Spring Is In the World

I am boundlessly happy today. Some reasons:

1) Spring has finally sprung in Seattle (I’m wearing a skirt and t-shirt and the sun is shining gloriously).

2) I am going to hear the Dalai Lama speak today.

3) A couch will be purchased and in my living room by the end of the weekend.

It is National Poetry Month. Here’s one of my favorites from one of my all time favorites.

since feeling is first
who pays any attention
to the syntax of things
will never wholly kiss you;
wholly to be a fool
while Spring is in the world

my blood approves,
and kisses are a better fate
than wisdom
lady i swear by all flowers. Don’t cry
–the best gesture of my brain is less than
your eyelids’ flutter which says

we are for each other: then
laugh, leaning back in my arms
for life’s not a paragraph

And death i think is no parenthesis

-e.e. cummings

23 thoughts on “Spring Is In the World

  1. Pingback: Spring Is In the World

  2. Delurking (I think?) to say: thanks for putting good poetry on your site (or poetry at all, it needs more screen time, I think!). I live in Portland and am also happy to see the sun! Yeah! Hooray for the D.L. and new couches…AND I think you would rock the hot(t) short haircut. Whew. Love your site!

  3. Finally…spring cometh…or something. It’s finally been nice and warm here in DC too. Some showers today but at least I saw the sun all day on Thursday!

  4. i once saw him speak at madison square garden. he is a very, very happy man. contagious laughter.

    and i love this poem.

    have fun!

  5. Aww Spring. We had it for 3 days here and now….windchills and trace amounts of snow.
    Couch, yeah!!
    The Dalai Lama, wow.

    Love the poem.

  6. Awww, so glad you’re getting to enjoy spring. It was 40 and raining/snowing here today. How’s that for a little spring? The poem is perfect for your day!!

  7. Oh, I am so very jealous that you get to hear the Dali Lama. I know that’s not very Buddhist, but I’m willing to admit it. I do hope you’ll tell us all about it.

    Mayberry Magpie

  8. So very happy with the sun yesterday. Mother nature is teasing us… it is supposed to rain today. I watched the Dali Lama on tv, but wished I could have been there. I liked the idea of all the leaders of the world going on vacation together. Pics of the couch please!

  9. I wish spring would make its way to Chicago already. It was in the 40s yesterday and I saw flurries! Snow! Hopefully next weekend will be more spring like and I can enjoy prancing around in a skirt šŸ™‚

  10. Awesome! Can’t wait to hear about that! Did you ever read his book? I purchased it for my mother a few years ago, I have yet to read it.

    Spring! YAHOOOOOO!

Comments are closed.