For the Hell of it

  • I think a bug bit me on the eyelid. It’s not as sexy as it sounds.
  • I joined a gym. Now I just have to go to the gym and work out. That’s how you see results, right?
  • Sex counts as working out right? Does it count for more if you do it in a public place? (Sorry Mom, just ignore this. I’m only kidding!)
  • I’ve been singing “I can bring home the bacon/fry it in a pan/never let you forget you’re a man/because I’m a w-o-m-a-n/that’s what I am/doing what I can” since Saturday night. My inner rapper wants to come out. Or that 1950’s housewife costume really got to me.
  • My friend Hunter told me I am the strangest feminist he’s ever met. Maybe it was because I was standing in my kitchen in an apron (not in costume, mind you) making biscuits from scratch.Β  (It’s because I am a w-o-m-a-n! Feminists can bake. I’m a righteous babe AND a good homemaker. So take that naysayers!)
  • My friend Frankenfurter and I are setting up two of our friends. Upon discussing this match we realized that we are like the Wonder Twins of matchmaking. Two couples he set up are now married and one of my matches is married, the other living together. So when we discuss the impending meet up between our two pals we put our knuckles together in aΒ  “Wonder Twin powers activate!” kind of salute. Let’s hope they click!
  • I am overusing exclamation points to hide my fatigue.
  • I really should end this random post lest I be late for work again.

“If looks could kill you would be an uzi/You’re a shotgun – bang! whats up with that thang?/I wanna know how does it hang?/Straight up, wait up, hold up, Mr. Lover/Like prince said youre a sexy mutha- . . .Shoop shoop ba-doop/Shoop ba-doop/Shoop ba-doop ba-doop ba-doop/Shoop shoop ba-doop/Shoop ba-doop/Shoop ba-doop ba-doop ba-doop…” – Shoop, Salt ‘N Pepa

33 thoughts on “For the Hell of it

  1. Who types out all the “Shoops”?! Who, I ask you?!

    Also, Ellen DeGeneres sings the entire first verse of this song in one of her stand-up routines. Classic comedy!

    And, there’s nothing wrong with a little exclamation usage! Nothing at all!

  2. skyzi: that’s what i’m here for. πŸ˜‰

    hunter: i do! so there! i LOVE that Ellen bit. classic and hilarious. we seem to have a lot in common…we should hang out sometime. . .oh right, we already do. my bad. heh.

  3. An old friend of mine has on her myspace profile, “I bake for gender equality in my undergarments.”
    I have no idea what that means, but I love it. πŸ™‚
    (uh, I do not think she is baking something inside her underwear though, nor is she fighting for gender equality within her underwear, but I could be wrong)

  4. Some people have a really twisted view of what a feminist is and isn’t! I love to bake too… and argue with my husband about his sometimes unknowingly sexist remarks. Muah ha ha.

  5. Sex counts as working out right?

    Uh yeah. Like the ultimate workout. Well, at least in the beginning, when you’re putting a lot of energy into it. After 5 years and you’re half asleep just wanting him to get it over with, then not so much. Then it counts as walking from the parking lot to the gym and not going in the doors.

    Does it count for more if you do it in a public place?

    Depends on the scores you receive from the judges, I mean voyeurs πŸ˜‰

  6. Just cuz a girl can cook doesn’t mean she has to cook. You cook when you’re good and ready. And let the pokey peeps out there catch up when they’re good and ready!

  7. You are quite the writer and I love the quote from SHoop. Salt n Peppa are amazing rap. You are a righteous babe! Good on you.

  8. I say it counts double, if not triple, in public, outside, or in a parents house…

    And a true feminist recognizes balance and uses her talents…Bring on the biscuits.

    I am also considering my latest matchmaking adventure…I am two for two: Two setups, two marriages, one of which has produced two precious children.

  9. diane: i think fighting for gender equality within our underwear is a noble pursuit. hee hee.

    kilax: so true- baking and feminism can go hand in hand.

    tc: i hope the judges are kind. πŸ˜‰

    nilsa: but what if a girl LIKES to cook?

    fourquarter: good on me! i love that saying.

    appletree: bring on the biscuits! yahoo! (parents house, honorable mention.)

  10. I think the whole point of true feminism is that you get to do what you want to do. For me, yes, that includes baking and making jam and cooking dinner. It also includes working and making my honey rub my feet. πŸ™‚

  11. Wonder twins, eh? Which one of you has the mediocre power to turn into any form of water?

    Maybe you’ll be the new and improved Wonder Twins where you both get to transform into something cool (no pun intended)!

  12. I’d like to add to Hunter’s note that she speaks the entire first verse while wearing a tucked in t-shirt and tapered jeans. Still, it is one of the funniest comedy shows I’ve seen.

    And you’ll really start going to the gym when you see where all that money is going every month. That’s why I just quit mine. πŸ™‚

  13. If you have any single male friends here, I’ve got like 10 single girlfriends that would like to be hooked up. Most guys I know are either taken or I’m just not comfy doing the set-up.

    As for the feminist/baking thing, I think the idea behind feminism is that it’s your choice to bake rather than it being your job:)

  14. abbersnail: you’re a wise lady, indeed.

    tobiwan: i’m giving that to frankenfurter. that was really the lamest superpower, wasn’t it??

    dcchick: that’s right- she does have that outfit on- ha ha.

    justrun: please don’t hate me. πŸ™‚

    stephanie: i’ll go check out the link- thanks!

    sandra: so little words but yet such an impact. tee hee.

    becky: hmm, maybe we need to plan a mixer?

    jen: you braved the link and saw the bite- go you!

  15. rick: how did i skip your comment!? it wasn’t on purpose, i swear…even though i’m blushing. were you looking in the windows? πŸ˜‰

  16. Yay for you joining a gym! I joined one about a month ago and trust me it gets better in terms of going … the more results you see the more you’ll want to go!

  17. God, even with a bug bite on your eye you are cute… haha… i love random posts… they are usually the most entertaining… thanks for sharing the randomness of your day!

  18. Dude, you may very well have caught the exclamation points from me. You have my apologies, and my assurance that they aren’t fatal. Trust me, I’m a doctor.

    Alright, what I really am is a Liar, but seriously, that’s not as comforting, is it?

  19. Of COURSE sex counts as exercise and YES a public location scores extra exercise points.

    God, I need sex… Quickly…

    And OMFG! Your eye looks… ehm… special… ish…

  20. my son has the same eyelid thing right now! I was going to take him to the doctor, but since you are telling me it’s a bug bite, I’ll believe you. (Kidding, I am going to wait until tomorrow and see if it is still there. No one wants to go to the doctor on Halloween!)

Comments are closed.