I’m Putting the “E” in Meme

I’ve been tagged and awarded and remiss in following through with my part of the deal. But today all that changes. I’m doing them ALL AT ONCE.

Thank you to:

  • Free and Flawed for bestowing the “Brilliante Weblog” Award to me. (Which must be an international award given the Spanish or Italian “e” at the end of brilliant.)
  • andsosheblogs for bestowing the “Kick Ass Blogger” Award to me.

Now for the memes.

I saw this multiple places, most recently over at Abbersnail’s blog.

Every day, I would like to:
1. Go for a walk
2. Smile
3. Tell someone I love them
4. Make my bed

Every week, I would like to:
1. Go swimming
2. Cook a new recipe
3. Dance
4. Sleep in (at least once)

In three months, I would like to:
1. Be working a job that challenges me
2. Have a healthier routine
3. Have new eyeglasses
4. Have read books rather than watch TV

Before next year, I would like to:
1. Buy new digital camera
2. Commit to an exercise routine
3. Enroll in Spanish classes
4. Volunteer with Hospice

In two to five years, I would like to:
1. Stop coloring my hair & embrace the grays
2. Be a home owner
3. Be at a comfortable weight
4. Be a mom

Before I die, I would like to:
1. Be in a committed, long term relationship
2. Sing in public
3. Donate a large sum of money to a cause I believe in
4. Dive off the high dive

*********

Eight Things: A Meme

8 things I am passionate about:

  1. Ending violence against women
  2. Stopping animal cruelty
  3. Crafting
  4. Writing
  5. Love
  6. Marriage Equality
  7. Tea
  8. Peanut Butter & Chocolate

8 books I’ve read and enjoyed:

  1. The Time Traveler’s Wife
  2. This Much I Know Is True
  3. Sister of My Heart
  4. Bastard Out of Carolina
  5. Even Cowgirls Get the Blues
  6. Middlesex
  7. A History of Love
  8. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

8 words/phrases that I say often:

  1. Fuck
  2. It’s like
  3. Snice
  4. Later, tater
  5. I’m just
  6. Apparently
  7. Sucktacular
  8. Balls!

8 things I want to do before I die:

  1. Spend a month in Italy
  2. Publish something I wrote
  3. Raise children
  4. Own a house
  5. Read the instruction manual from start to finish on something I own
  6. Learn to speak Spanish
  7. Dance the Flamenco
  8. Learn to read music/play an instrument

8 things I’ve learned in my life:

  1. Life is precious and too short.
  2. Forgiveness is more about healing yourself than someone else.
  3. Don’t put off living.
  4. There is very little you actually can control.
  5. Kindness begets kindness.
  6. Laughter is good medicine.
  7. There is power in positive thinking.
  8. When you don’t personalize things, life is a lot easier.

8 places I want to see:

  1. Ireland
  2. My father’s birthplace
  3. Alaska
  4. New York
  5. Australia (specifically, koalas)
  6. France
  7. Italy
  8. England (again)

8 things I currently want/need:

  1. Break light replaced in my car
  2. Willpower
  3. More sleep
  4. Another cup of tea
  5. A more challenging job that pays better
  6. A new digital camera
  7. A queen sized platform bed
  8. A good laugh

8 people I want to tag:

You know I don’t “do” tagging but feel free to steal it.

30 thoughts on “I’m Putting the “E” in Meme

  1. Hm, let me know how embracing the grays goes. I’ll need to learn that as well I think but the thought…makes me shudder currently. πŸ™‚

  2. A good laugh? Okay.

    So there’s this pirate that walks into a bar, and he’s got a ship’s wheel attached to the front of his pants. Everyone stares and the bartender says “hey, pirate, what’s with the wheel?” The pirate says, “Arrrgggghhh, it’s drivin’ me nuts!” πŸ™‚

    Okay, so not the best laugh ever, but not bad?!!

  3. I’d be needing me a more challenging job with better pay too. BADLY.

    The word “balls” just made me laugh. πŸ™‚ I’m going to use that if you don’t mind.

  4. Random comment from yours truly:

    I see that you’ve read ‘Even Cowgirls Get The Blues’, but have you read ‘Still Life with Wood Pecker’? Awesome book!

  5. Oooh, some of these are really good! You’ve got some great answers going on, especially these:

    Life is precious and too short.
    Forgiveness is more about healing yourself than someone else.
    Don’t put off living.
    There is very little you actually can control.

    And I, naturally, am a big fan of you wanting to learn Spanish πŸ™‚ I can help teach you some swear words if you want πŸ˜‰

  6. I like your commitment to those less fortunate. I think this is a wonderful quality of yours and it makes me glad to know you.

    “snice”, I haven’t heard that in a long time. Did you ever say “s’cool”? Maybe you should add “gnome sane” to your vernacular. Have a nice weekend.

  7. I loved “The Time Traveller’s Wife” and desperately want to read “I Know This Much is True” – If you haven’t already, read “The Book of Lost Things” and “Half of a Yellow Sun” – Oh, and for the job, I am hiring. It means moving to India, but I would let you stop off in Italy for a month. So send that CV poste-haste.

  8. You are “Brilliante” AND a Kick-Asss Blogger, so how appropriate for both awards! πŸ˜€
    Much deserved acknowledgements, both…memes aside.

    On a related note, awhile back I decided I was going to actually try to do certain things, every day. Tell people I love them. Let go at least one testy/mean thing that was said to me, without recourse. Try to be kind. Do an act of random kindness, if possible. Go outside, and no matter what the weather or season? Look around, and find something beautiful in it. I think all those things, simple as they are, enhances our lives.
    It certainly makes me feel richer. πŸ™‚

  9. I love your lists! Especially how the “Things I am passionate about” goes from super serious to seriously fun. You’re a fun gal πŸ™‚

  10. The thing that strikes me about this is how very attainable it all is. I wrote something a while back about all the things I struggle to do for myself. My birthday gift from my dad and stepmom? They printed the post, sent it to me and included a $100 check for “all the things on the list.” It was the most amazing thing, really the printing of the post and the acknowledgment of it having been admitted. Perhaps you should print this.

Comments are closed.