Soft Hits

I went to the dentist yesterday for the first time in over two years.

Don’t look at me like that. I know it was a long time! But it’s hard to decide on a dentist or doctor (you’ve all heard how that method did not work for me) by name alone. You need recommendations. You need to know people that you trust to recommend doctors which takes TIME.

Okay, so two years is excessive but still. . .get off my back.

This dentist came highly recommended by a coworker- a coworker who is compiling “dentist tunes” for a mix cd- so she told me to be on the listen for songs to add. Based on my 1.5 hour appointment the compilation album should include such soft hits as:

“I’m All Out of Love” by Air Supply

“How Do I Live” by Michael Bolton

“Swaying to the Music” by Johnny Rivers

“Honesty” by Billy Joel

“Danny’s Song” by Loggins & Messina

“That Loving Feeling” by The Righteous Brothers

“Can’t We Try” by Dan Hill

“It Might Be You” by Stephen Bishop (From the movie Tootsie)

“You Are So Beautiful to Me” by Kenny Rogers

“In the Air Tonight” by Phil Collins

What is with dentist offices and the music? It’s universal. They played the SAME music at my dentist’s office in California. Is this why there is such a high suicide rate among dentists? Because they endure these horrible songs day in and day out on top of having to look in mouths and touch teeth with cavities or poke gums that may or may not be receding. Not MY teeth, mind you. For a girl who hadn’t gone to the dentist in two years, I was praised for my “home dental care” and beautiful smile. Apparently this dentist office doesn’t give guilt trips about flossing. And for that, I love them because I can’t for the life of me get in the habit of flossing.

Have you been to the dentist lately and if so, did you hear any really good (and by that I mean bad) soft hits? Chime in! Maybe this mix will become a two disc set.

53 thoughts on “Soft Hits

  1. You think you took a while to find a dentist? I haven’t gone to the dentist or even bothered to find one in a year and a half. They scare the living bajesus out of me!

    My dentist in Lebanon listened to soft-adult-rock crap FM too. It’s universal. But he’s the only dentist I ever liked.

  2. I’m going to the dentist at the end of October. I hope I get the hygienist that I liked so much the last time I was there.

    As for music, I will always think of “We Didn’t Start the Fire” by Billy Joel. The reason for this is because, when I was a kid and the song came out, I was spending the night at a friend’s house and we called into a late-night radio show and sang it live on air. The next day, I was at a dentist appointment and the receptionist asked if that was me that sang the song. The station had replayed it dozens of times by that point.

  3. I go to the dentist every 4 months because I have “sensitive” teeth or at least they tell me that to rob me of my money. But also I have a HORRIBLE fear of the dentist and I find it does work best for me, because nothing can get too terribly out of control in 4 months, that I shouldn’t need serious dental work.

    The music. Oh the music. When I do have to have any kind of work done – even a cavity – they give me their Bose headphones that are hooked up to their speaker system. So it is those same tunes – playing directly in my ear, while I try not to DIE from the fact that I am having dental work done.

  4. You may or may not know that I am married to a dentist. πŸ™‚

    However, we both went yesterday to our dentist (who’s not my husband, because how could he work on his own teeth?) and I was praised for my hygiene. And all I could hear was the soothing tinkle – yes, tinkle – of the fountain in the middle of the room. It was relaxing, and that sound combined with the Tempurpedic pillow made me want to take a nap!

    (Regarding flossing, Allan once told me “I can’t guarantee you’ll keep your teeth if you don’t floss.” I floss now. So should you. It would be a shame to lose a single one of your lovely teeth down the road.)

  5. My husband hasn’t seen a dentist since before we were married. We will be married 13 years in December. Surprisingly his teeth are not gross…he must have excellent home care too.

    My dentist has the same music. But I actually like Danny’s Song. Don’t tell anyone though.

  6. I like the yacht rock in dentist office. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yacht_Rock
    I wish they played it at my dentist office.

    My dentist is a douche but I never see him anyway. I love the woman who cleans my teeth. She loves dolphins. And has them all over her room. It’s a little weird but I like mermaids so we are even.

    As far as flossing goes, have you tried those flossing things on a stick? I use them all the time now. They make flossing so much easier.

  7. I’ve actually got your beat.

    I am OBSESSED with my teeth and always have been, but once I got out of college and had to switch dentists and then was switching insurance, etc… well, lets just say take your number and double it.

    I finally got a recommendation from a coworker too and went a couple of weeks ago. I got the lecture about flossing which cracked me up as I floss at least once a day without anyone telling me to. And the cleaning lady told me my gums were bleeding a lot: there was barely any blood on my little “bib” when we were done. Clearly she’d never spoken with my old dentist’s office. Now THOSE girls knew about bloddy gums! (There was one we called the torture flosser, but that’s a different topic…)

    I ended up with two cavities… and I’ve only ever had one before in my life. Oddly enough, my dentist said it wasn’t really due to lack of cleaning, but the fact that my sealants weren’t done properly. (He in fact didn’t think it looked like I’d had any, though I informed him I definitely had.) So it’s a bummer (and more $ out of my pocket), but not necessarily something that could have been avoided even in with regular six-month check ups.

    As for music… local top-40 hits channel. Not what I was expecting at all.

  8. I think that list of songs is awesome. But I’m a girl who loves her some Air Supply. Also? I started going back to the dentist January 2007. Before that I hadn’t gone for 15 years! Can you believe that? Now I go every six months like I’m supposed to. I can’t remember hearing any music being played though. I guess my dentist’s office is too small for that or something.

  9. oh and as far as flossing goes… I highly recommend the OralB Hummingbird flosser. Best thing I ever bought. I keep one on my desk at work and my desk at home. It’s so easy to use I often find myself flossing 2-3 times a day.

  10. OMG…my dentist plays the same genre. They always have our “adult” soft rock station on and piped throughout the office. I can’t remember what song it was, but last time I was there, I had the gas and whatever ridiculous song was playing made me start laughing hysterically. Guess that’s why they call it laughing gas.

  11. No music at my dentist, but I live in a small town. I had to put up with opinions on the people in my life by the office staff instead.

  12. I don’t know. When I read “Danny’s Song” on your list, I thought that the Anne Murray version seemed to scream dentist’s office even more than the Loggins and Messina version. Actually just about anything by Anne Murray could be on the list.

  13. i haven’t been in about 2 years. putting it off because of crappy dental coverage. not so good at the “at home dental care” stuff myself so i’m expecting lots of work.

  14. So I go to the dentist in a few hours. It has been over two years for me, as well.

    At least now I will have something to do other than think about some guys hands in my mouth. I’ll let you know what I hear.

  15. I use to go every six months because I tend to have a lot of plaque buildup (tmi, i know). But I haven’t gone since moving to Germany–I’m afraid. I know it’s not a third-world country, but I just don’t know what to expect. What I am sure of is there won’t be any soothing American music. Where is Anne Murray when you need her?

  16. It’s so weird you posted this, Egan and I were talking about how Anna is going and how I am going, both in the next few days. I don’t judge you for not going for so long, dentists can be scary places AND they don’t serve alcohol.

  17. I didn’t mind my old dentist. It was a great little, low-presure office with the salt-water fish tank and the outdated magazines in the waiting room. The hygentists were pleasant and the dentist made a point of spending time with me every time.

    Then, my insurance changed and good ‘ol dentist was no longer covered. The new dentist office is downtown. It is huge, stark, modern and cold. Ambient/electronic music plays softly throughtout the office. The ‘hygentists’ all wear matching hair, makeup, and black smocks (stepford-esque). I have, on average spent <2 minutes with the actual dentist–the last time I went, I didn’t see him at all. Needless to say, I don’t like my dentist.

  18. I actually went to the dentist yesterday, too! But just for a teeth cleaning …

    They had on the classical music station, which was nice. Other times I’ve been in there (I think in the spring, specifically) and Christmas music came on randomly … When I was growing up my dentist always, always, always played the ‘soft rock’ station. Blech.

  19. You’re so lucky to be blessed with soft rock hits of the 70’s. My dentist plays the local christian station. Talk about making a bad experience worse.

  20. Sounds of Dentistry, vol I

    George Michael – Careless Whisper
    Elton John and Kiki – Dee Don’t Go Breakin’ My Heart
    Genesis – I Can’t Dance
    Lionel Ritche – Easy (Like Sunday Morning)
    Madonna – Borderline
    Kenny Loggins – Your Mama Don’t Dance
    Doobies – What a Fool Believes
    Jefferson Airplane – We Built This City
    Natalie Cole – This Will Be (An Everlasting Love)
    Robert Palmer – Addicted to Love
    Rod Stewart – Rhythm of My Heart
    Bob Seger – Old Time Rock and Roll
    Doobie Brothers – Black Water
    Eagles – Take it To the Limit
    Chris De Burgh – The Lady in Red
    Billy Ocean – Carribbean Queen
    Phil Collins – I Wish It Would Rain Down
    Shawn Colvin – Where Have All the Cowboys Gone

  21. Holy hiney, I couldn’t have picked a better mix that than sounds of Dentistry Vol. 1

    where can I find more of your insight? TFACSoS?

  22. My orthodontist hung himself- so you could be on to something here. πŸ™‚ And I wanted to shoot myself when I worked at a retail store and had to listen to Christmas music for 4 months straight. I can’t stand the music that companies play.

    And while we’re at it- did your dentist also become a seriously pushy salesman? The last two I’ve gone to tried to peddle everything from electric toothbrushes to whitening treatments to a better designed crown. WTF?!

  23. It has been about the same for me. I moved twice and never went back to my old dentist. It is on my must do list.

    When I had braces almost every appoitment had easy Jazz and there is this song that I have blocked out of my head because every time I hear it my teeth remember getting the brackets tightened.

  24. Hmm, I’ve got an appt in 2 weeks where I expect to channel surf away from fox news, discover nothing, and then turn the tv off causing my hygienist to act like a host insisting on getting me a beverage.

  25. You know what makes me even crazier? The fact that my dentist has TVs in all their exam rooms, but force us to listen to the craptastic music. What’s up with that?

  26. My dentist is a hilarious older Jewish man who makes terrible jokes. His office is downtown and every chair has a lovely view of the lake. Plus he’s never found a cavity–when I strayed from him b/c my insurance changed the chick I went to found SIX! I need to pay him a visit, but since I’m now paying out of pocket, I’m even less enthused. :p

  27. I just went Monday for a cleaning and my dentist’s office now has TVs about the chairs so when you’re reclined you can watch TV. It was pretty cool, but sometimes the light was in the way.

    Don’t make me break out my flossing lecture on you. I’ve converted at least 3 people to regular flossing.

  28. This is one of my biggest, if not the biggest, fears about moving out of state. I love my dentist, he’s been my dentist since my first tooth, and I will likely have a heart attack if I ever have to see anyone else. I’m also quite partial to my girl doctor.
    And now I might go have a panic attack thinking about this.

  29. Good for you on going to the dentist. I think that I’m just now getting into flossing after many years of being nagged into it.

    I honestly don’t know if they play music at mine, because I tend to drown it out. My orthodontist when I was a kid always played KSURF which is exactly what it sounds like.

  30. I ❀ my dentists! I started seeing them three years ago but before that? It had been like over 10 years since I’d been to a dentist. Hey no dental insurance means no dentist because checkups out of pocket are *crazy* expensive. And I’ve got a school loan to pay back. Anyway, yes they play softrock and I thought it was because the entire office is made up of women and now I learn it’s universal! Whoa!

  31. Glad to hear you got a good report!

    Me? Ehh…I haven’t been since I was 16 and I am…umm…24 now. So yes it has been a while. I left home when I was 16 so no more Dr.’s appointments for me and now I don’t have dental insurance, which sucks. Still my teeth seems to be doing alright. I’ll be pretty thrilled when I get to go again though.

  32. Who can afford the dentist if you don’t have insurance? Not me. Mine hates me because I call and cancel every month for a year and then finally feel sorry for the receptionist and go on in to the office.

  33. but those songs arent bad!! They’re absolute classics and soo soothing..

    Aw Sizzle, how dare you?? πŸ™‚

    I’d love a dentist that plays soft tunes instead of what I hear at my dentist… radio talkshows all danged day!!

  34. I hear ya sister. I went from going every six months to get my teeth cleaned and to spy on my very own hottie dentist to … not going at all and pouting for 2 years because hottie dentist left town … so 2 years later became just a few weeks ago… I had to get a tiny cavity filled. Last time I had a cavity filled was 1976, a year before Elvis died. I was 9. I have a new hottie dentist but this time I found a dentist that offers laughing gas to ingest. I paid $50 extra bucks to breathe in the funloving fumes and to look up and see the new hottie dentist bend down and look into my mouth. I’m scheduled back for February…. I wont again wait another 2 years…. but like you, I had to get recommendations too. From a coworker no less.

Comments are closed.