Trying to be True to the Best in Me

I flipped my calendar to December this morning and this is what I found:

Promise yourself to be so strong that nothing can disturb your peace of mind. Look at the sunny side of everything and make your optimism come true. Think only of the best, work only for the best, and expect only the best. Forget the mistakes of the past and press on to the greater achievements of the future. Give so much time to the improvement of yourself that you have no time to criticize others. Live in the faith that the whole world is on your side so long as you are true to the best that is in you.
-Christian D. Larson

I like that quote a lot.

Yesterday was a very rough day of highs and lows. Operating on 4 hours of sleep, on my feet working for hours, still way too sick to even be at work and yet working more than usual, some emotional crap nagging at my psyche, blah, blah, blah. . . I started to cry around 3pm when I got really, really good news and then it quickly turned into a sad cryfest which didn’t really finish until 9:30pm. I mean, I was full on bawling. My eyes are pink puff balls today to prove it. I was in the shower crying my eyes out trying to remember how to wash my hair. I think I was just overly exhausted and all the other crap just cracked me open.

Needless to say, I am spent today. Even though I managed to get a good night’s rest, today is going to be a very mellow self-care day. I have not been taking care of myself and that ends now. I can’t be falling apart like that. I can’t let myself get so utterly fatigued I am a weeping mess. And I am really, really, really tired of blowing my nose!

Be well.

“Well I’m guilty, yeah I’m guilty,/I’ll be guilty for the rest of my life/How come I never do, what I’m supposed to do/How come nothing that I try to do ever turns out right/Well you know how it is with me baby,/you know I just can’t stand myself/It takes a whole lot of medicine,/for me to pretend to be somebody else . . .” -Guilty, Bonnie Raitt

19 thoughts on “Trying to be True to the Best in Me

  1. We all need days where we coddle ourselves. Read magazines, watch movies, eat what you want, take a bath followed by a nap. Sounds so good I’ll think I’ll do the same.

    smooch

  2. Sounds like you need some time for yourself my friend! Here’s hoping this weekend brings you lots of time for yourself. And I dig that quote too. Especially the line “live in the faith that the whole world is on your side…”

  3. You said it right – it’s time to take care of you. I volunteer for a non-profit. They are fully aware of how much they ask of their employees and how little they are compensated. Employees are pretty much encouraged to take “self care” days … sick days … to stay sane in mind. It is oh so important … because if you can’t take care of you, then how can you take care of others. So, be good to you … and only then will you be able to be good to/for others.

  4. aww! Feel better. You’re right, go take care of yourself. Ooooh, a massage parlor sounds good, doesn’t it?? 🙂 Do it! With some aromatherapy! 😀

  5. Aww Sizzle. A bit of a cold will bring down even the most stalwart of us. Have a nice tea, maybe some toddy, and give yourself the weekend to recup.
    *hugs*

  6. Hope that you get some good r&r this weekend my friend. Take good care of yourself. Thinking of you.

    Love that quote too by the way. What calendar is that?

  7. I have days like that too. Where everything has piled up so much that nothing but a good cry is going to make it go away.

    Hope your self-care day is great! Heck, make it a self-care month.

    LOVE the quote. I had to copy and paste it for my own inspiration.

  8. Your mucus is still around too? Mine won’t let up either. Who’d have thought snot could be so textured and bright?

    I hope you feel better soon. *hugs*

Comments are closed.