Let’s Pretend It’s Not Monday

The weekend included record-breaking heat (note to self: don’t vacuum the apartment building when it is that hot unless you want to battle a headache all damn day), a lot of sweating and noisy fans, a kiddie pool purchase for Finn, pancakes with strawberries, whipped cream and walnuts, a Moroccan Feast with friends, hailing a taxi like a pro, picnicking in the park with The Fella and generally being very weekend-y.


I did not, however, do such tasks as: pick up cigarette butts around the building, tape off my bedroom to be painted, book my hotel for BlogHer, clean the vacant apartment, or organize my cd collection.

But to my credit, I did painstakingly manually move all my links from my blogroll to a page at the top of my header and then broke them down by letter of the alphabet. I have not managed to alphabetize them within that though because my brain was mush from all that concentration in the heat. If I missed you, please let me know. I’m not trying to dis anyone. I just got lazy near the end.

Lazy. Now that’s a word I’m trying to learn to embrace. I am typically never lazy because the guilt from being inactive plagues me. Maybe if I started referring to it as “recharging” I wouldn’t have such a hang up about it.

50 thoughts on “Let’s Pretend It’s Not Monday

  1. What a fun weekend. Damn it was hot on Saturday. Too hot to be productive. Finn’s pool is adorable. Those pancakes sound delicious. I love Moroccan food, which place did you go to? Did you get to see belly dancers? Hope your Monday morning with Finn is just as fun.

  2. Lazy? Naw… I call it “energetically challenged”. We solve it by having jammie days. πŸ˜‰

    Sounds like a great (but busy) weekend!

  3. Love the photos. Totally digging on the frog pool – the fact that it shades Finn is awesome.

    You and the Fella … bliss.

    Moroccan food? Never tried it. Is it anything like Greek food?

    Still too cold here. Only in the low 50’s. Still wearing a blouse, sweater, AND winter jacket!

  4. Recharging. I like that. I think I might start ‘recharging’ at the office. Sounds like you had a swell weekend. Down here in So Cal, it was a swell-tering weekend.

    Nice job on the linky links!!!

  5. Isn’t it funny that we can call ourselves lazy even though we get 20 of the 25 Things To Do crossed off the list? Ugh, it is a dangerous mentality, that’s for sure.
    Like my kitchen floor still hasn’t been mopped and it’s all I can think about. That is not right.

  6. I don’t have any trouble calling myself lazy. I do enough Monday through Friday to pay the bills (and most of it isn’t anything I’m overjoyed about (“if you’re having fun, it isn’t work”)). I see no reason why Saturday and Sunday I should do anything I don’t feel like doing. That’s the beauty, I say, of being a grown-up. But then, I would say that seeing as I got more shades of lazy than a super deluxe box of crayons. πŸ˜€

  7. I don’t think anyone could ever call you lazy! You sure get a lot done!

    It was cold here all weekend. Last night I dreamed I was cold. Then I woke up shivering because it was only 58 in our house. I am sort of jealous of your warm weather, but I know soon enough it will be warm here too.

  8. You lazy? Ha! You’re anything BUT lazy! Sounds like an awesome weekend! Would you mind sending over a bit of that heat? It’s still chilly here in DC. I know, what the hell?!

  9. You are definitely on to something with the “recharging” vs. “lazy” terminology!

    I did far too much housework in the heat this weekend and suffered for it as well (allergies plus heat headache = not fun). We balanced it out with a couple of trips to the dog park at the beach, and an hour spent sipping smoothies outside of Jamba Juice Saturday morning, so all in all it was a good weekend.

  10. Sounds like such a lovely weekend!
    More of the lazy, less of the guilt. Hey, I think that should be your new tagline. πŸ˜‰
    (sorry I didn’t respond sooner, but yeah, no need to add to blogroll–thanks!)

  11. That looks like a wonderful weekend! And lazy is lying on the couch all weekend…trust me, I would know.

  12. First of all, the more I see your new design, the more I like it–and I already loved it the first time I saw it.

    Second of all, I am the same way when it comes to the word “lazy.” I hate it. But another word that means the same thing would be totally fine.

  13. yahoo! Yr site is so awesome SAJ is the bomb. I love her.
    And the moving of the links- ugh! you deserve a treat

  14. Man, I need to do something with my blogroll. I’m tempted to just delete it as it is all but ignored at this point.

  15. Hi sizz!

    Wasn’t it a lovely weekend? It is SO HARD to be back at work today.

    You are awesome for doing all those links! And thanks for adding me! I feel so special. πŸ™‚

    One thing though, (And I hate to say anything, but now seems the appropriate time, other wise, I don’t say antyhing and then it just stays wrong forever) I am a singular enterprise. It is from a Lebowski quote. And we can’t have the genius that is the Coen Brothers not properly sited, now can we? πŸ™‚

    Love you!

    Jenny from Zesty Enterprise

  16. We had a weekend-y weekend too. How could you help it with that kind of weather?! And no, it’s not called laziness–it’s called not taking the gorgeous weather for granted.

  17. It was so bloody COLD here! Gah! I’m sick of this cold weather!!

    Your weekend sounds fab (and could you and The Fella be any more cuter in that picture?)!

    I say embrace the lazy …

  18. I melted. The end. Finn’s pool is AMAZING. Totally green with envy about you going to BlogHer. Glad you survived and vacuuming anything is no fun let alone when the temp reads hotter than hell.

  19. This is obviously a definition of lazy that I am unfamiliar with. Actually accomplishing things disallows your use of the word, dude. Trust me. I AM LAZY.

  20. Love the photos!

    And I hear ya about the record breaking heat. It sure was hot hot hot in Seattle. We went to the redmond farmers market on Saturday and suffered from minor heat exhaustion by end of day.

  21. There’s nothing wrong with being weekend-y. I did the same thing actually. Felt about 20% productive and 80% weekend-y. And I’m alright with that πŸ˜‰

  22. That sounds like perfect weekend.
    And that is one swanky kiddy pool for Finn. Damn it. I want one but looking at it, I am pretty darn sure I don’t fit in there.

  23. OMG. My links page made me want to stick a damn fork in my eye with each damn link I had to add.

    (Except when I was coding YOUR link, of course. Then it was a moment of rainbows and unicorns and acres of golden flowers flowing out of my keyboard.)

  24. Sounds like you got quite a bit accomplished. More than me, anyway. Sounds like a perfect weekend (minus the vacuuming and the headache).

  25. I love that first picture with Finn and the dandelions! Also, I know I’ve told you this before but you and your quest to move all your links and keep it all updated? Well, I just want to bow to that dedication. I need to do it (and update it all) but it just never gets done. Sort of like my massive pile of laundry I just keep moving around my place…

  26. Hi Sizzle,

    I hope this isn’t an example of worlds colliding, but it was great to share the dinner with you guys on Saturday.

    And yes, frequenters of the intertubes, she does have some mad taxi-hailing skills!

  27. I’m linked! Yay πŸ™‚ Seriously though, it took me forever to move mine when I did it. I commend you!

    I love the photos, especially the first with the dandelions.

  28. Please do not speak to me of heat. We had frost!!!!! I was forced to pull closed toe shoes back out of the closet.

    Glad you enjoyed your week end. Sounds awesome πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.