Let’s Have Some “Closure”

I tend to write about stuff and then never go back and tell you the outcome of it. I’m here today to remedy that.

Thing One: The rug is okay; you can breathe a sigh of relief. The spot came out! This means that the cats are still alive.

Thing Two: The mold/water damage is being worked on as you read this. The new tenant luckily still had his old place for the month of July (why? I have no idea.) so he is getting two weeks prorated rent and a new kitchen wall sans leak. He seems okay with the whole deal. And the tenant next to him gets new cabinets and wall due to the damage which he is stoked about because, between you and me, his kitchen was falling apart and in desperate need of repair. The chick above who had the leaky pipe unfortunately has to deal with a big ol’ hole in her wall for a few more days but she can wash her dishes again.

Thing Three: I have not spoken to my friend since a failed attempt to meet for tea about a month ago. I guess I haven’t been able to muster the enthusiasm to reach out after she flaked AGAIN. She made the plans with me, then texted to say she over-slept, then asked to meet later, then didn’t contact me until THREE HOURS after we were supposedly getting together. And the text basically told me she hung out with another friend but she “really wants to hang out.” Really? You want to hang out? Because you sure don’t act like it. Does my time and friendship mean nothing? I am still so angry about being treated with such careless disregard that I can’t contact her lest I go off on her.

Thing Four: I still don’t know what to wear to BlogHer but I ordered a dress. It cost a lot more than I usually spend so if I don’t look spectacular in it I will return it and use the money to drink copious amounts of booze. That’s called drowning your troubles.

Thing Five: I tried one of the chocolate chip cookies recipes out of the long list of suggestions you all sent to me (thank you!). It was the Mrs. Fields Blue Ribbon recipe. They were good but I have not yet reached perfection. I did buy an oven thermometer and discovered my oven temperature is inaccurate. AND my baking soda expired in 2005. WOAH! Way to be on top of things, Sizzle. I have been instructed to make one of the Alton Brown recipes next because the Fella has a major hard on man crush on him. But first this weather has too cool off. There is no way I am turning my oven on, not even for the man I love.

Anything else I am forgetting to update you on?

56 thoughts on “Let’s Have Some “Closure”

  1. LOVE the rug! Glad you could save it and you spared your kitties lives.

    …and ditto on the dress!

  2. I would love to go to BlogHer but I think that no one would evernknow who I was nor even care so I would spend most of the time in a corner alone somewhere so I figure I’ll just beg off.

    I do, however, want to see this dress. I there a way you can post a picture?

  3. PJ’s at BlogHer. Trust me, you will be the hit of the conference. This is your chance to make a statement Sizz. Step out there and do it girl.

    (Oh, yea, one other thing, photos — LOTS of photos of you in the PJ’s and the reactions of the other bloggers.)

    Have fun.

    TAG

  4. I love the updates! I was wondering about the cookies and moldy pipes.

    I just realized I never emailed you my recipe for the cookies…but I swear I am not trying to be flaky, I just forgot.

    I hope you will post pictures of the dress either way because now I am dying to see it!

  5. How’s the striped hair holding out?

    MUST post a pic of the new dress.

    Is The Fella going with?

    Expired baking soda … yeah, that would do it! And I KNEW the oven was off. That’s usually the first thing I look at when things don’t bake quite right.

  6. Excellent update.

    Ditch the friend. If I were telling you this in person, there would be ‘air quotes’ all over the word ‘friend.’

  7. How did you get the spot out? Just wondering.

    As for the friend, don’t dwell on stuff like this only because it’s not worth your time, effort and emotional exhaustion. At least you know where you stand with her and know how to act in the future. I’m sorry that happened to you though. You don’t deserve to be treated like that.

  8. Thanks for the update, I can sleep well tonight finally! ;o)
    By the way, I found a tub of baking soda last year dated “Best before 1994”!!! I am such a skank!

  9. Awwww, I kinda loved this update … because I felt like I was *right there* with you for each and every thing that needed updating. You’ve made wise decisions, my dear, especially regarding the friend and the dress.

  10. Hee hee. I tend to do this too, maybe I should ask if anyone is looking for an update? (except not on my health, that is dangerous!)
    My distant “friend” recently pulled the “we really need to get together!” crap too. I just ignore her now and wait to see if she actually makes an effort to invite me to do something. If it happens, we can all go skiing in H-E-double hockey sticks.

  11. Can’t believe you didn’t do the Alton Brown recipe first, I guarantee you and the Fella will both be impressed. Near perfection in my opinion.

    Glad to hear the rug is okay and the plumbing issue is being dealt with. Sorry I can’t help you with the Blogher wardrobe. One reason I avoid such things is I can never decide what to wear. Add being in the chubby pregnant phase and I am a walking fashion disaster.

    Flakey people suck. Give it some time and space.

  12. About the cookies: my friend Melissa makes absolutely delicious chocolate chip cookies…once I’m done unpacking boxes from the move (and find it again) I’ll send you the recipe…never know, it might do the trick! 🙂

  13. It soulds like things are falling into place.

    I hope that he dress that you ordered fits, I know how it can be risky to order on line! Do you have a picture?

    I have not tried making a chocolate chip cookie in ages….I am more of a cupcake girl.

  14. I think this is a good idea for all of us to do. We write posts about events and then just drop the whole story. You should make this a monthly event — wrapping up all the stories from the previous month.

  15. Glad to hear that the rug is saved. I’m still trying to figure out what to wear to BlogHer as well. Did you link to the dress? I thought I was going to buy that dress I posted, but decided against it. I’m hitting the outlets this weekend, so hopefully I’ll find something fun there.

  16. I found you through Tales of Wit and Charm and have been reading for a couple of weeks. You crack me up. I also like reading your blog because I am originally from Seattle and have felt a little homesick lately so it’s nice hearing about the ol’ town. Thanks!

  17. Since my feline friend insists on daily puking on my beautiful rug, I must know how you got the stain out. Please?
    And now I have to go bake some cookies!

  18. I have no idea what to wear to BH either. I wore one of my outfits I bought for it today, and one yesterday. I WANTED TO SAVE THEM!

  19. I love this post. So many bloggers, including me do that. They blog about something then leave it at that. They don’t do any blog maintenance. Thanks for inspiring me to clean up the tangled bits of my blog.

    I also want to see a fashion show of the dress!

  20. I’m glad your rug is ok, especially for the sake of the cats ; )

    Your mold problems seem to be coming along fine. Good. That could have been a total nightmare.

    I hate it when good friends go all flaky on us, not cool! I hope she comes around and makes it up to you. I would be pissed too.

    I hear you about the dress. If it’s too expensive it at least has to look TERRIFIC on you! At least that’s my justification for over prized clothes.

    I want to try those cookies!!!

  21. Thank you, thank you, thank you for the follow up! I needed the closure. Kept thinking about your tenants (and your sanity) and the mold.

    Any chance you’ll photograph the dress for us? Or better yet, play dress up?

    Mayberry Magpie

  22. I knew the Fella like Alton Brown, but a full-on stiffy for the guy? Dang.

    Happy the rug is clean. Good for the cats and the fact that the room is still held together. 😉

  23. Five things. Your house is going to get very messy. The fish will not be happy.

    Thanks for the update.

  24. Thing 3: It’s nice to know that I’m not the only one with crappy friends. I have a flaky friend too. At least yours finally got around to texting you. It’s been 2 weeks and I’m STILL waiting for a text to say she can’t make it to lunch.

  25. I love that picture of your cats — so cute. I’m pretty bad with the baking soda thing as well. The Nestle cookies turn out fine when I used pre-fab dough but when I’ve tried to make them from scratch, they totally flatten out (even on the same cookie sheet).

  26. yes, let’s see the new dress when you get it! Glad things are going better at your apartments. Sorry to hear about your friend being unkind to you…..that sucks Sizzle, you don’t need it…I wouldn’t take it from a friend…them being so inconsiderate of your time and your friendship. Her loss!!!

  27. You should definately ditch the flaky friend… There is a book titled “He’s just not that into you” – I read it and the same thinking applies to friendships… She is just not that into your friendship if she is flaking on you, hurting your feelings, etc. And everytime she flakes, she is telling you that she is just not that into it. And you are the one who gets hurt feelings, not her. There is something someone told me a long time ago: We are always told not to do things to people we wouldn’t want them to do to us, but the flip side to that is that we should never let people do to us what we would not do to them. I don’t know you, but I get the impression you are not a flaky friend. Don’t let someone do it to you. I love the quote from Oprah ‘When someone shows you who they are, believe them” – Sorry for the rant, I just can’t stand it when people are careless and disrespectful with the feelings of others.

  28. I love ALTON BROWN! He entertains me and schools me on cooking… perfect combination!
    New Dress = photos! Is the conference formal or casual? I just signed up to the blogher site!
    i want to know more about it!

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend. Sh*t, that just sucks. But, on a lighter note… good to hear that you didn’t have to yell at your cat for ruining your rug. Thank you spot cleaner! Woo hooo!

    I hope you had a great 4rth!

Comments are closed.