Pressing Mute

You know how sometimes you can have a lot to say but you can’t find a way to say any of it?

Yeah, it’s like that.

I’ve attempted to write a couple of posts but they either fell short of funny or were over the top in self-loathing. I’m just too tired to come up with a deep post telling you how I really feel. And how much more fluff can this blog take? Sizzle Says has slipped. That’s the rumor at least.

Last night while I was talking to Jenny Two Times, I mentioned my inability to write anything of substance lately. She agreed saying that she’d noticed. I bet you’ve noticed too. You’re a smart lot of people. I don’t hang out with fools.

The thing is, I’m having a difficult time right now. The things I want to talk about, I can’t find the words for and all the things I need to say, I probably shouldn’t talk about here and my funny has left the proverbial building. I’m maxed out. I’m at that point where if one more thing gets stacked on my plate, I’m dropping it.

So if I am scarce around these parts, that’s the reason.

It’s not you, it’s me.

71 thoughts on “Pressing Mute

  1. I know the feeling. In fact, I feel like that a lot when trying to think of what to say in the comments. I know what I want to say but I can’t seem to get it out right.

    You don’t always have to share. It becomes a burden if it’s like that.

  2. Beat yourself up much?

    It’s just a blog. It’s not you. It doesn’t define you. In fact, I liked the title of your last post. It was a great message within a message.

    Stop feeling like you owe the world an explanation. When your muse calls, you’ll be back at it, the worst thing you could do to yourself (and your bevy of readers) is force it. You’re just not a half-ass kinda gal.

  3. i could’ve written the same post and what a great analogy – pressing mute… sometimes i find it so frustrating when i WANT to write/comment but just can’t find the energy/desire… perhaps when you’ve been doing it for so long, having a dry-spell is normal…

    we’ll get thru it… :o)

  4. Take your time, take a week, do whatever feels right. You will come back recharged and refreshed. Plus it seems you have so much else going on, you probably need it.

  5. Yep, I’m right there with you. Maybe since we both posted the “i choose” post last, it’s some kind of curse. I can’t write anything lately without it coming out shrill and all lecture-ish. Which is exactly the kind of post that I never wanted to write, let alone share. Blah. Take some time, it sounds like work is crazy busy. You will be back when it’s right.

  6. That’s what they always say, “it’s not you it’s me”, but after hearing it so many times I’m beginning to wonder… is it me?

    Take your time and find your voice, we’ll wait…

  7. It sounds like you’re very overwhelmed with your job (jobs?) and when I get like that, it tends to stifle anything “extra” I might have. Writing posts shouldn’t feel like more work you have to do. I have no doubt your voice is still there, and you’ll feel it again, however you decide to continue to use it.

  8. Everybody who blogs feels this way (some times a lot this way). I’ve decided blogging is a conversation. A long conversation. And sometimes in a conversation all you say is “mmmm hmmm” or “cool” or “I hear you.” So if my posts come out sounding like the blogging equivalent of “um, yea” so be it. I hope you can let go and give yourself the space and freedom you need right now. Those listening will get it. And we’ll keep listening.

  9. Because we’re PAYING you for the funnies and the substance, so get on that already, dammit!

    Or not.

    You can’t be everything all of the time. I’m certainly not here solely to be entertained. I’m here because I think you’re a neat person, and I like getting to know you a little better, even if it is awfully removed through the internet. I’m not leaving unless you tell me to. (Please don’t tell me to!)

  10. Well, I think you might be overestimating us… we are fine with non substantive writing.

    You have so much on your plate right now, I think perhaps you need to take some Sizzle time. It seems pretty clear from all the comments that everyone will still be here when you get back to writing. Take care of yourself.

  11. Even though I rarely comment here (it’s not you, it’s me), I’d like you to know how often you say EXACTLY what I’m thinking/feeling/denying. I’m suffering a severe case of blogger’s block, and cannot put together a read-worthy post to save my life. Even *I* am bored by what I’ve written lately (which is why it doesn’t get published). I hate the way my creative juices dry up whenever I’ve got the blues.

    I hope this widespread malaise passes soon, for all our sakes.

  12. we all still love ya Sizz. No one can be “ON” all the time. Take a breather and regroup. No one is going anywhere.

    side note: I hear that lentils helps people find their funny side. I kid you not!

    😉

  13. If you ever need to talk, let me know. I’m a good listener. And don’t worry about posting. I’ll still be here when you feel up to it. I will be thinking good thoughts for you!

  14. Aw well I hope that you start feeling better soon. Do whatever feels good for yourself. If it means staying away from here then you should do it. You come first!

    I have to disagree with you though….I think your posts are very amusing, even if they aren’t meant to be. You have a way with words and I enjoy reading them. Your blog doesn’t always have to reveal your inner most thoughts, it can be fun too.

    Anyway, I do hope you feel better soon and selfishly also hope that you don’t disappear forever! :o)
    XOXO

  15. No worries at all. Do what you need to do. Sometimes it helps to put your private thoughts out on paper. Get it out. Then just trash it, rip it or burn it to get rid of it.

  16. well…unless blogging is your job (which would mean you have 3 jobs instead of just 2 so let’s not dwell on that), then it’s entirely your decision whether or not you blog. and there’s a whole lot of us that will probably be here whenever you decide to return to the blogosphere. 🙂

    also, i may or may not have taken months-long hiatuses in the course of this year and last, myself. *ahem* so i’m right there with you, just so’s you know.

  17. It’s okay to be maxed out – the important thing is that you don’t force yourself to write anything that you aren’t feeling…as hard as it may be. let go and just go with it and soon you’ll move out of this funk…

  18. No prob. You’ll still be in my Reader for whenever you feel up to posting. 🙂 Until then, should I send cookies down to you??

  19. *kisses*
    You are always clever and enjoyable to be with. Meanwhile, I’ll share my fresh baked cookies with you, and think happy thoughts. You’ll get thru this.

  20. I feel like everything I write lacks substance. Once in a while I put out a doozy, but they are few and far between.

    Good luck with seeking the cure. If you find it, please share.

  21. It’s ok to say what you have to say or not as the case maybe. Hang in there. Hope your finding the support you need. Definitely here if you need.

  22. Thanks for letting us know you struggle like the rest of us. Because I usually do think your posts are cute and witty! Especially “Life over Blogging.”

  23. I ran into the same block and then tortured myself going back several years and looking at my witty writings and joie de vivre just bouncing off the page.

    As they say, this too shall pass. I find that people read blogs because they genuinely LIKE the person writing it and want to keep up with them. We all have ups and downs and so keep blogging through yours and all will be fine.

    Sending a hug and a comfy blanket.

  24. I dont know what’s going on with you, but I hope things improve soon. And hey, I enjoy your posts no matter what you talk about. You’re always clever. 🙂

  25. Wouldn’t life be really shitty if the proverbial roller coaster never went down? How would we know when it was at it’s highest until we’ve seen it’s lowest?

    Hopefully you’ll feeling gravity pulling at your stomach once again (representing the deviation in altitude).

  26. I’ve been where you are and I hate it. The good news is the muse usually returns more badass than ever. You’ll be fine. I’ll be here. Doesn’t matter how long it takes.

  27. Take all the time you need, we’ll be here when you’re ready. Until then feel free to call/email/twitter if you need to talk. Sometimes saying it to one person instead of broadcasting it feels different. HUGS Enjoy your day off tomorrow.

  28. There’s a lotta love up in here. We’ll be here, whether you wants or not. And for the luv of Fozzy Bear, get yourself a cupcake!

  29. Don’t worry, it happens to all of us from time to time. I know I haven’t been the best blogger on the planet lately (and seem to have the stats to support this). I’m still reading along – when I find the time. So take all the time you need.

  30. Sometimes going quiet is just what we need to come back with even greater appreciation and fodder for our writing. I suspect something like that might happen. 🙂

    Wishing you all the sunshine and peace you need right now. We’ll be waiting, whenever.

  31. From one who is “feeling the burn (out)” too, to another. Take some time for yourself and get back in touch with your funny. We’ll be here when you get back. 🙂

  32. Sorry I haven’t been around in a while. I just put up my first post in 8 weeks and it took me 3 times as long as it usually does(that’s what she said) to write it, so I know what you mean. Hang in there and don’t worry about writing again until the desire to do so hits you.

  33. I know what you mean. I’ve been posting maybe once a week (or two) for awhile. Today’s post took hours to write and I definitely didn’t bring the funny. It seems that a lot of bloggers are in a similar place.

  34. 1) You could simply write about what television shows you watched or what music you heard that day.

    2) If I had a nickel for every time I heard “it’s not you, it’s me”…

Comments are closed.