A Walk In The Park

The Fella and I spent Saturday with my nephew. Our plan was to go to the zoo, get dinner and then hang out with him while my sister went to a friend’s 30th birthday party and my brother-in-law was out of town for work. We picked him up and loaded him (and the stroller and the diaper bag and snacks and toys) into the car. Fifteen minutes later. . .

tall

“Finn? Are you ready to go to the zoo?”

His response? “Zzzzzzzzz.”

Uh. . . I guess not. So we kept driving for an hour just letting him sleep. During the drive The Fella looks back at him and says,

“If I had ovaries they would hurt. Look at how sweet he looks.Finn is such a good boy. ”

“I’m the one with the actual ovaries and yet, I feel no pangs. But yes, he is a verytall2 good boy.”

“He hardly ever cries or fusses.”

“Oh he does but not that much. You just wait. It’s not all animal crackers and walks in the park.”

Fast-forward five hours when our movie is interrupted by a crying boy who startled himself awake after only sleeping an hour and a half. After 20-30 minutes of general soothing, bopping around and shooshing, he fell asleep again and I returned to a stricken Fella.

See? Told ya.

34 thoughts on “A Walk In The Park

  1. First, CUTE pictures!

    Second, reality is so sobering when it comes to the kiddos. I can be high on the fun and the cute about 98% of the time, but that 2% is quite noticeable. πŸ™‚

  2. Funny how your roles are seemingly reversed! Sweets is a total sucker for the kids (heck, he works with them and does such a great job). And while I want children, I do not feel the biological forces at work. Sometimes I think it’s better that way, because when the time is right, I’m not going to put myself through undue stress to get pregnant. When it happens, it happens.

  3. Great photos.

    Similar story: Right after Christmas some friends (and their three small children) came to visit. We met them at a kid-friendly restaurant, where my husband held their five-month-old son the entire time, playing with him, feeding him, definitely getting the pangs. After eating and letting the kids play, we all decided to go back to our house. On the way their my husband went on and on AND ON about how cute and well-behaved the kids were.

    The second they hit our living room it was like the kids were possessed. The screamed and threw fits and generally freaked out for an hour and a half. THe baby was cute for a little longer than the older two, but by the end, he was screaming, too.

    Needless to say, my husband hasn’t had many pangs since then.

  4. My niece makes my ovaries ache sometimes…then she fusses and they get back to normal. She’s not a particularly fussy baby either, but it doesn’t take much “free birth control” to realize what happens when your ovaries get too achy.

  5. Very cute pictures! Just keep reminding the fella that ALL little kiddies are cute…when they’re asleep ;o)
    Also, as mine reach terrible-teen-time, he may need reminding that they don’t stay little and cute for too long!

  6. I love that photo. Sleeping babies make my heart all squishy.

    They don’t make my ovaries ache, though, because I have put my ovaries into retirement πŸ˜‰

  7. My ovaries hurt from Finn pics πŸ™‚

    Adorable.

    Sometimes I like that crying and soothing time just as much as the fun times: I ❀ the cuddle.

  8. wow..you got him back to sleep. Nice work.

    We’ve got a pretty good kid too, but If he wakes up, forget the movie..there’s no getting him back down.

  9. I don’t have ovaries myself, but I tried them one I think at a Chinese restaurant. I don’t recommend them.

    Was it the 20-30 minutes that had him “stricken”? As in, how long it took?

  10. Oh yes Sizzle, the good time are always balanced out by the times where you find yourself in a corner grabbing out handfuls of hair because a child doesn’t want to eat the meal you took 30 minutes to prepare…because they requested that same meal specifically.

    You know, and other general, non-specific episodes like that.

  11. Dude. This speaks to me in so many ways. Spending EVERY DAY with children is so much different than just substitute teaching them on days I felt like it. Grade 2 children are not nearly as charming when you see them everyday and clean up their vomit.

    Yet, I still adore them.

    And could Finn be any cuter? I think not.

  12. Tell me (and yes, I am sure you already posted about this, but I cant remember) where in the heck did you find this guy? It is like you won the lottery twice or something. He is definitely a keeper. And as much as I have a blog crush on you Sizz, I definitely could not compete with him! =)

  13. So cute!

    I only have one ovary, but the pictures make me want more kids. I already have 4 kids and am done but I just love babies/kids so much I would have more if I could. I mean, I probably wouldn’t actually have more even if I could, but it is like getting tattoos…very addictive. Kids are the best thing in the world for me!

  14. Awww so cute! Great to see you’re back posting by the way πŸ™‚

    I get achy ovaries a lot – stupid over-excited maternal instincts hehe.

  15. Finn makes my ovaries hurt, but not enough to try again.
    Love the pics and the fact you guys got to spend such a sweet day together.

Comments are closed.