No Rest For the Weary

As selfish as this may sound, I am monumentally looking forward to my birthday (Hello! Friday!) and a weekend filled with fun, family and friends because lordhavemercy I am tired and burnt out. The weekend was mainly spent dealing with renting the available units, still trying to get my house in order (couch purchased and put together, phew) and working (yes, on the weekend) my “regular” job. Yesterday was all about fielding calls from tenants. Here’s a list:

At 2:30pm, “our dishwasher isn’t finishing its cycle and is pooling with water”

At 6:00pm, “I’d like another key to the building to give to my trusted friend”

At 8:00pm, “someone is smoking pot, the basement floor really stinks of it and it’s coming up to my third floor apartment”

At 11:15pm, “the people above me are playing really loud music, can you do something about it?”

And today at 7:00am, “my door knob won’t turn and now I am locked out of my apartment.”

And I never got around to vacuuming because between fielding these, putting my couch together (There are two bolts I couldn’t get screwed in. I just can’t seem to screw without The Fella around.) and having worked already at my other job, I was spent. I have some nice luggage under my eyes to prove it.

I know this isn’t how life will always be. I won’t always have three units open at one time and feel like every bit of my free time is taken up returning calls, showing apartments and dealing with paperwork while still trying to find time to keep the place in tip top shape and handling the myriad of tenant issues that arise. Like how last weekend I returned home to a call about a homeless person who was found sleeping in our laundry room. The laundry room which is supposed to shut and locked at all times (automatic lock) in a building that is secure (you have to be buzzed in). Not only is that surprising, it’s a bit scary. Not because he is homeless but because people are being let in who don’t live here and don’t know a tenant in the building. Everyone goes through careful screening to be a tenant here and yet. . . we cannot control everything.

Honestly, there is very little we can control in this life sans our own attitude. I have made a promise to myself- I will be kind to myself and others, use cautious optimism, believe in the good of humankind and try my best to be lighthearted when it comes to the trival annoyances of life. Because life is too short and this world is way too lacking in compassion. I suppose I could attribute my newfound enthusiasm to the Dalai Lama who inspired me with his humble wisdom, generous spirit and infectious laugh. Seeing him speak on Saturday was a once-in-a-lifetime experience that deeply impacted me.

I want to lose my bitterness and judgments. They are heavy and ugly and don’t serve me. I want to feel less rushed and more alive in the present moment. I want to smile and mean it.

33 thoughts on “No Rest For the Weary

  1. Once again, we are wanting the same things. I wish you blessings on your journey. I mean that.

    Also like you, I am so very tired today. Yet somehow I must manage to function efficiently, when all I want is to be napping in a hammock slung between two palm trees on a quiet beach.

  2. I can’t seem to screw things without my dude either.

    I’m hoping these people can learn to fix their own door knobs and breathe the air of their pot smoking fellows. Everyone could then be mellow.

  3. I don’t think I’d want to be responsible for people and their complaints like that. I’d probably line them all up and tell them to GROW-up. Gah! Guess the hotel industry is out for me too.

  4. love the Dalai Lama and what he represents.

    love that bit about not being able to ‘screw without the fella around’.I’m in the same predickament. hee-hee.

    =)

  5. That’s a very good attitude to take. In fact, as I now prepare to leave for work, I am going to copy that attitude and hope it serves me well! It is afterall, a Monday.

    And I see the b-day countdown has begun!!! πŸ˜‰

  6. Happy Birthday Week Sizzle! Everyone needs a break and a Kate… tell me you are getting a Kate. Hard to believe spring was in the air just a few days ago.

  7. less rushed? i’d take some of that πŸ™‚

    ahh no i’ve never known so many issues to be had in one building! are you sure these tenants are screened? you sure they’re not just breaking stuff for the fun of it? πŸ˜‰ i hope things calm soon — moving house is so stressful!

  8. Thanks for this post, Sizz. I love it. I saw the DL years ago in Portland – it’s an amazing feeling to listen to his peaceful wisdom, isn’t it? Love your perspective, and it helps me with my own. Thanks, and happy early b-day!

  9. Hah! ❀ the screwing comment.

    Seriously though, where exactly does one draw the line when dealing with so many diverse complaints.

    ‘Someone’s smoking pot in the building’~ hehe, um, don’t you live in Seattle? Apparently there’s another person that doesn’t know how many closet stoners there are in that state.

  10. I’ve been working really hard at losing my bitterness and judgments lately. The bitterness part is easy enough if I remember to breathe and think before reacting. The judgments are hard…so so hard.

  11. Dude, I agree. I am trying to be a person who sees the glass as half full, and who extends kindness and compassion to those who need it. To love freely and without fear.

    Ain’t easy, though.

  12. I am not even joking when I tell you that I was so exhausted that I slept almost the entire day Saturday, woke up and played with my kids for a few hours and then went back to sleep at night. I felt much better about everything, but am also going to the doctor tomorrow because I still don’t feel great and that just isn’t normal!

    I hope you get some rest soon and that things calm down so you can enjoy your birthday! Mine is on Wednesday and I still haven’t gotten into the excited about my birthday part yet so I totally understand.

  13. I didn’t read the other comments so forgive me if I repeat…
    You are the least bitter and judgemental person I have come across in a LONG time! I do, however, wish you well in finding peace, we all need a bit of that.
    I’m going to start the party early and say Happy Birthday Friday! Oh yeahhhhh bring it onnnnnnn!!!!

  14. I’ve been thinking a lot about my attitude lately and can relate to your last few paragraphs quite a bit. I appreciate that you put it into words. : )

  15. People complain about pot smoking? Sounds like they could use a little pot themselves. Just sayin’.

  16. wow, even though hectic it sounds like this weekend was very inspiring and look at all you accomplished! I too want to smile and mean it! : )

  17. “I want to feel less rushed and more alive in the present moment. I want to smile and mean it.”

    Amen! I’m glad, despite being overwhelmed, you were able to find some inspiration this weekend. Happy Birthday Week!

  18. Those last two paragraphs should be my new mantra instead of what I was repeating over and over again this weekend: “I’m stressing, I’m stressing, I’m stressing!” My husband was like, “Um. I’m pretty sure you’re supposed to say positive things, that’s why they call them *affirmations*.” Err. Yes. Thanks. πŸ™‚

  19. You deserve every minute of looking forward to your birthday weekend, girl. That is a LOAD you took on, no doubt.
    Are you planning on talking more about the Dalai Lama? I’d love to hear more of what you thought if you do. πŸ™‚

  20. Oh gosh. This hits too close to home because I have been complaining about my neighbors A LOT and I feel guilty. I need to get over it.

    Happy early birthday! You’re the third blogger I know whose b-day is this week!

  21. Oh, sweetie. Being self-employed, I feel like my day is never done.

    I hope that you are able to shrug of the stress and have an AWESOME birthday.

    I fully advocate Birthdays as a day (OK, week) of spoilage.

    πŸ™‚

  22. I’d like another key to the building to give to my trusted friend

    Oh, that’s gonna be trouble. I couldn’t help but laugh at that one πŸ™‚

    I sure hope you get some rest soon, Ms. Sizzle. Take care of yourself.

  23. Ah, loved this post and wow, you saw the Dalai Lama, how kewl. I love his approach. Yeah, we need more compassion in this world – and that’s all over this planet. I hope your birthday weekend gives you a chance to rest and restore … in the meantime, cold spoons on dem eyes πŸ˜‰ Have a stunningly fabulous day.

  24. I’ve been working with intentions and affirmations lately. Seems like you’ve got your eye on the changes you want to see (and be) and that’s a start.

    Did you end up planning your own birthday? I’m starting the planning stages of mine and wonder how many people (women) plan our own birthdays.

  25. That would freak me out that someone was sleeping somewhere in my building. I guess we’re kind of lucky b/c most people are pretty good about not letting anyone in that they don’t recognize. I hope this weekend’s far more fun for you:)

  26. That would freak me out that someone was sleeping somewhere in my building. I guess we’re kind of lucky b/c most people are pretty good about not letting anyone in that they don’t recognize. I hope this weekend’s far more fun for you:)

Comments are closed.