No Rest For The Weary

I had an entirely different post planned for today but I am not in the mood for it. I’m rather moody and introspective and I can’t stop harping on certain things in my head. I have had the past three days off from work to adjust to the move and frankly, I’m not ready to return today. This working two jobs is exhausting- mentally and physically. This is how last night went:

9:30 After watching American Idol (I don’t really like any of the girls and Amanda looked like Bonnie Tyler with that hair do last night), I put on my pjs*, get into bed to call The Fella and then finish my book.

10:15 Retrieve voicemail from tenant claiming there is a very strong odor of gas in the hallway.

10:16 Put on bra, sweatpants and fleece. Go to investigate smell thinking to myself. . . what do I do if we DO smell gas? I guess we call the gas company.

10:17 Smell nothing peculiar in hall. Knock on said tenants door. She tells me she’s called the emergency line at the gas company and that they are coming out to check the building.

10:19 Start to think I had no clue as to what I was getting into when I signed up for this gig.

10:20 Return to bedroom, change into pjs, finish final pages of book, turn off light to try to fall asleep.

10:45 Half-asleep, am woken up by knocking at door. Get up, turn on light, change into sweatpants and fleece, skipping the bra. I’m too tired for such politeness.

10:46 Open door and find gas tech who tells me there is a leak outside our building. He’s putting in an order to have it repaired which will mean turning off the gas in the entire building for an hour and then two hours of going to each apartment to relight heaters and stoves. I’m thinking, when in the hell am I going to take time off work to accommodate that? Since it’s not dire, we’re looking at Monday. Awesome.

11:00 Change back into pjs, turn off light, lie in bed wondering what in the hell I got myself into, struck with the realization that I just might be forced to wear a bra to bed.

(Addendum) Woke up at 2:30 for no reason. Woke up at 4:45 to cats who discovered bag of catnip in an unpacked box. Woke up at 5:30 to a nightmare in a cold sweat.

*PJs last night consisted of tank top and pj bottom shorts. Totally not suitable for public viewing. I think I’m going to need to invest in some new pjs.

38 thoughts on “No Rest For The Weary

  1. Good thing you have a robe now–you’re going to need one to throw on at a moment’s notice!

    After last night’s disappointing Idol show, only to have all that craap happen? Ooogh. I’m sorry. Rough night for sure.

  2. Yikes. Let’s hope this does not become the norm for you.

    Why is it we can never feel refreshed and excited to go back to work with a renewed energy after not being there? It just reinforces my belief that we were not genetically wired to go to work every day. But maybe that’s just me.

  3. oh dear. but you just knew you’d have some catastrophe to deal with in your first week, didn’t you? just god keeping you on your toes 😉

    i hope it all calms soon!

  4. Gah, what a mess. I hope that’s the worst of it, and it’s easy, time-appropriate things from here on out. Ok, that’s probably a ridiculous thought, but I’m hoping for the best.

  5. Sometimes I think new things are intentionally hard at first so that we can conquer the roughest parts and the rest feels like smooth sailing.
    Good luck. Definitely wear the robe and maybe get some curlers too, just so you can really look the landlady part!

  6. Ugh. No fun. Reminds me of my days of being a RA in college. Only gassy smells were replaced with puking freshmen. Give yourself a little more time to get into a routine. And map out a “what to do” in case these situations arise again!

  7. I agree- hopefully you will fall into more of a routine, and next time, you’ll know what to do in case of a gas smell. Is there someone you can call to ask about these things, at least in the beginning? Sorry last night was so rough…and you’re right, American Idol was awful (I’ve decided the only way to watch it is to record it, and then fast forward through the particularly bad songs and interview packages). Hang in there!

  8. I think Nilsa hit the nail on the head: tennants are going to be like needy college students. Especially as it sounds kind of like the place had been slightly run down up until this point. Are you the ONLY person doing this? Or is there someone else in one of the other buildings in the complex you could maybe arrange to have a night off?

  9. Oh, hun… it will get better. First off, you are so organized you’re going to get all the things that are irritating you taken care of in record time (the phone, the maintence room, etc.) and you will get those tenant whipped into shape in no time. Then it will fall into more of a routine and won’t be so taxing for you on a day to day basis.

  10. I agree with others, it will get better.

    I read once that wearing a bra while you sleep makes your boobs perkier, but I actually think it will be the opposite.

    What I usually do is throw a loose sweatshirt on over things when I don’t feel like wearing one.

  11. I am confident that you are going to get everything so organized that it will get tons better. I know you are questioning what you got yourself into now, but I think a few months down the road you will be glad you made the move.

  12. I’m not a big fan of sleeping in lots of clothes, but when I’m on duty I usually keep a pair of yoga pants and a soft cotton bra next to my bed. That way I can wake up and throw them on super quick and don’t have to scramble to get them first.

    The good news is that it happened between 10-11 and not 2-3 in the morning! 🙂

  13. Gas leak, huh? Now see, out here you call the gas company and the fire department so you get those sexy firemen showing up too.

    Find the silver lining, I say!

  14. Well that’s one thing not to mess around with, bad gas. I hope it’s not too much of inconvenience. I really enjoy the play-by-play on the bra front. Maybe you should start a Twitter account for your bra, I’m just sayin’.

  15. What a nice apartment manager you are! I had an actual gas leak INSIDE my apartment and my manager wouldn’t even return my phone call. Then I had to threaten to sue the owner before they finally replaced it, incorrectly, with an unqualified technician. Next time I move I want you for my manager!

  16. My suggestion is to invest in a heavy robe and a pair of sturdy steel-toed combat boots.

    – The robe is to throw over yourself when you get those late night visitors and possibly have to leave the confines of your apartment.

    – The boots are to kick someone’s ass for waking you up for something trivial and (hopefully) discourage them from coming to you ‘after hours’ again.

  17. I usually shower at night and sleep in a bra so that I don’t have to wrangle myself into one in the morning. How is that for pathetic??

  18. Sleep in your clothes?
    Hopefully, this is just an unimpressive start to a spectacular career and life move.
    Or, always keep wine on hand.
    I have 2 jobs and am finishing my University online. It’s not for the faint of heart. It’s hard to adjust at the beginning Sizzle, but you can do it. I have no doubt whatsoever.
    Hang in there.

  19. I’m in the robe camp. I reckon if people are going to come knocking at ungodly hour they get whatever ungodly visions in the night.

    I don’t envy you this gig… hang in there.

  20. At least no one lit a match…

    More “positive” thoughts:

    Any job you have after this one will seem easy in comparison

    You’ll have great blog material in the short term

    Stories to tell at parties for years to come

    And after a while, there will be no event that you’re not equipped to handle. You’ll emerge from this with so much confidence. Super Sizzle!!!!!

  21. I like to look at the positive side of things. At least the whole place didn’t blow in the first week you were there. THAT would be hard to explain. lol! Sounds like you’re being a great/patient super. Hang in there!

Comments are closed.