I Used to Dis Robes

I’m not really a robe person.

Some people like wearing them. I’ve just never been one of them. I’ve owned robes. Come to think of it, I’ve never actually purchased a robe for myself. Hmmm. Yes, my Mom has bought me every robe I have ever owned. It goes without saying, she’s a robe person.

Last week a package arrived at my work. I love getting mail so of course I was excited. I opened the box and found a pair of pajamas and a robe. The pajamas are a pale blue matching set. A far cry from the mismatched bottoms and tank tops I tend to wear. The robe is sweetly girly, cream colored with pale blue tiny polka dots. It’s light-weight and hits below the knee. Not one of those heavy terry cloth types or some long, silky types that go with sexy negligees. Of course, the package was from my Mom.

For some reason I felt compelled to put the robe on right then and there. At work around 2pm. Right over my work clothes. And then I walked around the office going about my work-related business in it. Some people did double takes. A few brave ones asked, “Um, are you wearing a robe?” Many commented on its cuteness. I wore it for a couple hours enjoying people’s reactions because seriously, sometimes work can be so utterly dull. And besides, I enjoy amusing myself.

Over the weekend, I put the robe on after showering. The Fella was over and apparently he likes the robe because, well, let’s just say it didn’t stay on for very long. Ahem! Now that’s the kind of robe action I like.

So this whole robe thing? I’m rethinking it. Maybe it just took the right robe.

Thanks for the pjs Mom!

“But as strong as I seem to think I am my distressing damsel,/She comes out at night when the moon’s filled up/and your eyes are bright, then I think I simply aught to/Fall over, fall over, fall overboard, overboard./Fall overboard just so you can catch me./You can catch me./I watch the ships go sailing by/I play the girl will you play the guy./And I never thought I’d be the type/to fall, to fall, to fall, to fall to fall. . .”Overboard, Ingrid Michaelson

38 thoughts on “I Used to Dis Robes

  1. Ooh, you’re sassy in your robe! Mine is long and purple and kind of heavy…and I rarely wear it, but occasionally do drag it out. And when I do, I always feel a little bit cozy and a little bit like an old woman. πŸ™‚

  2. It sounds so cute! I’m definitely a robe person, I have a big terry cloth one that goes to the floor and it’s so cozy. My mom bought it for me πŸ™‚

    I’m sure your mom is so proud that the robe she sent you got you some action!

    PS: I wish we worked in the same office. You’d make me smile all day!

  3. I have a lightweight white robe that I use if I’m going swimming or hot tubbing. I have a long black velour robe with cheetah printed cuffs that I keep hanging in bathroom just in case. I rarely ever wear it though. I do not own one of those super soft micro fiber type robes though. I might wear that all the time. I bought a white and pink one for some friends of mine when they got married. I hope they wear them. Cuz they were super snuggly soft.

  4. never met a robe that a guy didn’t like… HA! i have a terrycloth robe with a hood! now talk about comfy-cozy! i still prefer the one at eric’s though – it’s fleece and very soft… :o)

  5. I have a very cozy one… but never think to wear it! Doh. Suppose Mom ever suspected it would be such a hit?

    Now, where’s the picture of your new cut and color? Geez… priorities, girlfriend… πŸ˜‰

  6. Your old night-time attire sounds like mine. But then it got a little chilly last month and I headed on over to Target. Now I sport cute light blue striped flannel PJs with a cool fluffy white robe. Oh, and the robe has a hood. So love it! I’m never going back.

  7. If I had to guess, I’d say the Fella likes the ease at which a robe comes off πŸ™‚

    I wore it for a couple hours enjoying people’s reactions because seriously, sometimes work can be so utterly dull. And besides, I enjoy amusing myself.

    LOL

    Come work for my company and amuse me too, please πŸ™‚

  8. sandra- i like to think i bring some sass to my robe wearing. πŸ˜‰

    tori- try a different robe. it might be the ticket!

    alissa- moms are good for robe giving i guess. i’m pretty sure my mom didn’t have the action in mind when she gave it to me. total bonus! if we can’t work in the same office, at least there is gchat, right?

    carrisa- i’ve heard those microfiber ones are awesome.

    jodi- fleece is so cozy. and yes, robes on girls + guys = chickapowpow time. πŸ™‚

    sue- i am definitely sure that wasn’t my mom’s intention. haha. and cut/color is tonight- hold your horses lady! πŸ™‚

    dagny- this whole business of robes with hoods is news to me. it makes me want a hooded robe!

    TC- yeah, he likes that part most definitely. hee hee.

  9. Did you did-robes in front of the window? πŸ™‚ Glad you found one you like or can at least tolerate the short time you are wearing it. πŸ˜‰

  10. I love people who can spice up the workday afternoon a bit!

    My innocent little robe always sparks some action too. Nothin’ wrong with that, I say.

  11. I like functional robes, the kind that have buttons or snaps. I find that the tie-at-the-waist kind tends to flop off of me. I wear a robe every day when I get out of the shower.

  12. I’d so go out wearing a robe with you.

    I’d need to buy one though. Mine is old and dowdy, and yes, I bought it myself.

    I’d deffo need one that a man would want to take off.

    Oh, shit! Yes I do! It’s purple and slinky, but it only comes to my mid-thigh. Think that would do?

  13. my apartment is frigid so a robe is a necessity. Most of the time, I’m wearing it over jeans and a hoodie so I look like a raving lunatic but at least I’m a warm one…

  14. Hells yeah on the robe thing with the boyfriend visiting. I think they are swell because I suck at drying my back. And I envy The Hef.

    I like Ingrid’s voice.

  15. About six months ago I bought a pretty, girly, printed robe from Anthropologie. I’d never liked wearing them before, but this one makes me so happy. I’ve been a convert ever since!

  16. You don’t want to know that I have five robes….and I live in Southern California, hah!

    When we had roommates they came in sooo handy so now I am just used to throwing one on over my tank and panties in the morning!!

  17. Ah, robes. I never owned one either. Then my guy got us two matching big white terry cloth. I knew then and there that we were the real deal. Been a robe person ever since!

  18. I’m a robe person. I have one that I bought at the Calvin Klein outlet in Carlsbad yeeaaars ago that I still use to this day, and I really need to replace it, but I can’t find one that makes me as happy! It’s a lightweight cotton number that’s (eh-em) *grown* with me through the years, and I’m so sad it’s starting to get little holes in it here and there and the sash is all out of shape!

    I have another one that I bought even longer before that from Cacique, when they existed. (It was like a cheapo Vic’s Secret that usually was found next to a Limited in the mall…)

    My deal with robes is that they MUST go to the ankle or lower. I hate ones that hit mid-calf, and shorty robes are a joke…I’d rather just put on a pair of shorts and be done with it! I can’t find any replacement robes that go to the floor, so I have to keep on keepin’ on with the robes I already have! Hope they keep up with me for a little while longer…

  19. g-man- i had the curtains drawn. what kind of lady do you take me for? πŸ˜‰

    ablogofherown- feeling like royalty, that sounds lovely!

    melissa- if i had known robes=action i would have gotten one sooner!

    fluffycat- this daily robe wearing…i’m new to this.

    eileen- you better bring that slinky number with you to seattle. we’ll wear ours when we go out for a drink!

    em- that’s one hawt visual. πŸ˜‰

    egan- ingrid rocks!

    abbersnail- i heart anthropologie. way to work it! ahem!

    emma- maybe? i will think about it. πŸ˜‰

    hilly- i can see why robes would come in handy with housemates. and you with five? doesn’t surprise me. hee hee.

    angella- soft robes seem to be very popular.

    diane- sounds like love to me!

    faithsista- cacique still exists, at least around here. it’s part of lane bryant. they have some great stuff!

  20. I spent all day today in my pjs. They are fuzzy, and everyone I came across either smiled at me or said they were cute.
    I don’t wear robes, but maybe I should if they’ll get action.

  21. I haven’t owned a robe since my communal bathroom college days. Maybe I need to try it out again. Have a great weekend!

  22. You’re hilarious! I wish I worked with you!

    I always use a robe for my body, and a towel for my hair… but I only use it to dry then take it the hell off πŸ™‚ I don’t wear it around the house!

Comments are closed.