Lesson #1 Learned

So remember how I said I rented that vacant unit within the first 5 days of being the apartment manager? Remember how it had sat available for two months prior to that? Remember how I was so proud that I swooped in and rented it to this nice lady?

Yeah. . . about that.

She mentioned to me when she was checking out the place that she was separating from her husband. I felt sympathy for her as that can’t be an easy thing to do no matter the circumstances. I wanted to help her out. She hasn’t lived here an entire month and (you probably know where this is going) she is breaking her lease to reunite with her husband.

While I am happy for her if this is a positive decision for her marriage, I am a bit put out because now I have to re-rent the place. That means being more on-call again. Just when I was starting to think things were settling in nicely. That my routine was getting solidified. That I had a bit of a break to actually settle into my own apartment.

Luckily, the response has been favorable and hopefully out of the 5 people I’ve shown it to one of them will be the right fit. And I have learned a valuable lesson about being too nice, too sympathetic, too soft. Is this job going to make me hardened around the edges?

31 thoughts on “Lesson #1 Learned

  1. Sometimes being too nice is okay…granted, it is an inconvenience for you but maybe it affects other people more than you know.

    Then again, I’m a cynical bitch…

  2. huh. btw, don’t let your mother use your computer for blogging and save her as the default. She’s not the cynical bitch, I am. lol.

  3. Don’t let the apartments make you hardened, that’s what life, love and working are for 😉

    I kid, I kid. Seriously, it was nice of you to let her out. I just hope it works out for her because that all seems to have happened very quickly for her. Wow, this seems like a real life version of The Sims or something.

  4. Is she paying to break her lease? I don’t know the law in Washington state but in Texas you have to pay to break your lease.

    I hope you are able to rent the place soon. Good rental vibes…..

  5. Sadly, it does harden you. I’ve been burned by the very people I bent over backwards for trying to accommodate because I felt sorry for them. Siiigh. Sorry for the doom and gloom, but I’m evicting someone (I once thought was so very sweet) as we speak. 😦

  6. I think it can harden you, but maybe in a good way. To explain: I worked retail and used to take things SO personally. Every rude, jackazz of a customer was rude to ME on purpose. I learned to toughen myself to that and let it go. So I think you can find a good balance between nice/sympathetic and taking care of yourself.

  7. I hope it doesn’t harden you. Although I am a firm believer that things happen for a reason and if this job and all it entails has come your way, it just be that you needed to go throught the experience… just a thought.

  8. Wanting the best for people is a great characteristic. You just have to remember to want the best for yourself, too. So, choosing good tenants (without breaking equal housing opportunity laws) is in your own best interest, too. A win-win situation for sure!

  9. You’ll just be a little more aware of consequences, I think. And you should make her pay to break the lease- if you don’t rent it, you can charge her the term of the lease.

    Man, I’m mean.

  10. I know it doesn’t help but you did a good thing. This woman has been having a tough time and she will remember your kindness. What goes around comes around, it’ll be your turn next :o)

  11. I am having a hard time not being nice all the time. If I have to keep working with someone (different than your situation, I know), I want our relationship to be a friendly one.

    But I am working on that. I don’t want to be a pushover.

  12. I don’t think it will make you hardened around the edges. Likely you will be one of the few caring landlords. Now about this apartment, is it in Seattle? 😉

  13. Well, you really couldn’t have known when that would happen. If, maybe, but not when.
    I don’t think you’ll be hardened by it all. People are unpredictable, this we already know.

  14. While I’m sorry you’re having to go thru the renting process again – Sizzle hardened???? Not possible where I come from.

  15. Living in NYC made me hard around the edges and I’m working really hard to soften up now that I’m in Cali.

  16. Yes. Yes. Yes.

    I recently interviewed a woman who was in the middle of a divorce. I felt sorry for her, too. Fortunately, someone up the food chain had better sense than me and said “Never hire someone in the middle of a divorce. Bad deal.” I suspect she’s right. Does that make me hard and crusty, too?

    Mayberry Magpie

  17. Everything happens for a reason. Maybe somebody else needs that apartment more than she did. Maybe someone needs to cross paths with you!

    Think positive 😉

  18. Yikes… I thought I was losing my friggin’ mind!!! Glad Em cleared that up… I never thought I was THAT cynical. LOL!

Comments are closed.