Can you help?

mom oliver

This is a picture of my mom with her best friend, Oliver. They have been inseparable for 8 years, since she adopted him as a puppy. She just learned that he has cancer and needs surgery to save his life- a very expensive surgery that her limited retirement budget cannot afford (they estimate it could cost $3000+). This is heartbreaking for my mom and all of us who love him. I usually describe Oliver as a big Muppet. He’s just a huge lovebug – always eager to play fetch, go in the water, or eat my mom’s slippers. He hasn’t been himself lately thanks to a growth on his spleen. Just Saturday my mom woke up to him thrashing around her bedroom. He was in the middle of a seizure thanks to the growth causing internal bleeding. It was very scary for them both and she spent the night lying next to him, worried out of her mind.

My mom left her beautiful home and comfortable life in Monterey, CA to move to Seattle to help take care of my nephew and be closer to us. She’s the type of person who gives all she has to those she loves. We wish we had the money to pay for the entire surgery but we don’t (thanks stupid basement!). My mom is a proud person who doesn’t like to ask for help so I am asking for her and for Oliver.

If you would like to contribute to Oliver’s surgery fund, I know that my Mom would be forever grateful. She’s been so worried and stressed about how she could help him knowing she doesn’t have the financial resources. My mom taught us that pets are family and there has been no truer example of that than Oliver- the sweetest Golden Retriever I’ve ever met.

Gifts can be made to my Pay Pal account at sizzlesays at gmail dot com.

Thank you in advance for anything you can give. Every gift has a deep impact. And your good vibes, prayers, and love are so appreciated!

11 thoughts on “Can you help?

  1. What a sweet face! (Dog and mommy!) We sent a little money Oliver’s way, from me, Patch the cat, Morgan the cat, Jester the greyhound, and Red the greyhound. :o) You guys are in our thoughts and prayers! I know this is a difficult time for you all.

  2. I am so very sorry I cannot contribute. I will think of Oliver every time I pet my beloved dogs (which is often). Best healthy wishes!

  3. Having just survived going through pancreatis with my furry baby I can totally relate to how hard it is to sit with them, hoping they make it through the night. My heart goes out to her in a very real way. Pay pal visit coming…

  4. Hey Sizzle, I want to donate but Paypal hates me so I was hoping that you could send me your address so I can send you a check (the old fashioned way). Email me at jenrotert@hotmail.com with your address and I will get out a donation.

    Hugs to Oliver!

  5. Our new cat is named Cousin Oliver, so I can’t resist helping out another Oliver in need (I mean, it’s not like I *wouldn’t* help if his name were Grover…). Get well soon, Oliver!

  6. Pingback: Updates | Sizzle Says

  7. Pingback: Fun Things To Read On A Friday

Comments are closed.