My Weekend Starts Now

In just a few short hours, The Fella and I will be on our way to Cannon Beach, OR ocbn our first-ever trip together. We’re both fantastically excited to get away, to see the sites, to test out the jacuzzi tub and basically forget all our troubles.

We’re staying at Sea Sprite on the Estuary with ocean views and have reservations for dinner at Wayfarer Restaurant (thanks for the tip Kerri Anne). Saturday we will drive 101 along the coast to arrive at Tillamook where we will eat our weight in cheese and fudge and spend the rest of the trip recovering from a lactose overload (I jest, I hope). Neither of us have ever visited Cannon Beach but we hear great things. There are sites to be seen and majestic scenery to absorb. We are ready for an adventure.

I am longing for the sight and sound of waves crashing on the shore, for some time to unwind, not be in charge, not carry the weight of problems that are not my burden, for a little peace and a little quiet and some quality time with my love.

Life has felt very heavy lately, whether I have spoken of it here or not.

I am ready to float.

“I’m in the habit of being alone/I try hard to break it I can’t on my own/I’m glad no one’s here just me by the sea/I’m glad no one’s here to mess it up for me/I’m glad no one’s here just me by the sea/But man, I wish I had a hand to hold…” – Me By The Sea, Edi Brickell & The New Bohemians

52 thoughts on “My Weekend Starts Now

  1. I love cannon beach and the oregon coast… there is something about the ocean that is so relaxing. Have a great time with the fella.

  2. You guys have a great, great time!!!
    Ah, I fondly remember my first trip to Tillamook as a child. Seriously, at the time, I enjoyed it as much as Disneyland.

    Enjoy the weekend!!!

  3. Dude, make sure you pick up some cheese curds at Tillamook. They squeak when you chew ’em! Can’t wait to see your pics when you return!

    (So weird that we’re both in Oregon this weekend!)

  4. Yeah for road trips! Sweets LOVES Tillamook cheese. I’m pretty sure he bought a couple more bricks just the other day! And you know how I could tell things were iffy for you lately? You’ve been ignoring your music quotes. Glad to see them back. Have a great weekend!

  5. At the far south end of Cannon Beach strip, across from the Tolovana beach parking lot (nice wide long beach btw,) there’s a great pub called Warren House Pub. Highly recommend.

    Also, for breakfast, tucked in behind the bookstore on the main drag is a little cafe called the Lazy Susan Cafe. Yum!

    Have fun!

  6. Have a fantastic time! and you don’t even have to come back to blog about your trip. Just concentrate on having fun.

    Take care.

  7. Dude, have fun on your vacation. But lookout for that jacuzzi- I have historically made some…interesting decisions under it’s influence.

    The booze had NOTHING to do with it.

  8. Hopefully it’s a long drive from where you reside.

    I believe that’s the best way to know you’re compatible with someone; take a long car ride somewhere together.

    If you can stand being in a confined space with them for several hours at a time and you still want to be with them, it’s a winner.

  9. getaways help to restore the spirit and soul – enjoy!

    i try for one every couple of months. that reminds me that i’m due for one again…!!

  10. I just love Cannon Beach. I used to go as often as possible when I lived in Tacoma.

    Have a wonderful, restful, trip.

  11. I love driving down the 101 and Cannon Beach is so beautiful! You will have a great time. I love Tillamook Cheddar and their ice cream is yummy, too! Have a safe and fun trip!!!

  12. oh how i miss the NW! You are going to GREAT places. Can’t wait to see pics and see how it was. The Tillamook factory is a must, GO CHEESE!

  13. WOWZA you have a lot of responses. don’t know if you will even get this, but have fun on your trip! sounds like its well deserved. reminds me of an e e cummings poem, “maggie millie mollie and may” – check it out some time and let me know what you think.

    bon voyage.

  14. Cheeeeeeeeeeeeeese! Nom Nom Nom.
    Can’t wait to hear how Cannon Beach is, I really want to hit the Oregon Coast one of these days. Have a great weekend.

  15. You deserve some “floating” time Sizzle. Enjoy the sights, the sounds, the food and the hot tub.
    Have a fantastic trip 🙂

  16. Hope you had a great weekend! It’s pretty down there and I love the ocean. I stayed nearby at Seaside and it was fun. Give us pics and details when your return.

  17. This all sounds wonderful. 🙂 I hope you have a good time, getting away from it all and floating.

Comments are closed.