This Post Is Brought To You By the Letter “P”

finn in hat“Hey, Al Bundy? What’s with the hand down the pants?”

He looks up at me. Caught.

“Do you need to go potty?” I ask, using my hand to make the sign simultaneously.

He shakes his head up and down.

“Do you want to go potty in the bathroom?”

He shakes his head yes and walks into the bathroom.

Huh. I don’t know what I am doing. I’ve never potty trained anyone except pets. I guess I’ll just roll with it.

“Do you want to sit on your toilet and go potty?”

Yes his head shake tells me.

Ok then. I’m sure this will be easy enough. I’ll just take off his pants and diaper, position him on his little potty training toilet and hope for the best. We sit. Him on his potty. Me on the edge of the bath tub.

“Are you going potty?” I suppose I’m anxious. Is he really going to pee in there? I shouldn’t ask him so frequently about his peeing. Just let the boy pee in his own time. Sheesh!

He shakes his head yes again. This kid is serious about going potty in the kid toilet.

I get up and grab a diaper then ask him if he is all done, using the sign for it as I say it.

Again with the head shaking and yes.

We get him up and low and behold- He went potty! Sure it was just a mini shot glass of pee but WOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOO my nephew used the potty. We did a high five, fastened his diaper on then put on his pants while we talked about flushing the pee down the big people toilet and washing our hands. The kid loves washing his hands.

I called my sis. Apparently he’s peed in the potty twice before. You’d think he’d won the Nobel Prize the way I was cheering him on but seriously, I was totally excited and proud of the little man.

I never thought I’d get this excited over pee in a potty.

Life’s funny that way.

“Oh, be the music in my head/The air around my bed/Oh, be my rest/Replace the small disgraces of the times and places/That I never really left/Did you leave the darkness without me?/You’re always miles ahead/And you’re standing in tomorrow on the runway/Oh, I want to fly, fly forward into the light/Be alive, to come alive/On the leaf-bright Friday drive/Sudden horses at the red light/Turn around, see clearer ways to go now. . .”Tomorrow On The Runway, The Innocence Mission

33 thoughts on “This Post Is Brought To You By the Letter “P”

  1. Just wait till the first time he pees on you 🙂

    Because he will. And it will be more than once.

    (And cheering is totally necessary and encouraged. Good for the little guy!)

  2. Did you do the pee pee in the potty dance? I always do that dance and sing. Pee pee in the potty. Pee pee in the potty. Pee pee in the potty. Pee pee in the potty. To the tune of the limbo song.

    It seems to work, for me 🙂 …..and all the little people I know.

  3. What I love is when they cheer YOU on for going to the potty!!! My niece did that to my Mom in a department store bathroom and I thought every single woman in the bathroom was going to start cheering too.

  4. Oh yeah, you gotta cheer for the potty. My cousin’s daughter got a PARADE when she went at preschool!
    The way you were setting it up, I was totally waiting for something to go awry–glad he didn’t pee in your face or something equally horrid!

  5. i love how only women have commented on this post. haha! aunties unite! 😉

    so far (knock on wood), i haven’t had to change a poo diaper. it’s like Finn loves me so much he saves those for his parents.

  6. Good job, Finn!!

    I’m twitching because I am still getting over potty training Makenna. I have no desire at all within me to train Paige at this point…

  7. At first I thought you were talking about your boyfriend, sticking his hand down his pants. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

    Hell, I peed in the toilet three times today. No accolades here. Harumph.

  8. You’ve never changed one of his poopy diapers?!?! I don’t think my nephew had left the hospital before I was changing his!

    In fact, if my brother knew I was coming over to watch my nephew, he’d “save” it for me to change. Honestly, when they are little it’s not nearly as bad as when they get older. (Real food and all.)

    But yeah, I agree with all the ones who said wait until he starts cheering you on… and trying to see in the potty while you’re going and asking you all kinds of questions. Oh the fun is only beginning 🙂

  9. Awwwwe….I so love auntie moments like that. I had to go buy the exact same potty chair my niece had at home for when she came for visits…it seems so long ago now, she’s 6.

  10. Woo hoo for going potty on the pot! Except…stupid NerdGirl thought as you talked about hands down his pants that you were talking about the Fella at first!

  11. Here I thought, early on anyway, that this was going to turn into some story about how you caught The Fella with his hand down his pants and decided to torment him by treating him like a baby and he bought into it just to spite you. Alas, there really is a baby involved. Who knew?

    Oh snap. Karl thought the same thing!

  12. Beware of where you sit. I have gotten shot one too many times sitting on the tub across from the potty seat… when I forgot to remind the boy to push that thing down.
    And I love the “good job momma, you peed in the potty.” It is hard to imagine missing potty training, but I kind of do.

  13. I get equally as excited when my two month old puppy goes poop outside, and I hysterically cheer him on and congratulate him profusely.

  14. aw!

    My little brother was getting potty-trained the year I moved away to college. My mom set out his potty in the hallway while we moved all my things in. My brother proceeded to go potty in the hallway. At the tender age of 17, I did not find the situation funny in the least.

    Now I can laugh. But only because I can embarrass my brother with that story >:)

Comments are closed.