Paint a Pretty Picture

My friend RayLo and I had started in earnest the day before outlining the windows and doorways with blue tape. We slapped up the “stoneware crock” yellow on three out of four walls before the light left us and I was blatantly reminded that my new apartment, while cute and charming, comes with no overhead lighting in the living or bed rooms. Thus ended our painting endeavor for the day.

The next day, realizing that I needed to not only use all available daylight but that I was also low on paint (this was a two coat job), I got up early and ventured back to the store. There was a new guy working at the counter and he was full of questions. Satin? Semi-gloss? Matte? What kind of finish did I want? Well I don’t know because the other guy just mixed the paint for me without any inquiries. And here I was without the first paint can. I ventured a guess and, subsequently, second-guessed myself all the way home.

The first can was matte. The second can was satin. My idea, after a mini-panic attack, was to make the best of a bad situation and finish using all the matte paint up as a sort of primer and then slap the satin finish up for the top coat. I’m a smartie after I get over my initial spazzing. Sometimes.

I’d agreed to let The Fella help me finish the paint job. I was worried though. We’re a lot alike- impetuous, opinionated, bossy, impatient and perfectionistic. I wasn’t convinced we’d be able to work together without an argument or hurt feelings. The trepidation was tangible and yet, we said we’d give it a shot.

The Fella arrived and we, on our best behavior, got to work. We were as careful with our tone as we were with our paint brushes. This was a delicate matter. Could we keep from getting cranky with each other? Could we be cooperative and have fun? Could we finish before the day light left us?

I’m happy to report that we passed with flying colors and the room is a delicious soft yellow that reminds me of cake batter and makes me want to lick it. (I won’t.) Success number one towards making this place my home. Pictures will come when it’s suitable for viewing.

(Make it stop! I can’t get this song out of my head!) “Darling for so long/You and me been finding each other for so long/And the feeling that I feel for you is more then strong girl/Take it from me/If you give a little more then you’re asking for/Your love will turn the key. . .” -I Just Want To Be Your Everything, Bee Gees

30 thoughts on “Paint a Pretty Picture

  1. Ever had cake batter gelato? The place across the street from my office sells it, and you have made me crave it. thanks a lot.

  2. Yep, I have had the same song going through my head…. it is from American Idol. I can’t wait to see pics of your new place. Make sure to take pics of the view too!!!

  3. Well, I know painting is a whole different ballgame, but I always enjoy coloring with someone. I find it very relaxing and conducive to pleasant conversation.

    I mean, enjoyed.

  4. Ooh, yes, post pictures! I have the same (?) color in my kitchen, and I love it! Well, on two of the walls, anyway. But glad you and the fella were able to work together! When my ex and I did any sort of home improvements together, there was always a plethora of cursing.

  5. i enjoyed painting eric’s living room but think if i didn’t ‘push’ him to do so, his house would remain white forever! whats up with no color, guys? anyway, sorry to hear you’re sick too – what a crappy winter! feel better soon! :o)

  6. Ah, yellow is the best. I have 3 rooms that are mainly some sort of yellow. Hey, it’s FL, makes me think sunshine. At least I didn’t go with salmon and lime green… a favorite combo down here. I’m impressed with the ability you two have to paint together. I gave up painting at 30. F**k it, I suck at it, he sucks at it, together it’s a nightmare.

  7. Man, the Fella REALLY DIGS YOU to paint a room with you without cursing and fighting. Mr. Mom and I have been married for 17 years and we just painted our first room together a year ago.

    Can’t wait to see photos!

    Mayberry Magpie

  8. Hurray for paint! I never know what to say when it comes to the whole matte/gloss/semigloss/satin thing – it’s ridiculous!

    Your idea is much better than the one that immediately jumped to my mind – which was to mix it all together and cross your fingers! 🙂

  9. mm..I think I’m going to go make me some cake batter.

    Amazing what a new coat of paint can do for a place, eh. Glad it all turned out ok.

  10. My husband and I can’t paint together–at all. We operate best with complete division of responsibilities in all tasks. We share everything and we share nothing!

  11. I really really like you, you know that right? I can not get that song to stop playing in my head now!

    I can’t wait to see what the color looks like! I’m glad you were able to do it together. My in-laws always say that is the true test of a relationship!

  12. I dmir you for something else now – the ability to paint with someone else in the room 🙂 I waited till Rhino was out of town to spruce his place up. I work alone baby.
    I want pics!!!

Comments are closed.