Freeeeeeeedom!

I don’t mean to state the obvious but today is Friday. And while Fridays are a day to look forward most of the time, on this particular Friday, I am elated. Because today is my last day of work for a week.

ONE ENTIRE WEEK!

What this means is: I survived. I managed to work two positions, maintain our volunteer program, jump in and coordinate back to back fundraisers, and hire my replacement without anyone losing their life and most of all, without me losing my shit. Okay maybe I lost it a little. But a little is better than ending up in the psych ward. Perspective, people.

So now comes training my replacement. After four days of it I can tell you that passing on two years of knowledge is downright exhausting. All that talking and demonstrating! Who knew I had so much information? The new hire was already an employee with our organization so she’s being handed the same problem of wearing multiple hats and being asked to do two jobs “for the time being.” Now it feels like we’re a juggling duo both tossing balls to one another, trying not to drop them, while we figure out who is doing what in the interim.

There’s a part of me that is really going to miss my old position. I was good at it. I built a lot of structure and systems out of nothing. I trained and placed hundreds of volunteers. I built relationships with the community and perfected my pitch speech. It’s hard to think that I gave all that up for a chance to plan fundraising events in a wretched economy. I gave up stability for risk. It was the right thing to do for me but that doesn’t stop me from feeling a wee bit sad to let the old job go. I am hoping that after a week off from work I can return rejuvinated and inspired. I will FINALLY be able to focus more on my new role and really dive in. There is possibility and promise there; I just need to open my eyes to it.

But first I’m going to rest. I’m going to do whatever I damn well please- watch hours on end of the Food Network while laying on my couch in my pajamas or spend all day on line reading blogs or hang out in a cafe drinking tea and reading a book or being crafty or baking muffins from scratch or sitting and staring at a wall. Who knows what kind of shenanigans I will get into? Got any recommendations?

41 thoughts on “Freeeeeeeedom!

  1. Ohhh, cool, a whole week off! Good for you! You deserve it and congrats for holding your shit together cuz I don’t know if I could have with that crazy schedule!

  2. Sleep.

    I have the next week off, as well, and, despite the fact we are traveling, I plan on sleeping and not thinking about my job.

  3. Awww, Sizz. I am so happy you made it. AND you get the reward of a week off from work. Wow. Just wow. That’s fantastic! My suggestion: wake up each day and do something new. Something you’ve been meaning to do but haven’t had time. Whether it’s a walk through a local park. Or visiting a local site. Whatever it is. Check one thing off that list each day and you’ll not only feel rested at the end of the week, you’ll feel accomplished, too!

  4. I’ve got an offer you can’t refuse: want to run OUR volunteer program on your week off? The pay is lousy, but on the other hand, so are the working conditions, so it’s a win-win.

    If you don’t want to do that, watch some college football. There are a lot of great games this time of year.

  5. For my un-vacation next week, I will be taking my boys on daily mommy adventures. The there is college football (look for me in the crowd at the Nebraska-Colorado game on Friday!)

  6. I am so happy that you are finally getting some time for a proper break! Not a moment too soon huh?
    I suggest wine, shopping for red shoes, more wine, shopping for red lipstick, reading and more wine. How does that sound? ;o)

  7. Drink wine! Watch random tv! Sleeeeeeeeeeep!

    Oh right, that’s what I’M doing on my week off.

    I’ll be thinking of you, though, and hoping your week is restorative like I hope mine is.

  8. Enjoy some very well deserved time off. I have no idea about what has gone on around here – I’ve been a bad blogger! Going to read back a little and see what Sexy Sizzle has been up to!

  9. Enjoy your week off — you definitely deserve it. One great thing about you taking the risk for the fundraising is that it will be a great stepping stone into other organizations, whenever you’re ready. It sounds like if anyone can do that well in this economy, it will be someone like you.

  10. Glad you made it! A week off work can feel like an eternity. Maybe a pedicure? Haircut? Something that makes you feel pampered, whatever that may be for you. Maybe the Fella can give you a massage?

  11. Cute graduation photo. You look a little like my friend’s mom, but she’s dead.

Comments are closed.