Sing, Sing a Song

Ever since I picked those four songs for you to vote on, I’ve had other songs running through my head. Like “I’ll Be Home For Christmas” which is my Mom’s favorite and the only song, besides “When The Saints Go Marching In” that I learned to “successfully” play on the guitar when I was 10 going on 11. Or “All That I Want” by my favorite band, The Weepies. Or that incessant song made popular by Mariah Carey, “All I Want for Christmas Is You” (but which I recall from Love Actually– a great flick.) So now, after all your careful voting, it looks as though “Santa Baby” has won out. . . and can I just tell you? I don’t even think I like that song! Ha ha. You know what else? It has becoming startling clear that I must present some sort of persona or something on here if you’re all enthusiastically voting for me to sing that well-known-to-be-sexy song. Is there something you want to tell me?

The Fella (who reads this blog, by the way) and I are still in negotiations about doing the duet. In his defense, I sprung it on him and really should have asked him before I put it up on the blog as an option. Sure, I think it would fun/funny and sweet and maybe even a little bit racy. Sure, I think he’s got good pipes (among his countless assets). But we’ll see. For now, “Santa Baby” has won the contest. I hope you don’t regret your choice after hearing me sing!

When I was a kid, my Mom was convinced that I could sing (I think she still is!). I was in the school choir but I never took lessons or did solos or anything. She would always ask me to sing holiday songs for the family. When I took guitar and piano lesson, I’d play for a family audience too. Sadly, I completely lacked any discipline to practice and never got really good at it. Plus, I suffer from that whole character flaw of wanting to be naturally good at something before I even try. In my adulthood, I find it funny that I can talk in front of hundreds of people without breaking a sweat but when it comes to singing in front of people, I freak out inside. Forget karaoke. I just can’t take the pressure. Maybe many, many drinks later but . . . while I don’t sound horrific, I’m just not that great of a singer. It’s sad that all my dreams of being a sultry songstress have been dashed but it’s for the best.

As you’ll likely see soon enough.

“So small a turning/The world grows older every day/An ache, a yearning/Soften when I hear you say/All that I want, all that I want/And when the cold wind’s blowing/Snow drifts through the pine trees/In houses lights are glowing/Likewise in your eyes that find me here/With all that I want.” -All That I Want, The Weepies

17 thoughts on “Sing, Sing a Song

  1. I’m gonna bet you have a fabulous voice. Just imagine all of us in our underwear. Add that thought to a couple drinks and you’ll have a great time (and it’ll show in the final result). Can’t wait to hear you belt out a tune or two!

  2. I have no idea why I voted for that song, I don’t like it much either. But if you sing it and have fun with it, it’ll be fine. You could always switch to “Let It Snow” which is good in solo or duet form. Plus, it’s peppy- I like peppy. πŸ™‚

  3. “If you talk you can sing, if you walk you can dance.”

    At least thats what people who can’t sing and dance say. I wouldn’t know since I’m a bigger triple threat than J-LO.

    I’m just, I’m just curly from the block

  4. You should sing a duet with me. I am such an awful singer, I make everyone feel like Celine Dion in comparison! πŸ˜‰

  5. Can’t wait…

    Sing, sing a song…From Sesame Street…LOVED that song when I was a kid…It was about the same time in my life that I was truly convinced that Ethel Merman was my guardian angel.

  6. I already regret the choice, but it has nothing to do with how you will or won’t sing it. I just really detest that song. It’s a story… one that maybe I’ll blog. Then people will truly understand… or maybe you just had to be there.

    Don’t mind me if I cry a bit the day you sing πŸ™‚

  7. I knew that song would win!

    Ummm,,, nerdgirl has tail between her legs …. says ‘sorry’ to the fella … for plotting ways to get him out of the picture to get Sizz all to herself …

    … could warn flirty nerdgirl in ADVANCE that the fella reads this… sigh… so embarassing!!!

  8. Sultry Songstress. πŸ˜€ I like that!
    –and yes, count me in with the others who say: as much as you like to sing? I bet you’ll be GREAT! It’s all about the performance! The Charm! The smile!
    You’ll be great.

    Teeth and Cleavage Sizzle! Teeth and Cleavage!

Comments are closed.