Who ordered this White Christmas? You’re in SO MUCH trouble!

Oh right. . . that was ME who ordered it. Damn it!ย  It is hard to believe that it’s only a mere week since I was hoping, dreaming, praying for snow.

You know how they say, “Careful what you wish for”? Yeah. . . about that. I have an announcement:

I AM BREAKING UP WITH SNOW.

I woke up this morning to more snow falling and while I will admit to her beauty, she’s really an annoying bitch underneath. Seeing all that snow meant a) there will be more shoveling in my future (pray for my back and armpits), b) Plan B to get to my Mom’s is going into effect and c) I will be at home all day going nowhere (thank goodness for the internet).

So here I am facing my first ever White Christmas but it’s not making me break out into song. If the Fella and I can brave the un-plowed roads to get to my Mom’s we may very well get stuck there. How’s THAT for family togetherness?

Instead of whining on and on in this crabby post in a very bahumbug manner here’s the bright side:

  • My family is all here in one city for the first time in years and years.
  • It’s not every day a girl from the beaches of California gets a White Christmas.
  • I live in a beautiful city. Granted, she is ill equipped to deal with snow, I love her in spite of this massive failing.
  • I am lucky to have two awesome jobs in a crappy economy.
  • I live in a cool old building with a kick ass apartment.
  • I get to watch my nephew open his presents on Christmas morning.
  • The Fella’s Subaru has AWT. Go Subaru! You are currently our lifeline.
  • I am surrounded by wonderful friends who humble me with their generosity and love.
  • I have all of YOU who brighten my every day.

Here’s my holiday tip for everyone: Find the bright side. Then stay there.

Happy Holidays to you and yours!

31 thoughts on “Who ordered this White Christmas? You’re in SO MUCH trouble!

  1. I’m sorry to hear you and snow are having a fight. I think you have the right idea, find the bright side. That will be my mantra tomorrow, thanks for a timely reminder!

  2. Find the bright side & stay there– that’s EXACTLY the advice I needed to hear on this rainy Christmas Eve morning before I head into work retail. Thanks =)
    Hope you & the snow make up soon, and that you have a safe drive later on.

  3. Wonderful advice! I needed that. Ha. Steven was singing praises to other people’s Subarus yesterday. We are sharing a car right now (my VERY OLD Oldsmobile) and in the market to buy an SUV.

    It is still snowing here. I want to break up as well. Maybe I should announce it after I make my 300 mile drive tonight? hee hee

    Happy Holidays!

  4. Today’s snow is wet too..not fun to shovel. I’d say screw it and wait for it to turn to rain.

    Way to look on the bright side. My bright side is:
    -I still love the snow.
    -I got to take my son sledding for the first time (on a local residential street, no less).
    -I got to test out or soccer-mom-mobile’s AWD.
    -made for some easy (no-crowd) Xmas shopping this week.

    Take it easy, have some nog, and have a merry Christmas!

  5. Thanks for the reminder Sizz. Last night in the middle of my stupid crying jag, I kept telling myself “It could be worse” and it truly could. So I’ll look for the bright side and hope it has NO SNOW. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Merry Christmas!

  6. I can’t believe I’m saying this but please send me some of your snow! It’s a bummer to be this cold and have nothing to show for it.
    Here’s to the bright side! Have a wonderful holiday!

  7. “Find the bright side. Then stay there.” I love it!
    Merry Christmas to you and your loved ones. May all be blessed with health and happiness.

  8. Have a Merry Christmas, Sizzle and hope you can get out to your mom’s tomorrow (or today?). Snow is a bit like the person that seems great on the first date but gets more annoying each time you see him/her, right?

  9. Oh dear… it’s raining here at the moment. (No worries, there is no much snow it won’t do much except cause flooding and freezing.)

    Have a wonderful Chrismtas.

  10. I don’t like to complain about the snow either, because, really? I think it’s beautiful, fun and it’s a chance for us all to slow down and take things as they come. But when I woke up this morning and saw it snowing a-fucking-gain, I thought “well, this must stop.”

    Merry White Christmas! Have fun with your nephew and family!

  11. I think they shipped my order to you LOL. Would explain why you got so much. No snow here for Christmas. I hope you had a wonderful holiday.

  12. I hope you had a wonderful day! I had such a relaxing holiday with my husband and family…kids, dogs, cats and kielbasi…what could be better? Be safe!

  13. It rained all Christmas Eve and by Christmas morning most of our snow was gone. **sigh**

    Hope you enjoyed your white Christmas, inconveniences aside.

Comments are closed.