Dress Me Up

Next up on my wedding to do list is: Get The Dress!

I can’t very well walk down the aisle naked (holy crap, the nightmares will start now that I’ve said it aloud). I’ve already told you guys that I have a lot of trepidation about dress shopping. Shopping in general exacerbates my bad feelings about my body and with this being a very important outfit on a most important day, the pressure is on.

I’ve been pining some ideas of what I like even if the dress doesn’t come in my size. I have no idea what will look good and am prepared for a lot of misses rather than hits. Ultimately, I will attempt to try some on just to get a feeling for fit and style but my Plan B is to have one made for me or order one on line and have it altered to fit my style. I really would prefer a soft pink colored dress to a white one but we’ll see if that will be possible.

Here are some of the ones that have caught my eye:

I’m not sure if I’ll like lace on me but I am drawn to the idea of it. Seems romantical.

Avila By The Bay by Dolly Couture

Or if I felt like I needed that retro-vibe but also needed sleeves, maybe this one would do.

The Beverlywood by Dolly Couture.

This one caught my eye because of the cross over style of the top (flattering for my body type) and the detailing at the bottom.

Pinwheel Tea Dress from BHLDN.

I liked the simplicity of this style from Lanvu Vintage on Etsy. I could change out the sash to something more me. It appears to have pockets so- you know- sold!

I like this lace vintage one too. I could put a cool sash with it. I’ll probably try a lace dress on and go “blech!” after pinning all of these lace styles.

I do think I’ll want a short dress. That just seems more me. Plus I’m only 5’3″ so a long dress could swallow me up. This dress is sold so it’s not an option unless I had someone make it for me.

Ellie2 dress on Etsy by Leanimal.

I like this style of embellishment but depending on the dress, it might be too much. Also, let’s be honest, my boobs might overpower it.

This dress is called Amelia. That is my favorite girl name of all time. Fate?! But I worry it would be too poofy at the waist and make me look bigger than I am.

Amelia by TingBridal on Esty.

This dress is strapless and might be a bit much for my ample rack but I like the color and the cut.

I have pinned a couple longer gowns just in case. I don’t mind this fit and flare style from David’s Bridal.

I love the cut of the top of this Alfred Angelo gown. I know it would flatter me.

I just really want to be sure my dress is unique to me and fits my personality and style (like every bride!). Fingers crossed I find it and any tears I cry are tears of joy.

37 thoughts on “Dress Me Up

  1. Wheee! I looove tea length dresses. I considered one for my wedding, but I didn’t ever find one that I loved. I am SO VERY excited for you.

  2. Love them! Especially the shorter ones and you know how I feel about pink! :) Don’t worry, you’ll find it. I swears it!

  3. I absolutely love the idea of a short wedding dress. That’s definitely the direction I want to head. These are all lovely so I’m excited for you to try on some styles. I think the first one is actually my favorite. Very romantic. Followed by the champagne one!

  4. I love the first one, and think it would look amazing on you, especially with the soft pink ruching around the waist. It also has a very vintage-y vibe, which I think suits you. Can’t wait to see what you finally pick!

  5. Oh these are all so pretty!!!!!

    This will be fun. You’ve got great style! I can’t wait to see it translate into wedding attire.

  6. Holy moly, these are all so pretty. It has been a while since I’ve looked at wedding dresses, and now I want to. And have zero occasion to! I love the short dress (tea length, whatever) trend and I can totally picture you pulling that off beautifully, Dress Girl. :)

  7. Oh you have such good taste!! I love all of these, but especially the pink strapless. That skirt is awesome! Maybe you could get someone to give you the Alfred Angelo top with that skirt. Whatever you pick, it will be gorgeous and totally you! Try to enjoy looking, don’t stress!

  8. I love the first one, but they’re all gorgeous. I hope you’re able to overcome the trepidation and enjoy trying on beautiful dresses. I have no doubt you’ll look stunning on your wedding day!

  9. I love all the tea length dresses you have here. They are beautiful and I wish I had seen them when I was getting married!

  10. I’ve never liked tea length dresses, but clearly it was because no one has ever posted photos of pretty ones! These dresses are gorgeous, and they look so “you,” especiall the first one. You’re going to be such a beautiful bride! Don’t worry about the boobage either. I’m a fellow boobed girl, and they make some fantastic undergarments for under wedding dresses.

  11. All of them that you have shared are so pretty! Once you try a few on you will know exactly what works and doesn’t work for you. I love the idea of a soft pink dress :)

  12. Based on personal experience … it’s really important to go through magazines and the interwebs and pull styles you like. However, when you go to try on dresses, be ready to throw it all out the window! I had a bunch of styles that were hideous on my body. You seem to know your body well, so maybe you’ll be pretty close … all I’ll say is be willing to try on a number of different styles, colors, lengths, etc. and you will quickly figure out what’s going to work for you. Good luck!

  13. As someone that is freaky about seeing my arms in pics- and I hate to tell everyone but you get even more paranoid about it when you’re in your 40’s- choose a dress with sleeves! Any kind of sleeves will do! I love how you’re going with dresses that match your personal style and not going with the usual bridal look. Tea length will be so much more comfortable and you can show off whatever gorgeous shoes you choose!

  14. I tried on that last dress — it is INCREDIBLY flattering (FYI — 200+ lbs, 5’5, 42DD bust). I think it was on sale for like 300 bucks when I tried it on. The one I ended up with is very similar, but with some beadwork under the bust. It won’t be as bad as you think — I was petrified, and I had so much fun.

  15. Love the full skirts!

    If you haven’t read it already, you should check out “the Magic Room” by Jeffrey Zaslow. You can get it on audio book. Excellent book about brides, mothers, daughters, and those working in a wedding dress shop in the Midwest.

    Happy shopping!

  16. These are simply beautiful! I love the first one, the Ellie2 and the Alfred Angelo gown (swoon!). You are going to be an absolutely stunning bride :-) So excited for you!!

  17. My favorites: Pinwheel Tea Dress (love love love) & Ellie2 dress. My dress was made by Cicada Bridal in Seattle. Kind of expensive, but not outrageous (My dress & Veil were ~$1100). They might work with you to have a shorter skirt, plus they had LOTS of fabric choices. Possible combination: 2012 Angelica for top & Evening wear Lucinda for skirt. But honestly, the Pinwheel Tea Dress is adorable!

  18. I love numbers 2 and 11 for what it’s worth. LOL I am sure that whatever dress you wear, you will be beautiful. Just out of curiosity…Why are you worried about a dress, if it was wedding jeans, I would understand but you are the DRESS wearer. Just sayin’ ;-)

  19. Having your pins is great, when you go dress shopping it will give the consultant an idea of what you are looking for. A great one will find the styles that fit you in a holistic way from your spirit to your body, You will look amazing

  20. oh my goodness i saw that first one and was like, that is so you!! seriously so cute. they all are, but that first one is adorable and amazing and i think it would look stunning on you. eeeee. good luck!

  21. I still remember the day I went dress shopping. It was the second dress I put on and before I walked out of the dressing room I said, “Mom, you’re not allowed to cry.”

    We all did. It was The One.

  22. You WILL find THE dress and it will come in your size. Don’t worry about that! Just keep trying on dresses until you find one that you love, then take that one. When I found my wedding dress, I had to try one on that was 2 sizes smaller than what I got, and it still looked perfect.

    The ladies in the wedding dress shops are usually pretty knowledgeable about what kind of styles will suit you, so try their suggestions as well as what you like. I would never have chosen the one I got myself.

  23. They are lovely and you will be too! I was married in a short dress with a lace overlay that wasn’t supposed to be a wedding dress, but did the trick for me. Personally, I think the first one is the least flattering for you, but you always look very put-together and fashion savvy, so I’m sure you will pick something fabulous. Enjoy!

  24. EEEEee! You’re making me want to do it all over again. :) I LOVE the one with the blue sash. Something about the little sleeves and the neckline showing under the lace – just love the look. I think a short dress would be so cute! Are you going to do a veil or a little netty thing (I can’t remember the name of those right now, thanks to 2 glasses of wine). So excited for you!

  25. Love all your choices. Just try to enjoy the dress shopping experience because you will find the perfect dress for YOU. Like you said, naked isn’t an option.

    You have great taste by the way.

  26. I LOVE every single one of these. Dang, you’ve got good taste. :) You are going to be absolutely gorgeous! Have fun with dress shopping!

  27. All of these are amazing, but I must say that first one seems like it was made for you. I can tell you this, as a plus size girl, bridal shops have dresses in ALL sizes. I remember trying on bridesmaids’ dresses and I was terrified they wouldn’t have anything that would fit me and I would have to have one specially made, but rest assured they had plenty for me to try on. What was more horrifying for me was the sales woman who followed me into the dressing room and kept rearranging my boobs in the dresses!

  28. this – http://www.justinalexanderbridal.com/jar/8465 – was my barbie dream dress, which in retrospect i could have afforded. i love the tea length thing – i found a dress a david’s bridal and had the intention of shortening it to tea length, but didn’t (this is what i bought – http://www.davidsbridal.com/Product_Ball-Gown-Featuring-3D-Floral-Details-CWG322_Bridal-Gowns-Shop-By-Designer-Oleg-Cassini ).

    in any event, i love he dolly couture dresses! like folks said, get ideas, but try stuff on. get the one that makes you feel like a pretty cupcake. in a good way. :)

  29. These are great, Sizzle! I love the first two with the retro vibe especially because they seem so “you.” Trying on dresses won’t be as bad as you think. It is an entire industry built around making women look as beautiful as possible and so the dresses are designed to be really, really flattering. I got a lot of mileage out of serious undergarments, too.

Comments are closed.