How I Labored Over Labor Day

*I met one of my blog idols- the one and only Kris from Not A Girl, Not Yet A Wino. She was everything I thought she’d be and more. Wish we lived in the same Washington instead of two different ones.

*I forced myself to go to work because I was hosting a training but only one person showed up so I canceled it. It’s really weird and uncomfortable to host a training for one person. Not just for me, but for the trainee. They are forced to pay total attention because 100% of my focus is on them. Besides, who hosts a training the Friday before Labor Day Weekend? (Um, me.)

*Dined at Monsoon (it’s delicious and you should eat there) with The Fella in celebration of our one year anniversary. We did not, despite trying to fool you with this photo on Flickr, get engaged. Sorry folks!

*Discovered a note on the infamous white board in the laundry room that declared: “The front steps are filthy and need to be cleaned!” Why thank you concerned tenant! How about addressing your “suggestion” directly to me like in an email or a note or a phone call instead of passive aggressively pointing out my failure to mop the front marble steps on a public white board? How about smokers quit putting out their cigarettes on them? How about it stops raining so my efforts to clean them won’t be in vain? Or better yet, how about YOU clean them? That sounds like a fabulous idea to me!

*Cut my hair and got my eyebrows shaped. Did not, however, pay $115 to get my hair colored. Because HOLY SHIT that is expensive. Will wait until drastic measures are required (re: my roots grow out so much that I can no longer hide them with strategic hair comb over effects.) (And some say I am not my father’s daughter. . . I prove them wrong with the comb over.)

*Baked carrot raisin muffins with cream cheese icing and washed two loads of laundry because I am domestic like that.

*My Mom moved here. If you follow me on Twitter, you know more about this saga than I am letting on here. There were hours of unloading the moving van and the next day, hours of unpacking boxes. I am very glad she is finally here even though my aching muscles will tell you different.

*Took a long, hot bath in Epsom salts because I am too old and too out of shape to be unloading a moving van.

*Drank lots of wine, ordered Indian food and watched Miss Pettigrew Lives For a Day (we loved it and the soundtrack made us want to dance).

47 thoughts on “How I Labored Over Labor Day

  1. You didn’t get your hair colored? Your red is still so bright. Mine washed out so quickly. Haircut is adorable.
    I’ve wanted to try Monsoon… glad you liked it.

    mmm.. carrot raisin muffins. Sounds delicious.

  2. That picture was screaming at me in Google Reader. I flipped over to your blog and enlarged that picture. And as I was getting giddy with excitement, I reminded myself the likelihood was low. Very low. But, I was still momentarily excited. And I’m still excited now, knowing the full truth, that you had such a (mostly) great weekend. You and the Fella look really really happy. Yay!

  3. Way to try and play with our tender emotions πŸ˜‰

    I’m so happy to hear about your Mom! Yay! And um, why don’t you just make the Fella give you a good long massage?

  4. You have to stop trying to fool me with these things! I get all excited and then it is a big let down!

    Sounds like a great weekend for the most part. People who are so passive aggressive (like with the white board) bug me. Is there no way for people to just communicate these days? Could they not have just mentioned it to you or taken care of it themselves?

  5. The muffins sound delish.

    I am living with my mom right now until I can get back into my own apartment so I totally feel you there.

    I haven’t had Indian food in the longest. Jealous!

  6. I adore your blog! I just found you through Brandy. I had to go back and read some of your older stuff…I love love love the kiss post.

    It sounds like you had a great weekend!

  7. Do you even KNOW how to sit still for 5 minutes without moving an entire muscle?

    I doubt it.

    I’m glad you’re mom is finally there. It was looking for a while like she might not move there. I’m assuming she sold the house?

    Happiest of Anniversaries. This is just the beginning … may you have many, many more!

  8. You were definitely a whole lot more productive than me this long weekend! I know, I’m lazy. Now can I have one those lovely carrot raisin muffins?

  9. I’m glad that your mom is close by now.
    Jealous that you ate some fab Indian food.
    Pissed that you TRIED to fool me about an engagement.

    With all that said…I still love ya more than my luggage!

    =D

  10. you tricked me again with the ring. I did a triple take…like…dude, is that a ring? no, but they look like it is a ring, a happy ring. Spike would never help me with these sorts of pranks…he would be sweating bullets in the background.

  11. oh, and congrats on the one year anniversary!!! I was so distracted by the photo fakeout I forgot to say hooray for one year. Forgive me πŸ˜›

  12. Well… I’ve been totally hoodwinked. Amidst the snippets of posts that google reader shows when you first open it was that little thumbnail shot of you and the fella. I hightailed it to your post only to discover some displaced April fool’s hijinks. Sigh. (Perhaps this is a good hit count building strategy though. I’ll have to file this away for later use. πŸ˜‰

    In the meantime, I’ll forgive you because you liked Miss Pettigrew too. I thought that movie was a real kick.

  13. Oh my. I watched “Miss Pettigrew” this weekend as well. So cute. I also enjoyed “Penelope.” You should check it out if you haven’t seen it.

  14. RE: the filthy front steps…why don’t people take the initiative and just clean them? Or at least say, hey the dirty steps are bothering me, want some help cleaning them?

  15. What a great time! You ARE so domestic ;o)
    Preparing for being a housewife? Ha!
    You guys crack me up with your practical jokes! One day you really will move in together or get engaged and none of us will believe a word of it! ;o)
    (Well, maybe we will..)

  16. Sounds lovely, carrot cake muffins, a really clever idea actually. I only think of carrot cake for some reason. And the film – I was going to miss that, but think I might check it out!

  17. Congrats on your mom moving here, for you’ve been looking forward to it for a while now πŸ™‚ I envy that you have a tub that can support a bath. If I sit in mine, the water comes up to my belly button (and cold boobs are not comfy!).

  18. Oooo that sounds like such a wonderful holiday weekend! Oooo! I love your hair! you guys are so cute! One year … time flies by fast, doesn’t it?!

    Mmm, Indian food! I love Indian food!!!

  19. I’m glad your Mom made it to WA. I heard a bit about the move on Twitter and am glad it’s over. Hopefully she has some time to get unpacked and settled and the drama dies down quickly. Family drama is exhausting for everyone involved.

  20. Shew, at least you somehow remembered to breath in between that lot … so you really are a ‘can-do-gal’. Hope you enjoying having your Mom close by and congrats to you and the Fella – one whole year, it’s awesome!

    Huggz

  21. I’ll have to read the whole entry later. I can’t believe Kris was in town last week. I swear tons of bloggers were in Seattle last week and I didn’t meet a one of them. Dagnabit. Be back in bit…

  22. Sounds like a pretty busy yet good laboring weekend πŸ™‚

    And YAY for family close by! YAY for moms! (BOO for the actually having to move things part, but now that it’s done – YAY!!!)

  23. Happy Belated Labor Day and thanks for playing wordscraper with me πŸ™‚ Please tell me what you liked about “Miss Pettigrew Lives For a Day.” After not even 10 minutes of viewing it, I had to shut it off out of complete boredom. The previews looked amazing… I wanna believe you that it was a good as you said it was!!!

Comments are closed.