My Bells Aren’t Jingling

Is anyone else finding it hard to truly embrace the holiday spirit this year? It’s not that I am bah humbug or anything it’s just that I don’t have enough TIME to get all the things done related to the holidays that I need to. I feel totally stressed out!

Part of the problem is that I did not start my projects earlier. As a crafty girl with big aspirations of homemade gifts, it probably would have been wise to start back in September on many of the presents I planned on making. Now I have less than 13 days to get waaaaay too much done. Part of this procrastination has been plain old fashioned procrastination but a lot of it was due to monetary constraints and in the last 6 weeks, time. I am too damn busy for my own good.

I’d like to be relaxed, sipping cocoa and stringing popcorn for a Christmas tree garland while listening to Ella Fitzgerald sing “Let it Snow!” but instead I am racing home from work to write out Christmas cards, and try to work on 4 simultaneous craft projects for gifts. It doesn’t feel holly jolly good. And I hate that it doesn’t. Everything feels rushed and before I know it, it will be Christmas Eve and what will I have to show for it?

I really love the holiday season. I do! But this year I’m so exhausted from being overworked at my job (they need to clone me!) that the merriment is diminished. And while wishing I was more financially abundant isn’t going to make my checking account grow, I still wish I had more funds so I could get my loved ones what I want to get them. I know, in the end, it will all work out fine and everyone, including me, will be merry and cheery and bright (and maybe even drunk- ok maybe that’ll just be me). I just wish I had the time to feel that way NOW.

I guess I’ll go sing another Christmas carol on my way to work.

**Remember THIS FRIDAY is the 2nd Annual Blog Crush Day!Β 

“Rudolph, the red-nosed reindeer/had a very shiny nose./And if you ever saw him,/You would even say it glows./(Like a light bulb!)/All of the other reindeer/used to laugh and call him names./They never let poor Rudolph/Join in any reindeer games./(“Like Monopoly!”)…” -Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer

28 thoughts on “My Bells Aren’t Jingling

  1. It’s ok to NOT do all the Holiday stuff this year. I told myself that and I am so much more happy then I have been in years past.

    Whatever you decide to do, Happy Holidays!

  2. “and maybe even drunk- ok maybe that’ll just be me”

    Definitely not just you. πŸ™‚

    And you’re right, it will all work out. I need to keep telling myself that, too.

  3. I totally understand where you’re coming from! Between all of my work commitments and J’s health currently I haven’t finished my shopping, printed the pictures for our cards, or even put the tree up yet.
    I know it’s hard, but people will still love you whether or not their gifts are homemade or if your cards become new year’s cards.
    From one perfectionist to another…breathe πŸ™‚

  4. With the move this is the first year that we don’t have any sort of decorations up and damn if it isn’t depressing. So now we waited too long and I can’t rationalize spending our two pennies on stuff that we can only enjoy for one week and I am flying to see my family and have NO gifts…bahhhh

    Does anyone know what Alabama is known for? That would make a good gift! (ex. Georgia= peaches, pecans, FL= tropical, nudity & oranges)

  5. “How all the reindeer loved him (loved him)/And they shouted out with glee (YIPPEE!)/’Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (Reindeer)/You’ll go down in history!’ (Like Lincoln!)”

  6. The holiday season is totally “off” for me this year too. I am just trying to find a new way to enjoy things even though they aren’t perfect….boy howdy, *that* takes some work ;).

    I cannot believe we are moving on Blog Crush Day…I guess I will have to pre-post it and hope my crushee likes it well enough.

  7. I am decidedly bah humbug this year. Need to get past that as we only get the whole “first married Christmas” once.

  8. Hey Sizzle! I love your thought-process, in wanting to make something crafty and handspun for your loved ones! Every year it gets more out of hand, despite my decidions to scale it back. Seems there are more to buy FOR. ugh.
    Myself? I wish someone would make me a nice card or whatever. I don’t really want anything, and honestly, it’s the thought that counts. Getting a pair of slippers that my mom could’ve saved the 10bucks on just seems dumb. Esp when i have to seem excited and happy about it! hah!
    “Oh look! A new flannel nightie with a cow on it! Awww…”(holding it up for the obligatory picture)

    bleh. Save the money, make me cookies. Or a candle wreath! πŸ˜€

    Good luck with your gift ideas. It will help you feel festive, when one of these weekends you set to it!

  9. Sheesh you sound like me… homemade gifts made with love … lots of time, I say, lots of time! Oops what’s the date today? How many more days? Sheesh. Big dreams, little work actually done!

  10. My husband set up our tree a week ago. It’s still naked in our living room. It’s liable to stay that way at the rate I am going… Tick tock goes the clock and I get nothing done… I’ll just pour myself a drink and think about how nice it’d be to have bundles of energy. Plus, it’s 82 degrees here, hard to have Christmas spirit in the hot sun! It’s an excuse I am running with!

  11. I’m actually surprised I’ve gotten as much done as I have so far…normally I’m having the feelings you’re going through. Don’t sweat it, embrace it!

  12. I am feeling it too lady, even despite starting in early October and not working a full week every week!
    I read recently that the increased consumption of sugar and alcohol combined with the decreased amount of daylight around the holidays actually makes people less able to operate on an even emotional keel. Well, that’s just great, isn’t it?
    Anyway. I’d tell you to drop the perfectionism (will it kill you to skip holiday cards one year?) but that would me a complete and utter hypocrite so I won’t bother. πŸ˜‰

  13. Yeah, I still don’t have a tree up, and I’ve only bought a very few gifts. Just seems like it comes faster and is a bit more rushed every year. I hate that it almost comes and goes before I can turn around.

    But I still love it.

    Happy Festivus all!

  14. I am cranky lately because my students are being dumb and I’m freaking exhausted. I expect my spirit to kick in when they all leave on the 19th!

  15. You, my dear, are biting off way more than you can chew. I gave up on sending Christmas cards years ago. I talk to my friends enough for them to know I think about them and everyone else … well, let’s just say if I’m not sending my closest friends stuff, I’m certainly not doing so for everyone else. Those who matter will understand how busy you are – I’ll venture to guess they’d rather see you happy and enjoying the holidays than stressing out over money and finishing up projects/gifts. Give yourself a break and enjoy your time with loved ones!

  16. I’ve been feeling the same way. I think cos I started my Christmas shopping last month then had to stop cos I ran out of cash. My momentum was ruined. I just haven’t been able to get it back since. So I understand exactly what you’re saying.

  17. “There are 24 usable hours in every day.” Ok, only if you’re on some sort of pills. My point is, there’s still time. All is not lost. Maybe the Fella can help with some of the craft projects?

  18. I think I’m with Mad William.

    Or I’m just going to start celebrating Festivus and nothing else.

    Whichever. Maybe I’ll alternate. I got a lot of holiday stuff done this weekend, and I’m still not feeling too festive to tell you the truth.

    I hope you get stuff done and get your holiday spirit back!

  19. I’ve been lacking in the holiday spirit this year as well. I think partly because my Mom’s been in the hospital on and since the end of March & because our two girls keep us busy so there hasn’t been much time to decorate let alone keep the house in some sort of order. Also, snow does help, but we’ve been a bit green in Ohio this year.

    PS – Some of us did a blog crush day last week, although it was a bit different…

    http://davegoblog.wordpress.com/2007/12/06/childhood-crush-confession-101/

Comments are closed.