You Ask, I Answer

Instead of getting myself in hot water blogging about work (which is what I REALLY want to talk about), I’ve decided to intervene on my own angsty self. A while back I participated in that interview meme that’s going around and ended up with ten questions. Here are the results.

From my bloggy pal SJ of Pseudotherapy:

1. Your nephew Finn may be the most adorable little boy of all time. Has being Auntie TeeTee made you more inclined, or less, to have children of your own?

Depends on the day, really. I definitely see what a rewarding journey it is to raise a child AND what an all-encompassing, life-altering job it is. Am I up for the challenge? Probably. Though at this rate, nearing 36, I don’t really think I will be birthing my own kids.

2. Imagine your dream job, and describe it for us.

I put this question off until the end. I’m having a really difficult time answering it! Now that I am event planning again, I’m questioning if this is what I should do. I thought at almost 36 I would have a better idea of what I should be doing. I still feel like my life’s purpose has yet to be actualized. How’s that for a hippy & evasive answer? I feel like there were many paths I could have taken over the course of my life, maybe there still are. I’m pretty depressed around the whole work thing right now so I’ll have to get back to you.

3. How did you acquire your sense of style and fashion moxie?

I’m flattered you think I have any! I used to be one of those girls who longed to fit in with the current fashions. You know, Benetton and the like. But I was a chubby kid so I never really got that experience. I also went to private elementary and high schools so I wore a uniform. Let me tell you, on the days we got to dress in “regular” clothes I just about had a panic attack. It wasn’t really until I met my friend Jenny Two Times that I embraced dressing differently than others. We used to shop at thrift stores every weekend- back when that was not the norm and clothing could be bought for a dollar a piece. Back in my early college days I dressed in vintage clothes mixed with modern pieces. There was a period of time I was stuck in the 1940s. Now I just try to mix new and old with bold colors and fun patterns to have fun. I think a lot of larger women dress blandly because a) that’s what is offered to us in the stores and b) we are told to not stand out. I say that’s a bunch of bullshit! Wear what you like and feel good about yourself no matter what your size.

4. Of all the frogs you kissed before you found Prince Fella, which one (without naming names!) was the worst?

Hmm, there were definitely a couple. One guy who was new to kissing used to just open and close his mouth. Not even puckering! Like a fucking fish that one was. I am sure he is off kissing like a champ now after my tutelage. The worst of the worst though? Was Hairy Lizard. Very nice chap but. . . When he kissed he darted his tongue in and out like a lizard. Um, EW. No thanks.

5. Share with us who the top five people are on your “Bloggers I’d Love To Meet” list, and why.

I’ve been really lucky to meet a lot of bloggers and hope that I continue to. There are so many I still want to meet- it’s really difficult to choose. I’ll go with the ones that date back from the early years of my blogging career. . .
Sue from Torn Pages

Kevin from Kapgar

Tori from Radioactive Girl

Shana from Gorillabuns

SJ from Pseudotherapy

From my blog brother, Kevin from Kapgar.

1. What is your dream place to live, money and job be damned, and why?

I don’t know if I’ve been there yet BUT it would definitely be near the ocean. I have seriously toyed with the idea of moving to Mexico and running a little spa. I think because my trip to Mexico was the most relaxed I’ve ever been. I should probably just take another vacation. If I could afford a house on the water with a view? It would be BLISS. I miss the sound of the waves.

2. Who is the one person you would be most scared to have discover your blog and why?

Most everyone knows I have blog so the people I don’t want reading it already read it. (Yes, I mean YOU.) (Just kidding.) (You know who you are.) I don’t want my current boss or my landlords/bosses reading it. Neither are very savvy when it comes to the internet. (One insists that I fax things when I could save time and trees by emailing and the other has trouble inserting a logo into a word document. I REST MY CASE.) It’d be kind of awful if my tenants found my blog. (Knock on wood!)

3. You have been named personal advisor to Barack Obama, what is your first piece of advice to him?
#1) Quit smoking.
#2) Don’t give into the bullshit, please. Keep it real.

4. What is your favorite sex toy? It can be one you’ve used or not. (gotta love the “progression” of questions, eh?)

What is sex? I seem to have forgotten.

5. If you were to give up blogging and your online presence entirely, what would you do with all your spare time?

I’d probably craft so much I could open my own Etsy shop. Or maybe I’d take up dancing.

If you’d like to play along, just follow these instructions:
1. Leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.” (And realize I might take a while to get back to you.)
2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions. (Eventually!)
3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions. Be sure you link back to the original post.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

37 thoughts on “You Ask, I Answer

  1. Ew to the open mouth, fish sucking guy! What was his deal? He should have gone to kissing school or something. (If that even existed.)

    Finn-ADORABLE!

    Your fashion style-absolutely love!

    And p.s. I wish I could blog about work. Unfortunately I can’t let out a lot of the stuff without being anonymous.

  2. The idea of someone kissing by just opening and closing their mouth… oh my. I wonder what made him think that was a good idea.

  3. I can relate to your #1 and #2. I was thinking of even blogging about #1. It’s amazing that being with the right person might affect your outlook on having kids but I’m one year behind you and feel that age is getting in my way. I just don’t want to be 60 with a kid (or two) in college.

    Funny that you mention the spa thing — I was thinking of that very idea this past weekend. Since I’m very unsure of what my job is going to be like in the next few months, I wondered if that might be the sign that it would be the righ time to change things up and change direction and what would that be. Something fun and relaxing came to mind, like a spa.

  4. I adore answering questions, so when you get around to it, you could so interview me. 🙂

    I think I would die if my boss found my blog (which won’t happen because like your boss, she can’t figure out how to resize the font in a Word Document let alone navigate the internet!). I don’t really talk about work on my blog but the person I am behind my desk is quite different than the person I am when I leave these walls.

  5. Regarding answer one, I must forward to you advice from the great Rose Castorini who once said, “It ain’t over ’til its over” that’s all I’ll say.

    Damn, I think I am spewing random quotations from Moonstruck…

  6. Granny and I have talked about running a Bed and Breakfast in the mountains somewhere, perhaps Northern California/Oregon or Durango, CO. The only problem is that we’ve got to get rid of the kids/grandkids first! Oh yes, that, and a little thing called money…

  7. Love this stuff – it’s so fun to get to know fellow bloggers better. Oh and if you open that spa in Mexico, let me know – I’d like to book a weekend there!

  8. Heh! Great reading these answers.
    Okay, Finn is adorable, and yes, you are a stylish chica. You will always miss living by water, because it gets in your soul somehow, it’s proximity. Mmm.
    The Kissing guys? blechh. I cannot even imagine the Ick factor! (notice I said ick? smirk)

    The one person I would hate to read my blog would be my Mom. She *does* know of it’s existence, which is freaking scarey enough! The reason I would hate for her to read it, would be her penchant for criticsm, and then passing on everfy available bit of information to my siblings. I would die from the exposure. Piracy would be our only option. 😉

    Thanks for sharing this today.

  9. Okay, I would so love it if you would interview me. I know you don’t know me very well (or, at all!), but I love this idea, so ask me anything!!

  10. I hear you on blog privacy. Work knows about it which definitely limits what I can write, but at the same time, it comes with the territory of not being an anonymous blogger.

    Interview me, please? 🙂

  11. I often stay way clear of ‘memes’ I find the majority sooo brain numbing but wait, whats this!

    Well what a wonderful idea, I would love to take part!

    Please do interview me, when you’ve the time of course!

  12. How fun; I’d be up for an interview by the Sizz 🙂

    P.S. At the same age, I, too, am unsure when my own “life’s purpose” will be actualized. Strength in numbers ;).

  13. We do go back a bit, don’t we? I am fervently hoping that we DO meet at TequilaCon ’09! And my Baby BlogBro Kevin is #1 on my wish list.

    I learned my lesson in moving away from the ocean. NEVER AGAIN. I felt like my soul was dying day by day. Never more than 30 minutes away, ever again.

    And I too had no idea Obama smokes!

  14. I’m game if/when you have time. Oh, I think Obama quit the smokes, or that’s what I heard… could be wrong.

  15. Pingback: The questions, they don’t stop! « My 2 Cents

  16. Pingback: When, not if. « Walking Punchline

  17. Pingback: You ask, I Answer « [Enter Title Here]

  18. Pingback: wanna play? « Skrinkering Hearts

Comments are closed.