Time Out

I’m off center.

I don’t know what it is or where this feeling stems from but I can’t shake this nagging worry inside the pit of my stomach. I feel edgy and paranoid and disgruntled. I feel crabby and deflated and melancholy. I could blame the Prednisone, I suppose. So much for that “inappropriate happiness” side effect. I’m trying not to let it get to me too much. Or the fact that my pants aren’t fitting comfortably thanks to water retention. Or fat. Probably both.

I just don’t want to wallow. When I focus on the negatives, all I see are negatives. And negatives beget negatives.

I’ll be back when I don’t feel so . . . meh.

66 thoughts on “Time Out

  1. Blame the prednisone. Then? Wrap yourself in a snuggly, put on a cuppa tea, and be kind to yourself. You’ll feel better next week.
    (Hugs)

  2. I hear ya. It’s supposed to be the happiest time of my life. And it is. In a lot of ways. But in some ways, it’s been a really hard time on me. Mentally. Physically. Emotionally. And sometimes all I want to do is pout. Even though those around me just wouldn’t understand. So … take some Sizzle time. You deserve it. And if you want a listening ear, you know where to find me.

  3. I know this feeling. I hope your time away gives you a chance to focus on yourself and figure out what it is that has you off balance.

  4. off center. thought i was centered before last week. got shoved off it and as soon as i thought i’d re-centered, i feel off again. climb back on, and bring a stick this time.

  5. I felt that way Sunday and yesterday, and I swear it was some sort of weird clairvoyance tapping into the economic crashes that took place.
    Or fall approaching. Or hormones. Whatever.
    Feel better! *hugs*

  6. Steroids make you swell in a wicked way, blame the meds.

    As far as feeling the way you do, I am SO there too. It’s my darn anniversary and I have the desire to run around the house wringing my hands like I’m waiting for the roof to fall in. I’ve noticed a lot of people are feeling this way. It may just be us picking up on the prevailing feeling of anxiousness by the population at large (you know, wallstreet bombing yesterday, corps going under, new election coming our way, etc.) I think maybe my antenna is up too high, and I’m adding everyone else’s worry to my own. Blah.

  7. I get that feeling every so often, for no apparent reason, and it seems like the world is just caving in around me. Meh.

    Get rest. Relax. Breathe.

  8. I hope you feel better soon! Maybe you should take a yoga class? Whenever I feel funky, it always helps me get back in balance, get out of my head for a bit and it helps me process things. Just a thought…

  9. We are all due for some days of meh once in a while. Sending an internet hug from me to you. πŸ™‚ (At least there are no cold virus germs on the internet.)

  10. “Inappropriate happiness” — just reading that should give a glimmer of a positive vibe… no?

    Two words: curly fries

    Can one be sad whilst eating curly fries?

  11. If drugs can make you feel better – mentally and physically, then they can also make you feel worse too. Please try going for a long walk. And then another one the next day. Really, exercise is the one thing that can make me feel both physically and mentally better at the same time. Good luck!

  12. Be gentle and good to yourself. Perhaps a yoga class or good movie night? Maybe just a few days of doing whatever makes you feel more like you again. HUGS Email or call anytime you want to talk.

  13. It’s the Prednisone (yeah, I know I’m the 10 millionth person to tell you).

    But the good news is it’s not YOU! It’s the chemical.

    No help? I gave it my best shot.

    Oh wait, how about this … HHHHUUUUGGGGSSSS

  14. Definitely blame the steroids, but look at it like this . . . if you were never off center, how would you recognize center? And how would you think to thank the universe for the precious calm that center is, even though it comes and goes.

    P.S. Talk about off center? I was pissed at Mr. Mom tonight because the mashed potatoes were too lumpy. How effed up is that?

  15. i’ve been on prednisone, and while on it, i was not myself. instead, my feelings, emotions, reactions, were all overtaken by the Monster of Prednisone. This was not some “side-effect”. It was THE EFFECT. Don’t know about you, but I decided it was definitely not worth it. And my friends and partner were super-duper glad I decided to go off it. There are better drugs out there – make your doc go to plan b!!

  16. Ah Sizz, I hope you feel better soon. I’ve had a few packed days myself, which have left me drained and exhausted, but I’m bouncing back, and I hope you do too soon.

  17. Please don’t go away for too long. I hope you feel better soon. But whatever you do, do *not* fall into the blogger trap of ‘must-post-everyday-even-if-the-post-is-crap’. No one really minds if you don’t post for a few days. Really. Your readers will still be here.

  18. blogging when you’re feeling that way is never a good idea so I totally understand your need to get away from it for a while. I wish you happiness and smiles πŸ™‚ See you soon, Sizzle.

  19. You can certainly blame the prednisone but it sounds like you have a sensitive soul and the news of the world may be weighing on your heart. Tuck into bed it you can and read and rest. You’ll be better before you know it.

  20. Well crap. Sorry to hear it. If it makes you feel any better, I’ve had an ear infection on and off for a month and my husband/coworkers are starting to hide from me. Grumpiness is a sick woman’s right. πŸ™‚

  21. There is a lot of it about lately huh? I’m sorry you’re having a crap time sweetie. have you tried joining 17 swear words together? It works quite well for me, although not as well as wine.
    *Hugs*

  22. My whole world changed on prednisone. Besides gaining 30 lbs. in 3 months, I was a basket case of worry. I cried a lot and every single thing set me off. It really jacked me up. I couldn’t wait to get it out of my system. I hope you feel better soon and that you can get off the stuff…even sooner. Hugs.

  23. It’s horrid, isn’t it? When nothing can make you feel good or smile. My thing is to have a hot bubble bath and sleep.
    Or I’ll try and drag myself for a swim, lose myself in a book, then sleep for ages.
    The good thing about these moments, is that they do seem to pass.
    Doughnuts seem to work too!

  24. I recommend some Finn time. I know Hunter time always cheers me up.

    And chocolate. Lots of it.

    And sex too.

    Beyond that… maybe just embrace the sad time. There is no such thing as “a good cry” at the time… but sometimes, when it’s all over and done with you feel better for it.

  25. Knock Knock!

    (who’s there?)

    Orange!

    (orange who??)

    Orange you glad I didn’t say Banana? ;-D

    Feel better soon Sizzle! We need you! We miss you!
    Sending mandarin orange-scented hugs.

  26. I hate bouts like this! Sometimes it seems like you just need to shut yourself in and be grumpy until it all goes away. I hope it does all go away πŸ™‚

  27. Blame it on anything that you want girl and wallow as long as you need to. Wallow out loud, on your blog, wherever you want – you know we’re all here for you. I haven’t been around for a bit so I am going to have to do some reading back to see where the prednisone came from!

    hugs,
    NerdGirl

  28. Hey, put back the Sizzle in Sizzle, we miss ya! Hope you’re feeling ‘chipperer’ real soon … as the earth has her seasons, so does life … part of the game. hang in there, this too will pass. {{{{{{{{{hugz}}}}}}}}}

  29. Youngest has been sickie the past week pretty bad, and I knew she was feeling better when this weekend, she started wanting to make cake recipes!
    Hey, we got a delicious chocolate cream roll-cake out of the deal, and? She is back to feeling puttery with her crafts! πŸ™‚
    Maybe you need a cookie or cake day “fix”, Hmm?
    Something yummy, and creative, that will go nicely with hot tea. I’ll pour.

Comments are closed.