Let’s Recap, Shall We?

Ok people, listen…I realize I shocked and awed you folks yesterday with my blatant cruelty at the “loser” girl. In my defense, she does not comprehend that she is seen in such a light by others. I know how I and some others perceive her but she is toiling along her merry way, clueless. Yesterday she saw me in my costume and did her customary giggle. I said something teasing like, “What? No costume!” to which I only received more giggling. Later that day I complimented her. Ok?! I complimented her! She was wearing a lovely shade of purple and I told her with absolutely no malice in my tone that she looked good in that color. And I meant it.

What I didn’t say was the sweater shape did absolutely nothing for her body type but let’s focus on the positive, shall we? I complimented her.

So there.

Besides, the fact that I made the L backwards when I took that photo makes me one step above “loser.” Thank goodness I still have good style. What ever would I have to fall back on? (Don’t answer that.)

It appears that the Wonder Twin powers activated to make what is (so far) seeming to be a match. Yes! Our matched friends stayed long after we all left the bar and he even walked her home. Promising! Of course, my lovely pal said something like, “I don’t want to get my hopes up or my heart broken.” to me while we were on the phone exchanging deets. Well, duh my friend. No one does but that’s the risk of love. Let’s not talk ourselves out of being present in the good right now by focusing on the impending break up, especially when you’ve technically not even had your first date yet. We women have just GOT to stop doing that crap.

I went to The Moore Theater last night to see Henry Rollins. Apparently third time is a charm with that place- the last two shows I saw there sucked. But not this one. Woah, not by a long shot. It was so good I am speechless. He spoke for over 3 hours. He made me laugh and made me think. I need to go to more shows like that. We need more people in this world like Henry.

“I know you’re not sure if you can trust me like once before/I’ll be there , till the end I won’t let you leave me just let/Your smile, your touch, your warm embrace/No one can ever take your place/Just tell me that you still love me and want me here/I’d rather sleep then be awake , ’cause in my dreams your still with me. . .” -Second Chance, Running Late

20 thoughts on “Let’s Recap, Shall We?

  1. Way to turn that situation around, sizz. And I like the backwards L, which of course I wouldn’t have noticed if you hadn’t pointed it out. (See? Stick with me, Sizz. My shortcomings will make you feel GREAT about yourself. πŸ˜‰

  2. Sizz: You don’t need to defend your actions against anyone. Those who can’t understand sarcasm – which is one of the most intellectual forms of humour – simply misinterpreted you as being mean.

    Was it a little harsh over written word? Perhaps. It may have been one of those ‘you had to be there’ things, but as She Who Is Frequently Sarcastic, I’m tired of the types who get all irate, thinking I’m being a bitch or whatever, just because they don’t get the glimmer in my eye or the curl in my lip when I say something with a semi-snarky tone.

    Or perhaps my accent gets in the way.

    Bloody idiots.

    (SEE? That was sarcasm!)

  3. “Let’s not talk ourselves out of being present in the good right now by focusing on the impending break up, especially when you’ve technically not even had your first date yet.”
    No truer words…

  4. Yah, I am with the whole picture thing. Also, when I come there, you so have to invite her to eat with us just so I can see what the hayck the damage is πŸ˜‰

  5. hilly: She has to EAT with us!? Can’t we drink with her instead? At least then I will have booze to comfort me.

    justrun: true! true!

    eileen: your accent makes you sound snarkier AND sexier. rawr!

    kris: let’s hang out more then. πŸ˜‰

    nerdgirl: i worry posting a photo is really the rude part. i mean what if she DID find the blog someday? at least with the words she could maybe be left to wonder but if i post a photo? even the clueless can get a clue with that one!

  6. You COMPLIMENTED someone?! You oughta be ashamed of yourself. No one in this world got anywhere by receiving a compliment. Criticize, dig, insult, condescend. That’s what I say!

    By the way, GREAT costume.

  7. Congrats on the matchmaking — hopefully it will continue to go well with them. Ted and I met at a friend’s birthday party and she’s “claiming” us as one of her set-ups but it wasn’t like she even thought about the two of us together until we were already talking the entire night:)

    There’s a group playing at The Moore on Monday and we were hesistant to get tickets b/c the only ones left are in the upper balcony and in the back — is it worth it?

  8. Don’t feel bad, we all do that now and then, I think it’s part of being critical and opinionated, and we know those can also be good attributes to have.

    So the match making went well? I’m glad. I have never ventured into that arena. I like best to help friends figure out already consolidated relationships going array instead of initiating them. Good luck to your friend and keep her thinking positively!

  9. i loved this post in it’s entirety. i love that you said “deets.” love that you’re playing matchmaker and it’s working! so true about the focusing on the “good right now.” love your costume (again), AND, and!, your skin in that picture looks beautiful! so apparently you’re doing something right with your masks!

  10. I bet your compliment meant alot to her. She must really hold you in esteem, to be all giggly like that around you. πŸ™‚ People like that NEED the good feedback. Influence is nice, but positive reinforcement is key.

    Your tone does sound sharp the last couple of days, but hell, I’ve been a little on the sharp side myself. No offense intended ever, but sometimes things just come out wrong, I know. Until Mercury is out of Scorpio, let’s just all take things with a grain of salt!

  11. I was laughing at your comment to her… I think everyone needs to let the inner bitch out sometimes.

    Henry Rollins is so hot. I would totally try to hang out backstage and be his groupie.

  12. lefty: you bitter, sexy man, you.

    becky: i will email you about the moore. and i don’t think your friend can actually say she had a hand in matching you if you randomly met at a party. she’s cheating!

    kilax: three cheers to that!

    jen: the other day my coworker (a different one) said, “my! you’re bossy!” and i was like, “duh!” hee hee.

    foo: i am pretty much swooning over him too. πŸ˜‰

    nilsa: you might be onto something there! hmm…

    brookem: i think the good skin means i have good foundation. tee hee. thanks for the compliments!

    bully: yeah let’s take it with a grain of salt. i like how you think! i also will blame the sugar i have ingested this week. is this halloween holiday OVER already? get this candy out of my sight!

    fluffy: true dat! i’d be his groupie with you. πŸ™‚

  13. Okay, so I was going to say something like “I’m sorry if I sounded harsh…” but I have much more important things to say!

    Hilly is coming to visit!?!? And were you two planning on keeping this a secret from li’l ol me??? Waaaaaaah!!!

  14. I’ve always wanted to see a Henry Rollins show. I’ve had friends that have seen and loved him. But they were always a bit more “hardcore” than I am. Good to know that someone on about the same level as me liked him as well. I may look into it. Thanks!

Comments are closed.