2 for 2

That’s what the text said underneath a picture of them with their beaming smiles and fancy outfits. She was holding a bouquet.

Wait. A. Second.

A bouquet!?

Helopementoly crap did my friends just get MARRIED!?

When I called them, ecstatic with tears of joy falling down my face, they confirmed my hope. Of course, Mikey was quick to correct me that they had “eloped”- whatever, Mikey! You have a wife!

So here’s the back story because up ’til now you probably don’t give a hoot that my friends got hitched. But you should. For my sake. Because 3.5 years ago, I fixed them up. AND because they are awesome people.

Mikey was once my boyfriend. One of THE best boyfriends I ever landed, honestly. (I can count the good ones on one hand.) We’d long since been broken up but had managed to stay close friends when he was once again single and looking to date. I had met Meagan from a mutual friend- her housemate, my coworker- who, last year married the man that she met through me. (Hence the whole “2 for 2” bit.)

Something just clicked when I met her. She was just his type- beautiful but unassuming, a shoo in for Natalie Wood with big brown eyes, super smart, a tad shy, bookish andhot stuff couple incredibly sweet. I had no idea what her “type” was but she said she was game when I asked if I could fix her up. (Hmm, did I actually ask? Do I ever ask first?!) Since I could personally vouch that Mikey was a catch, maybe that calmed any trepidations she might have had. Basically, Mikey was stoked she is hawt. (I kid. He also liked that she could read.)

I introduced them over email. “Mikey, this is Meagan. She’s this and that and the other and she likes yadda yadda and yadda. Meagan, this is Mikey. He’s this and that and the other and he likes yadda yadda and yadda.” They met for coffee. They dated. And dated some more. I moved to Seattle, thus freeing him from being my housemate. They moved in together. They got engaged (unbeknownst to me- AHEM!). Then they went and got married!being silly

I sincerely could not be happier. They are one of those couples that makes you believe that something that special could happen for you too. I love them both to pieces and wish them every happiness. The only part I’m sad about is that I didn’t get to embarrass them with a toast at their reception. I’ll find a way somehow. You can bet on it. (Maybe this blog post is it?)

Congratulations to two of my favorite people in the whole wide world. When I say you two deserve each other- I mean it in the best way possible!

“Fly me to the moon/Let me sing among those stars/Let me see what spring is like/On Jupiter and Mars/In other words, hold my hand/In other words, baby kiss me/Fill my heart with song/Let me sing for ever more/You are all I long for/All I worship and adore/In other words, please be true/In other words, I love you.” -Fly Me to the Moon, Frank Sinatra

33 thoughts on “2 for 2

  1. Very cool, you matchmaker you. 🙂 They do make a ‘handsome’ couple. (for lack of a better word, ‘cute’ just doesn’t seem appropriate)

  2. Aww, they are a cute couple!

    And um, 2 for 2? I like your record. Know any single, good head of haired men who would be willing to travel to Boston? 😉

  3. Wow, I teared up a little. Lovely, lovely story.

    So doesn’t this add another to quite a number of your friends making HUGE commitments in the last month or so?

    And I am 2 for 2, as well, and working on number 3, possibly 4. May have to steal you email intro idea…

  4. Thanks so much for the nice post–and thanks again for introducing me to my husband. 🙂 You’re the best!

  5. I knew the back story (having been addicted to your blog for a long time) and I think it’s extra cool and special that Mikey and you dated and remained close friends and now he’s married to someone you introduced to him!

    So very cool.

  6. Awww!!! Great story! And congrats to the couple!

    I have a few “couple” friends who give of that vibe of total happiness and completing each other… and I love it 🙂

  7. This was a beautiful story. I suck at playing matchmaker. 😐 But on a sidenote, hi, I’m really loving your blog. I got here through Nilsa a couple of days ago. I can’t believe it took me this long to find you.

  8. Pingback: I Need a Judge’s Ruling On This « Sizzle Says

Comments are closed.