Seeing Red

On Monday while out to dinner with Kaply and the Fella, Kap and I realized we had hair appointments at the same salon within an hour of each other the very next day. What a coincidence!

Kaply went bold and went blonde.

kaplyblonde

Dude.

My hair process took three hours. First we had to bleach it.

stepone

And by “we” I mean my hair stylist.

Then we colored it but the color came out too light. All I could see when I looked in the mirror were EYEBROWS. It was like they were screaming at me from my face. EEEEEEYYYYYYYYEEEEEBBBRRRROOWS! They looked too dark in contrast to the hair color. So under the heat I went again.

undertheheat

Finally, we got this.

new-hair-002

While it is still lighter than I originally intended, it works. It’s nuanced and rich and doesn’t allow my eyebrows to overpower my face. AND I bet my Mom will stop asking me if I am having some sort of identity crisis because I finally don’t have those red chunks in my hair. Consider this an early Christmas present, Mom.

new-hair-001

And yes, I totally took that photo in my bathroom.

52 thoughts on “Seeing Red

  1. You look beautiful!

    I know exactly what you mean about “eyebrows”. I can always tell in the summer when my hair gets too light because of that.

  2. It’s gorgeous- and so so flattering! I’ve been fiending for a change, too…I just need to find the money and balls to do it!

  3. I love this new color! And your eyebrow comment made me think of all the times I see women with bleached blonde hair and black eyebrows. I think, “Wow. *That’s* natural.”

  4. Your are always gorgeous, and yes, hair change can definitely take time. My stylist takes 75 minutes to cut my hair every. single. time. Makes me a little crazy, but I always love the results!

  5. Hubba hubba, hot stuff! I’m going next week to remedy my identity crisis. After last week’s “grandma” incident, I’m thinking the white has to go.

  6. Love it! (I love your look in general.)

    Me I am still about my surreal streaks. (That sounds like an existantial crisis don’t it?)

  7. Proving once again you can’t take a bad photo… even with your head covered up like a cotton ball!

    Tracy’s the better dresser, however. 🙂

  8. Ooh, pretty! I really like it!

    My hair is boring me, I need to come up with something to do to change things up I think. Of course I have no idea what I want to do with it though.

Comments are closed.