I Gave Notice

So I’ve been alluding to some big news. I said I had an interview (on a Sunday, WTH!?). I have gchat status messages that probably raise an eyebrow. She’s going to do what? Run the Best Little Whore House in Seattle? (Thanks for that, Kevin.) What’s “official” Sizz? Quit teasing us you bitch. Ok, ok! Here’s the thing- someone better buy me this:

dare to repair

Because I’m moving. . . AND I have a new (second) job.

I’ve landed a very sweet gig as an Apartment Manager at the former apartment building of my sister and brother-in-law (as well as birth place of Finn) thanks to the recommendation of friends. These friends have been the Apartment Managers for 4 years and because they are moving back to California were in need of a trusty replacement. That’s where I come in. So what does it all mean? It means that I will live rent-free in a super cool second floor apartment in exchange for managing the building. But what does that mean? It means I have to keep the common areas clean and orderly, that I manage tenant issues and keep the peace, that I fix broken stuff or find someone and pay them to fix really broken stuff, that I rent out apartments and do all those manager type things.

I get to be all super organized and clean, use my interpersonal communication/diplomacy skills and get to be all manager-like and in charge.

I know! Can you believe it? It’s SO me!

I currently pay close to $900 in rent. With this move and new job, I’ll be able to save money towards buying my very own house! I asked the Universe to guide me towards a new job. . . I guess I wasn’t that specific because now I have two jobs. πŸ˜‰ But that’s ok- I’m totally excited for the opportunity and think I will make a rockin’ Apartment Manager. Being able to save money and actually not live paycheck-to-paycheck in freakin’ financial fear, finally, will probably make me into an entirely different person. Watch for subtle changes. Or funny anecdotes about the building and tenants. You know it will be really good blog fodder.

It actually hasn’t really sunk in. I. Am. Moving. I am going to manage a 29 unit apartment building. Woah!

56 thoughts on “I Gave Notice

  1. How cool. I hope you are in a cool old building with great updated plumbing and electrical. On Barbary Lane. Good Luck!!

  2. Congrats! What great news! You deserve this awesome opportunity!

    (ditto to NerdGirl – if I lived in an apartment I would wish you were my manager!)

  3. Wow, that is such great news! Seriously awesomeness :).

    Don’t think for one second that I have not thought about how this could benefit me in the future, quite possibly. More to come later ;0.

  4. Congrats on the new job. I just hope you don’t overdo it. (I’m NOT trying to be negative.) It is a lot of work (this is coming from experience – I managed 32 apartments for 3 years).

    Be careful. Don’t push yourself too hard.

    Big hugs.

  5. That is so cool. And this is a gig that you can do AND keep your other job? Even better. Now you can save up for a dream wedding. (you hear that Fella?!?!)

  6. Wow- that sounds like a great opportunity and a big undertaking! There was a recent “This American Life” about “the Super” that might be fitting for you to listen to now. Congrats!

  7. I still say it’s a house of ill repute! Just maintain a second set of books and remember to file your income taxes every year regardless. That’s what brought down Capone.

    Seriously, though, I’m happy for you!

  8. Congrats Sizzle! How awesome that you live rent free! You asked the universe and it answered…sooo cool. πŸ™‚ Can you ask the universe when I’ll find Mr. Right? lol

  9. wow! that’s great news! congrats! for some reason, the show ‘melrose place’ comes to mind (i miss that show) (and 90210) (and felicity, while we’re at it)… can’t wait to hear more about it! :o)

  10. This sounds like a great deal. I love it when the universe answers our requests. Especially when it all plays out in a way that you’d never have expected. Congrats!!

  11. Wow, Wicked cool gig!!!! And you get to have keys to everyones apartment, you can see how they REALLY live. πŸ™‚ Congrats, sock away the $$$. I can hook you up with my financial guy if you like.

  12. Kudos to you Sizzle! What a wonderful opportunity! Looking forward to hearing future tenant tales πŸ™‚ You’ll kinda be like Schneider from ‘One Day At A Time’ – time to go toolbelt shopping LOL

  13. I think that’s awesome. And I think you should make every tenant subscribe to your blog … otherwise they get busted to the end of the line when making complaints! πŸ™‚

  14. So awesome! And it really reinforces my thing that if you ask for what you need, even if you jut put it out to the universe, you will get it.

    Congratulations!

  15. Congrats!!! So very happy for you. And you soo deserve this Sizzle. You’re going to be an awesome Apartment Manager.

Comments are closed.