Dressed

I went to Portland for a little get away, post-event relaxation.  I came home with:

  1. A great new pair of jeans
  2. A head cold
  3. My wedding dress

Let’s skip the first 2 since they aren’t as exciting as the dress. I wasn’t planning on shopping for it but David’s Bridal sent me an email talking about a sale. On a whim I decided to stop in with two of my best girls, Long Story Longer and Jenny Two Times. It was a little overwhelming but we managed to find six or seven dresses for me to try on. I tried on a halter style, one with a pretty tulle polka dot print, and an off-the-shoulder style with a corset lace up back. There were not a lot of short styles available so I ended up only trying one on which I liked but we decided it was more of a party dress than a wedding dress. I really had no expectation of finding a dress, let alone a strapless, long gown that I would actually purchase (on sale! and in Oregon which means no sales tax!) under budget.

Each time I would put a dress on in the mirror-less dressing room and walk out, LSL and J2x would go “awww” and smile big. They were so supportive! It really helped make the process less anxiety-ridden. I totally get why they don’t put mirrors in the dressing rooms. That way you can see other people react before you talk yourself out of even leaving the room because you don’t like __________ (fill in the blank with a body part). Thank goodness for girlfriends who will tear up when you come out of a dressing room in a big white gown.

Each time I’d come out in a new dress, my attendant would put a different veil on me and the moment she wandered off to help another bride, I’d take it off. I am not a veil girl. I thought I might be a birdcage veil type but now I’m thinking a big Billie Holiday-esque flower might be the ticket.

So after debating with LSL and J2x and texting with some other trusted loved ones, I said yes to the dress. I love how the dress makes my curves look good and minimizes my bust. I am totally surprised that I ended up with a strapless, long, white gown but it’s kind of fun to surprise yourself sometimes. I’m trying not to get too freaked out or second guess my decision. And I am trying not to get obsessive about doing hundreds of push ups from now until then.

So next up is finding a ring and a tux for Mr. Darcy and some accessories for me (shoes, earrings, bolero/wrap).

And also? Dance lessons for us.

 

 

38 thoughts on “Dressed

  1. GORGEOUS, Sizzle! I’m so glad you went with the flow and tried on dresses you never thought you’d like! Super special also to have some of your besties with you to encourage and celebrate!

    The place where I bought my dress had mirrors in the dressing rooms. They also had chairs for your friends/family to join you. Yes, I was getting (almost) naked in front of my mother, MIL to be and girlfriends – no wonder I didn’t buy a dress that day! hahaha.

  2. It’s so funny how those darn dresses work. I was anti-strapless and didn’t want sweetheart, and then next thing I knew, I was buying a strapless gown with a sweetheart neckline. I’ve heard that same story from several other friends, too. I’m so excited to see pictures of you in your dress! I know you’ll look gorgeous. And what a relief to check it off the list.

    Can’t wait to hear about dance lessons either. I bet you guys will have a blast. We only went to one, but it was so much fun.

  3. EEEEEEEEEEEE! i love that we get a sneak peak of the dress :) :) that’s so exciting – and what a relief to have that giant item checked off your list. i cannot wait to see pictures of you in it!!!!!!

  4. OMG I LOVE IT!! That is such a gorgeous dress! I was also dead-set on lace/sleeves/straps/someerother and also ended up with a sweetheart strapless dress. Funny how that happens, huh? Yaaaaay for you! Under budget AND it was stress free? SCORE!

    (sidebar: Randy from Say Yes to the Dress was at the salon where I bought my dress. So OBVI I took a picture with him. So random and unsurprisingly fun!)

  5. Yay! I can totally see how that dress would work great with your figure. And it is very pretty and classic.

    I didn’t do a traditional veil because I guess I’m not a veil girl either. I had mine made. I took a few of the decorative flowers from the train (that I’d had removed) and had a seamstress sew them on a comb with a long piece of tulle/veil stuff. It looks pretty without being as over the top as a full veil. I think a BH-flower would be pretty, too!

  6. Yay! Congratulations! I hope you got to ring the dopey David’s Bridal bell! I also decided I am not a veil person. It felt way too Catholic-girl-confirmation-class-y to me (or at least how I imagine a Catholic confirmand might feel). I think I am going with a pretty comb in my hair. I just started looking around at my options. And since I loooove purple and my flowers are purple, I bought bright purple shoes. I love ‘em! Have fun shoe shopping!

  7. Yay! I’m so excited for you. You got one of the hardest parts donzo! And I know it’s going to be beautiful on you.

  8. I got a long strapless dress that was completely different to what i thought i wanted too. It’s a flattering style for those of us with fuller figures :)

    How exciting!!

  9. Yippee!! Thanks for posting right away and not leaving us in suspense. :)
    You’re gonna be gorgeous! (and hooray for supportive girlfriends, too!)

  10. Yay! Like the others, I bought a dress that was strapless and totally not what I was planning. But I loved that dress. Which I got on sale. At David’s as well.
    As for the veil thing…I’m not a veil girl either. I grew my hair looooong, and had tons of hair for my hairdresser to play with. She told me that I needed a tiara – and that worked for me.
    However…if you’re looking for a flower facinator, may I suggest where I went for one for my friend’s outdoor wedding?
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/CorrineONeill
    I bought a teal double orchid. It was stunning. here’s a pic on my (alternate) blog (although slightly blurry from a tipsy husband and a late night):
    http://www.thenewmrss.blogspot.ca/2011/08/fancy-aka-i-clean-up-good.html

  11. Yay! So happy for you. Can’t wait to see pics of you in it. You’re going to be such a gorgeous bride!

  12. Congrats on getting another major thing done! What a beautiful dress! I can envision you in it, and I know you’ll rock it.

  13. Yay for the new jeans! Boooooooooooooooo on the head cold. And WOOOHOOO on finding the dress!! Knew you would. :)

    Sidenote – Oregon has no sales tax?? Dang it, living in the wrong state.

  14. YES! You found it!!! YAY! I am so excited and cannot wait to see it. It’s so funny how you think you know exactly what you want then kind of end up with something different! That happened to me too :)

  15. :) That was the most fun I’ve had in a hell of a long time! And the most weeping I’ve done out of joy in a long time, too :) Thanks for making my whole freaking month with that fun day. (And I love that pic of J2x and I – we look slightly crazy!) xoxo

  16. What a gorgeous dress! I’m sure you look beautiful in it, and I can’t wait to see wedding pictures after the fact!

    I surprised myself when shopping for a dress, too. I wanted something not too formal, and ended up with a very formal, full, beaded gown. I think you just know when it’s the one.

  17. Oh my gosh, Sizzly!! Where have I been? (Self-absorbed and wrapped up in my own little world, apparently). When is the wedding?? You’re going to have so much fun planning this out, and you’ve gotten one of the big things off the list already. :) I CAN’T WAIT to see you in your gown, I just KNOW you’ll be ravishing in it. I’m not a veil kind of gal either, and also surprised myself by wearing a long, strapless gown (I had been looking for a shorter dress, preferably halter-top) that I ended up buying online by sending specific measurements to the manufacturer (my mother refused to speak to me or see it until the day of the wedding) – all in all, between the luck I had buying my dress and accessories online, and my mom, sis, and friend planning the wedding, I was a very lucky bride. It’s definitely the people we love the most and that love us back the best that help make this day and event incredibly special!!

  18. That dress is fabulous! I’m excited to hear more details on you and Mr Darcy’s big day :)

  19. Love the dress, and so glad you found it with minimal stress!

    For inexpensive hair accessories, I’ll give a shout out to Claire’s Accessories: I felt a little odd in the shop, surrounded by pre-teens, but I bought several decent hair flowers for a fraction of the price of one “grown-up” one, so I had a few to choose between when I was having my hair trial. I’m sure nobody at the wedding realised how little my hair flower cost!

  20. Beautiful! I knew you’d find one! I have to go back and look again but it looks similar to number 11 dress that you showed us earlier. Is it? Anyway, congratulations on finding the dress and finding it under budget…even better.

  21. OMG! I love it! I’m sure you look amazing in it. I can’t wait to see it (in pictures) on the big day. :)

    If you want a good arm work out look up Pilates negative push ups online. 10 negative push ups 3x a week and you’ll have beautiful arms in no time. Trust me they work. They aren’t easy at first but once you get the hang of them you’ll see results. I started seeing results in a month.

  22. What a gorgeous dress! The style is built in to be elegant. I’m so glad wedding dresses have ceased to be over-sized Victorian piles of fussy fabric. Nothing beats beautifully cut simplicity. Can’t wait to see you in it!

  23. Hooray! Glad you found it so easily!

    Now, I’m also a little curious about the great pair of jeans…seems like those are even harder to find.

  24. Such a gorgeous dress! I’m thrilled for you – choosing the dress is such a relief. And yes, it’s funny what we go for unexpectedly (I am not a ‘veil girl’, or so I thought; I ended up wearing one – v simple, but still – for our ceremony, and it felt right), which is the fun of it all.

  25. That is a gorgeous dress and I love the idea of the big flower instead of a veil. Sounds perfect!

  26. Pingback: The Devil is in the Details | Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.