Walking in a Winter Wonderland

I am a far cry better than I was Friday night, that’s for sure. But still, the cold is in its last stages with an unflattering cough and chapped nose. Sometimes when I have to blow my nose, I am forced to muster all the strength in my entire body to expel the mucus. It’s like that mucus has a life force all its own. A death grip inside my body. I still feel very tired. Who knew blowing ones nose could be so exhausting?

I bet you’re tired of hearing about mucus. Soon it will all be over my pretties. I promise.

Despite the lingering head cold from hell, I had a great weekend. I put up some holiday decorations and rearranged my furniture (this is fun for me) while the snow flurries blew outside. I napped, watched bad TV, listened to Christmas music and cleaned my house. It felt good to just do whatever I wanted. Then the Fella came over and we walked around the corner to the soul food restaurant, sat side by side watching the snow fall, shared our food, and generally acted like one of those couples that makes people go “awww” and simultaneously puke in their mouths a little. We’re downright moony and it is fine by me. I rather like it, truth be told. We went back home, snuggled on the couch and read some poetry to each other. It just sort of . . . happened but we laughed about being so bohemian. What else was there to do when we discovered we had a mutual love of e.e. cumwinter-002.jpgmings?

Sunday we awoke to snow falling which made me giddy as a little kid. To the Fella, snow conjures memories of shoveling it, growing up in Pennsylvania. To me, snow is magical because growing up in Silicon Valley (before it was even called that) there was no snow unless we drove for hours to it. The rest of the day was a blur of football and french toast and Christmas shopping. It’s been a very, very, very long time since I’ve been in a “couple” and I have to say, I’m rather liking it this go ’round. There’s something to be said for having someones hand to hold, someone to laugh with and sing cheesy songs with and kiss whenever I feel like it (that’s a lot). In a nutshell? He makes me incredibly happy.

Awwww. (Puke.)

“Singing in the shower/Laughing by the hour/Life is such a breezy game/I love all kinds of weather/As long as we’re together/Oh I love to hear you say my name/I love good wine, fine cuisine/Candlelight I love the scene/Cause baby if you know just what I mean/I love being here with you. . .” -I Love Being Here With You, Diana Krall

32 thoughts on “Walking in a Winter Wonderland

  1. Yes, yes. I was pleasantly surprised by the Sunday morning snow, too. But this rain now? Holy smokes!

    Yay for budding relationships! Sounds like he’s a keeper!

  2. Snow? And poetry? And sharing food in public? I’m ‘awwwing’ right now! Fingers crossed the cold ends soon. It has to. The bugger needs to move on and find a new victim. Maybe love will cure your cold?

    Wait. That went to far. Now I’m puking a bit in my mouth. šŸ˜‰
    Feel better!

  3. I don’t have to be next to you at the soul restaurant to see you and the Fella are so freakin’ cute, it’s not even funny. So glad you have an excuse to enjoy the comforts of home during the first snow!

  4. Smiling through the vomit in my mouth…

    You know, when I read this I can tell you were smiling when you wrote it.

    So happy for your happy.

  5. Good thing my lunch was good going down šŸ˜‰ I am so happy for you (fella wise, not mucus) ‘Course now that you said bohemian I have Queen stuck in my head … Thanks! We managed to get our tree up before my wife got home the other day, a miracle in itself!

  6. Snow, in Seattle? Thats cool, cause I dont think itll ‘stick’, right? Much better than have it stay and have to shovel/drive through it šŸ™‚

  7. Glad you’re feeling somewhat better šŸ™‚
    And the snow…I wasn’t as happy as you to see it. 38 years of this is becoming a little dreary.

  8. Sunday french toast IS THE BEST!!! Unless you put peanut butter on yours like KJ does, because that is a crime against nature and we can’t be friends anymore.

  9. Your post reminded me of my fav Rachael Yamagata song, Meet Me By The Water:

    Would you meet me by the water tonight
    Would you please fall asleep
    Holding my hand
    ‘Cause I’ve got everything in store for you, baby
    If you’ll be my man

  10. love is a place
    & through this place of
    love move
    (with brightness of peace)
    all places

    yes is a world
    & in this world of
    yes live
    (skilfully curled)
    all worlds

    xo

  11. Well, if I had to hazard a guess, you are enjoying this “go round” so much more, cuz, well, the fella is actually a swell stand up dude, unlike a couple guys I know, heheh. Ah, mooniness…

  12. I’m tired of hearing about mucus, but not from you- what’s up with this new mucus cowboy monster ad campaign? I don’t need to see that.

    Glad you’re starting to feel better.

  13. Yep, sounds like you’ve definitely become “that” couple šŸ™‚

    Great to hear you sounding so happy. And thanks for sharing the beautiful snow. It’s magical (and all too rare) for me, too.

  14. I’m right there with you: being in a couple is just so much fun šŸ™‚ I find shopping the most fun because now I’m the girl they stare at jealously instead of the other way round hehe

  15. I’m so jealous you got snow. We had beautiful ginormous flakes on Saturday afternoon, but nothing stuck. Then the rain came and hasn’t stopped yet. Bah!

  16. Good for you! Here’s to making more people vomit on their food:) Ted and I share our food as well. I have to admit that I wonder what people think of us when we’re together because it feels like we get along and genuinely like each other more than some of the couples that we’re around. But then again, I’m probably a little biased.

Comments are closed.