You Do The Math

Guess what?

My delayed tax refund finally arrived. All $497 of it.

AND

My hospital bill came. All $524.75 of it.

Oh sweet irony! How you bite me in the arse!

But seriously, from a feng shui perspective there’s got to be too much clutter in my financial corner, right? Where IS my financial corner anyhow? Maybe I need to realign my chi or do a handstand in the center of my home or something cuz all this crazy monkey money business is boggling my mind. (I hope I don’t have to do a handstand. I find them impossible, just like cartwheels.)

I’m sure it’s not the wisest financial move to prioritize purchasing a couch and dresser over paying off my hospital bill and yet, that’s exactly what I want to do. And last night I bit the bullet and paid for the material that will someday become my curtains. I’m thinking by June I’ll be ready to show you guys photos. Ok. Maybe May.

What? I’m a perfectionist like that.

“The little cracks they escalated/And before you know it is too late/For making circles and telling lies/You’re moving too fast for me/And I can’t keep up with you/Maybe if you’d slowed down for me/I could see you’re only telling/Lies, lies, lies/Breaking us down with your/Lies, lies, lies/When will you learn/So plant the thought and watch it grow/Wind it up and let it go .Β  . .” -Lies, Glen Hansard (from Once)

34 thoughts on “You Do The Math

  1. I’d probably go for the couch. Isn’t there another check coming to you thanks to the recently passed economic stimulus package? Of course, that title alone dictates you should also spend it on something other than the hospital bill. It’s your patriotic duty, after all.

  2. Smart move – not that it will get to this point, but more as an FYI – hospital bills do not have a negative effect on your credit rating. I’m just saying.

  3. Don’t go doing any handstands because then? You might just end up with another hospital bill! Me, I would probably put half towards the bill and half towards making my home pretty. But, that’s just me.

  4. Oh, for sure you should buy the fun stuff instead of paying all of the bill off. You want your place to feel like home; that’s like preventative medicine anyway.

  5. soon as you find you financial feng Shui, please send word ASAP.
    I have already planned for and finish spending my check-the one that’s coming in may.

  6. Gah! Isn’t that always the way? I little extra money comes it and it’s like all bill collectors KNOW you’re anticipating it. Sucks!!

    I will need to be let in on the financial feng shui as well.

    kthxbi!

  7. Looks like a couple others beat me to the hospital payment recommendation. Give their billing department a call, set up a payment schedule, and no worries! πŸ™‚

  8. As someone who works for a collection agency where the majority of our business is medical collections… I still say go buy you some furniture!

    Make payments on the hospital bill.

    And I freaking love it when you put Glen Hansard lyrics on your blog. I want to make out with him.

  9. Because, my dear Sizzle, you can make payments on the hospital bill. And I know about the Couch Need. It was not ok at Casa del Kaply when all I had to sit on was a wooden stool and an air mattress. Not ok to a surprising extent.

  10. I guess you don’t want to hear about my list then. It starts with car repairs followed by paying off dental bills and then followed by purchase of couch. Because occasionally I like to behave like the responsible person my mother thinks I should be. But I’m not saving it.

  11. Gotta love it when that happens with the bills. I think you made a good choice with putting it towards the home decor. Happy home = happy heart… or, something like that, right?

  12. Oh yeah, our tax return was out of our bank account as soon as it went in there…and not for anything fun, either.

  13. I hate when I have a bill(s) that I need to pay off but instead of doing just that when I get extra money I want to blow it on something like clothes or a piece of furniture.

    I so undertand your dilema. lol

  14. I would do the same… and not feel guilty! Your interior set up has a large effect on your mental health in the long run! It’s an investment πŸ˜‰

  15. I would ahve bought the couch and the material for the curtains too Sizzle.
    My philosophy? It’s your money the gov’t has been holding all year and did they pay you interest? No.
    So, just consider it a lost paycheque.
    The Hospital will always be there.
    At least you’ll have somewhere to sit and something to cover the windows when you dance around naked.
    All about the priorities.

  16. I hate it when that happens. Getting a tax return which your bills over exceed? Not fun, not fun at all.
    I can’t do cartwheels for the life of me either.

  17. At least you got your Christmas decorations put away… oh, yeah, you moved… πŸ˜‰

    It does always seem to work that way.

  18. I can’t believe it took that long to get your check.

    I totally feel your pain. I found out about my refund yesterday. Amazingly, it’s the exact amount I need to pay my contractor that my insurance company is not covering on the fire.

    Mayberry Magpie

Comments are closed.