Looks Like We Made It

I fell asleep at 9:30pm last night. My thighs hurt. My back is out of whack. I’m $300 more broke than I was on Saturday. My cats are spazzing. But we are here and our new home is awesome.

CONS

  • No overhead lighting in the living room or bedroom.
  • A dishwasher that doesn’t work.
  • A toilet that’s a little wibbly wobbly.
  • A bathroom sink that doesn’t drain.
  • Windows without screens.
  • Upstairs neighbor entertaining guests on a Sunday night until the wee hours. I was woken up by laughter and a loud thud at 2:10am.
  • A building maintenance room that makes the Type A organizer in me shudder.
  • 4 floors of carpeted hallways and stairs desperately in need of vacuuming.

PROS

  • Driveway parking space for the Manager (that’s me!).
  • Movers rule. They hauled butt and were awesome.
  • Bigger kitchen with lots of counter space.
  • Internet access paid for in phone bill.
  • Larger living room.
  • Huge hall closet.
  • Mailbox inside the building (yay for deliveries!).
  • Hole under cabinets that is apparently big enough to fit a cat. (That’s where Dash spent his first seven hours here.)
  • Lots of light during the day and a view of the city.
  • Garbage disposal.
  • Free storage unit.
  • $1 coin operated washer and dryer.
  • Less than 5 blocks to the grocery store. 2 blocks to the pet store and my bank.

Pictures will follow once this place doesn’t look like a cardboard graveyard.

P.S. I have over 100 new posts in my Google Reader right now. If I don’t comment for a couple days, I have not forgotten you. Also? Please send a masseuse, stat!

53 thoughts on “Looks Like We Made It

  1. Congrats on accomplishing the move.

    I was just thinking, oh you can call the super about all those problems like the sink. Hah, ooops. I will tell you my secret, extra strength Drano. That gets out the biggest clogs.

  2. Can’t wait for pictures. With the stuff wrong in your apartment, at least you are in good with the manager πŸ˜‰

    Glad there are more positives than negatives. Have fun unpacking and making it your home.

  3. Welcome to your new place! I need lots of light, so having no overheads in the bedroom or living room would irritate me. Definitely need to buy some floor lamps. Love lots of natural light, too, so that’s a bonus. And pro movers? Oh yeah, that’s the way to go. Seven years and just as many moves taught me that.

  4. Hooray for being moved in! Good luck getting the issues fixed – now’s your chance to test your skills…either at fixing it yourself or negotiating good prices with the local plumbers, electricians, etc.

  5. Oh, don’t worry about those mainenence items… the manager will take care of it. Oops… πŸ˜‰ (sorry, couldn’t resist)

    Have fun settling in…!

  6. Congrats!!! I’m looking forward to pics, too. We moved in November, and I despise the cardboard graveyard! Good luck with all that unpacking (booooo!). πŸ™‚

  7. good luck with this new place/job. I imagine you’re going to hella busy trying to make it the best place possible, but you’ll do it. Quite envious of your parking spot. I want a picture of that.

    a hundred post in your reader…
    I’m even more behind – something like 512 at this moment. that’s what I get for going to Disneyland instead of vegging in front of the laptop.

  8. Go on with your bad self, Sister! Such a great feeling. And you are so lucky that you are within walking distance to shops – I am green with envy, in the best way possible, of course!

    PS – Don’t tell anyone that we moved in November and we still have cardboard boxes left to unpack. They taunt me in my dreams. I guess I would have to say I am more of a type B+. Ahem.

  9. Glad it’s all over and it sounds like you have earned a massage when you get your first “rent-free” month of expenses:) Are you still in the same area as your old place?

  10. Woohoo, glad you survived the move. I love packing…hate, un-packing, too much thought needs to go into it. Hmmm…probably why I still have boxes in my garage storage. Happy decorating!

  11. You survived moving? Congratulations! You seem to be handling it with much more grace than I ever have.

    (I’ve recently decided that I can never break up with the Captain because I can’t look at another stack of boxes again.)

  12. Wait, wha…? You’re an apartment manager now? Is that like being an RA, but in grown up land?

    P.S. What can I get you for a house warming gift?

  13. Dude, I’m so behind.

    So I gather you moved, you’re an apartment manager now, and you’re finally able to wash your clothes? πŸ™‚

    Movers do rule. if movers could perform major medical procedures, we’d cut down on hospital stays 85%. They’d be coming out to the car, delivering babies in the parking lot.

  14. Two comments– One, don’t let Dash go under those cupboards. There might be Mouse-Proof or some kind of poison under there.

    Secondly, with a window right by an alleyway, you may want to consider putting some sort of bars up on the window. We had a window by a sidewalk one time, and more than once they nearly came thru the bushes and into our window. Our barking/growling dog was maybe the only impetus they had NOT to fall into our house! It was scarey, having people in that kind of invasion proximity.

    I’m glad the cable is installed, and DVR is now functional. Back to the happier points of living, right?;-)

Comments are closed.