It Tastes Like Chicken

While hanging out with the Finnster this weekend he put a single grape in his mouth and held it there in his cheek like a chipmunk for thirty minutes as he watched Elmo. Worried he might choke on it, I made him spit it out (finally) and he immediately cried out, “More grape!” with longing. Instead I gave him some freshly baked banana bread which he promptly bit into then spit out. Hey, thanks kid.

He also, well, there is no delicate way to put this- he has discovered his nose. As in, the nostrils. I was driving him home when I looked back in the rear-view mirror and saw him with a finger up his nose as he gazed out the window. “Hey, what’s that in your nose?” I asked him to which he laughed and stuck his other finger up his other nostril. Awesome. Please, just don’t eat boogers. I beg of you.

40 thoughts on “It Tastes Like Chicken

  1. Ugh. My older brother teaches reading to 5-6-year-olds and one days asked a kid to stop eating his boogers. The kid stopped for a few minutes, then pulled out a huge juicy specimen and offered to to my brother, telling him “It tastes SO GOOD!”

  2. My daugher, who’s now 15, once kept a bite of chicken in her cheek for an entire day. I’m such a clueless mom, it took me about 12 hours to notice and then when I remembered how long it had been since she ate the chicken . . . well . . . ewwwww!

    What is it with kids keeping food in their cheeks like little chipmunks?

  3. Some kids are just “picky” eaters! šŸ™‚ I always give Ava a hard time saying, “I can’t believe you’ll eat boogers but you won’t chicken.”

  4. I can’t believe how big he’s getting. I feel like you were writing about him being born just a few months ago!

    The first time I went to my favorite Indian restaurant there was a little girl in the booth that was directly in my line of site, that picked her nose and ate it during the entire meal. I couldn’t look up or else I saw her doing it. I also saw a grown man doing the same at a meeting a few months back. Thankfully most of us outgrow that habit, right?

  5. Ha! I was trying to get Hunter ready for bed last week when I was watching the kids, and as usual he was doing his infamous bed-time stall tactics. In fact there was even a new one.

    “Hang on MeMe, I have to spit this booger out first!”

  6. I was babysitting a friend’s two year old- she was so excited to show me something. When I looked down at what was on her finger…you can guess, it was a giant booger. It was then that I knew I wasn’t quite ready for motherhood.

  7. This all sounds very familiar. Charlie will actually save boogers on his finger for me, thanks kid. Thank goodness he hasn’t taken to eating them (yet)!

  8. Finding his nose is the least of your worries. Wait until he finds his “winkie” and just can’t wait to show it to you CONSTANTLY, no matter what public place you might be in! ;o)

  9. Ummm, sorry to tell you but the booger eating is a rite of passage:) Hopefully he will do it in front of his parents only.
    And that lil boy just gets cuter and cuter.

  10. Good god he’s such a cutie pie.

    The Boy never did that. He just liked to stick things up his nose. Like peas. We’re sitting there at dinner, he grabs the peas and up his nose it goes.

  11. anything nose related makes me gag a little. Only one of my kids ever picked his nose (besides when they needed to get something and were in the bathroom, of course) and it made me feel sick every time I saw him. I think he kept doing it because of the strong reaction I had to it.

    What a cutie pie he is! I would like to just nibble on his adorable little cheeks (is that totally weird that I would say that about a little guy I don’t even know? I guess I’ll just stick to doing that to my own kids).

    One more thing…none of my kids liked banana bread until they were older. I don’t know why because I think I could eat it all day long and never grow tired of it!

Comments are closed.