Muffins Aren’t For Poking

What is one of my favorite things to do?

No, not that.

Or that.

Yes! Hanging out with my nephew. You’re right. (Finally.)

This just in: Finn is a Sesame Street addict. He got Old School Sesame Street for Christmas and is obsessed. He watches it on the portable dvd player, standing there leaning on the couch intent on the characters. He seems to know which disc has what scenes and constantly wants you to hit the next button until he finds the scene he wants. Like Ernie in the tub (“rubertanderniebber ducky you’re the one”) or Grover as a waiter serving soup (that one was really cracking him up) or Bert doing the Pigeon Dance (which our Dad used to do for us when we were kids- we loved it). Sometimes he would attempt to hit next by himself resulting in a blank screen or some menu popping up and then he’d go, “Uh oh.” There is some mad ‘fro in Old School Sesame Street, yo. And super big chops. And some really bad acting. But it was fun to go down memory lane with him.

Later, Finn and I braved the stormy weather to go to Trader Joe’s. Not that TJ’s but the one closer to their house. I like shopping with Finn because it makes me be more precise about what I am getting so I can go in and out before he loses all interest in being in the cart. As I shopped I would ask him, “Should I get this?” and he would either shake his head yes or no. Cheese? Yes. Marinated chicken? No. Broccoli? No. Almonds? Yes. I gave him the things to hold because he likes to help. I looked down at him at one point and said, “Hey, are you poking my muffins?!” and he grinned, his little finger pushing into the bag of English Muffins, shaking his head up and down. “Please do not poke the muffins,” I told him. Throughout our trip I would look over and there he was trying to stealthily poke the muffins. “Hey! What did I say about the muffins and the poking?” He’d shake his head yes. Rrrrr! It’s impossible to be upset when he’s so damn adorable. (And that I get limited time with him so I don’t have a chance to go bonkers. I know that being an Aunt has manystanding perks.)

When I left later that night Double B said, “Say good-bye to Auntie.” He looked up at me and threw his arms open wide with a big smile on his face. I picked him up for a hug and then said, “Kiss?” to which he puckered up.

God, I love that kid.

**************
Pertinacious1. Holding or adhering obstinately to any opinion, purpose, or design.
2. Stubbornly or perversely persistent.

My pertinacious nephew would not stop poking the English Muffins.

28 thoughts on “Muffins Aren’t For Poking

  1. Aww, that’s cool. Being an auntie is cool. I wish I got to spend more time with my nieces and nephews when they were Finn’s age. Now they just look at me as if I’m from another planet.

  2. OMG, OMG, OMG! You have nooooooooooooooo idea how big I am smiling right now!!!! πŸ™‚

    Why? Well, because I wished for you to have more time with Finn in my last post (yay for some wishes coming true!!!!!) AND because I love them like that! πŸ˜€

    Time cuddling on the couch while bonding with Elmo and Grover and Big Bird and Oscar… sigh. It cannot.be.beat!!!!

    Awwww, I just want to pick up my favorite little guy and kiss him now! πŸ™‚ Being an Aunt honestly is the best thing ever.

  3. So cute!!! The little girl I babysit for loves old school Sesame Street as well. It is fun to take a trip down memory lane!

  4. I want an aunt like you!

    This is the cutest story I’ve heard in a while!

    For Christmas, Andrew bought Makenna a DVD of classic Mickey Mouse. At first, I thought HUH? but Makenna LOVES IT. More than her other shows.

  5. My favorite is Super Grover.

    And the “Near! Far!” sketch that Grover does.

    Near!
    *runrunrunrunrun*
    *pantpantpant*
    Far!
    Repeat FOR. EVER! πŸ˜€

  6. Ahh I love this. I wish more kids were loving the old school greatness of Sesame Street. Kids today talk about cartoons and shows that I have no idea about.

    Sweet Jesus. I just started a sentence out with “Kids today…”.

    I’m officially 87 years old.

  7. So I know I haven’t taken you to Piroshky, Piroshky yet, but have you been to the Crumpet Shop by the Market? If you like English Muffins, you’ll freaking love this place.

    If no, I officially owe you baked goods.

  8. You just need to carry around a picture of Lil Finn. Any time you’re beginning to have a bad day or pout or be a hater, you should take out his pic to remind you of all the good things life offers! He’s a cutie!

  9. I wish I lived closer to the nieces/nephews again, they are a lot of fun when they’re being…nice:)

    We went to the Upper Queen Anne TJ’s on Sunday evening and what a mad house it was, we’ll never go back then again. There were so many people and they were out of things.

  10. I wish my nephew was that adorable!

    Isn’t it crazy how kids remember things, like scenes in a movie? My nephew came to our house and asked, “last time I was here there was a bag of [stuffed] bears. Where is it?” I just couldn’t believe he remembered something from over 3 months ago!

  11. I am completely with you on the Auntie thing – My niece and nephew are two of the reasons that I wante dto move back to the US so badly. There is nothing like seeing the world through their 2 and 4 year old eyes!

  12. I am a mom that can’t wait to be an Auntie. There is just something about being able to spoil them a bit more than your actual children and not having to deal with the repercussions.

    We’ve got the old school Sesame Street dvd pack and bought it under the guise that it was for our son, who happened to be a few weeks old at the time. Now he’s old enough to watch it, so I enjoy sitting down with him taking a stroll down memory lane.

  13. Remember when the guy went to music shop and tried to say what he was looking for by making the noises that the instrument would make? I wish I could catch that one again. LOVE Sesame Street. Love it.

Comments are closed.