3:30 p.m.

  21. Wow, this reads like a how-to for the romantically challenged. Seriously, AK may be getting a heart-shaped pizza this V-day. (Although I’m secretly worried our oven is leaking gas, and a firestorm wouldn’t be very romantic, so I’ll have to think about it.)

  22. Those are adorable stories!!! I love the movie poster Mr. Darcy made for you, your name DOES have a nice ring to it. I wouldn’t be surprised if you became very famous one day. ;)

  23. I like to think about magical moments my hubby and I have shared. By far my favorite is when we first started dating, he came into the diner where I worked and in front of all the waitresses he picked me up in mid air and swung me completly around my hair flying and our eyes met in a long gaze. Wow, I still think of that moment when everyone stopped what they were doing to look and wished it were them.

Comments are closed.