Magnetic Couch

I felt the beginnings of it Tuesday- bleary eyed, warm forehead, sore throat. By the time I’d gotten out of work, gone to the bank and done my grocery shopping, I was longing for bed. The next morning when I woke up, I tried to tell myself I could go into work but really, who was I kidding? It wasn’t like I was FULL BLOWN sick but sometimes you have to make the decision to cut it off at the pass.

So, I called in sick.

I proceeded to spend too much time on the computer, watch the tail end of The View (ohmygod no that show PAINS me), and do two loads of laundry. Bonus to staying home sick? No one is around hogging the washers and dryers. I took medication and proceeded to fall asleep for two hours. That never happens unless I am sick.

I had the intention of accomplishing Christmas-related chores but the pull of the couch was too strong. Its magnetic force would pull me back each time I’d rise to accomplish something. It’s weird how you can lose an entire day to pajamas, bad TV and the couch.

I feel better today but am still going to take it easy. I cannot afford to get sick. I have THINGS TO DO. At least I (fingers crossed, knock on wood) won’t go through what I went through last year. The head bandage was just not sexy.

Tomorrow it might snow in Seattle. While excited at the prospect, I’m concerned that I will really get a full blown illness since tomorrow is my first volunteer activity and it just so happens to be outside. Hat, mittens, gloves, warm coat, maybe thermal underwear? I’m gonna have to bundle up like that kid in A Christmas Story. Hopefully I won’t topple over.

35 thoughts on “Magnetic Couch

  1. Fuck. Seriously? Snow? I refuse. I don’t have time to be stuck at home or doing shit for work, because other people can’t make it in because it snowed. I still need to go Christmas shopping and buy a tree!

  2. Ugh. It seems so unfair that one of the busiest times of the year is also a high-sickness time. Although maybe that’s not a coincidence…

  3. You’ve been running yourself ragged lately. Your body definitely deserves time on the couch. But, would you mind moving over? I need some space there, too!

  4. Uh-oh! *packs Sizzle in warm blankies*
    Try not to get chilled when you go out, tomorrow. I know you gotta do what you gotta do, but be careful. Wear tight-fitting layers at the skin level, to keep the heat in.

  5. I have to admit that I’m concerned that it’s also supposed to rain tomorrow yet the lows in the 20s, so I hope we don’t get any ice (esp. since the high on Sat. is supposed to be 31).

    Hope you’re feeling better soon to have a nice weekend!

  6. You need lots and lots of long underwear! I hope you successfully staved off the sickness- this is a crap time of year to be sick!

  7. Don’t push yourself too hard, Sizz. Easier said than done, I realize. Gargle some Listerine (or warm salt water) to keep the throat at bay. I hope you’re feeling back to 100% soon!

  8. Hope you feel better, just take it easy. I do the same thing when I’m sick, try to get things done around the house. But it’s best to just sit and vedge and watch The Waltons (or whatever other drivel puts you to sleep). Not The View.. that show is just bad for women’s blood pressure.

  9. Did you call in sick on the Gay Sick Out day or whatever it was called? Does MightyHunter know about this? πŸ˜‰

    I’m glad you’re feeling better though.

  10. Hope you’re feeling better soon, Sizzle! I didn’t even know snow was forcasted for our area….I’m so out of the loop and I need to get back to looking at the news. ha.

  11. I hate it when you get sick and you really need to not get sick. Sometimes it’s okay to be sick, but not when you are busting your ass at work everyday!

    I hope you feel better soon, babe πŸ™‚

  12. I hate the whole discussion I have with myself over whether or not I will feel more sick the next day. My sick days are LIMITED, so I want to make sure I only use them when I feel REALLY CRUMMY.

  13. they’re saying snow for us down here, as well, for the entire weekend. We’ll see.

    Hope you feel better this weekend. I recommend hot toddies, but I seem to recommend those for just about everything, so make of that what you will. πŸ™‚

  14. I normally work thru the worst part of my sickness, and by the time I decide I need to take off, I’m already getting better.

    Get well
    Get well soon
    We wish you to get well…

Comments are closed.