Just In Cases

I just bought myself some Renters Insurance.

It seems like an unusual thing to do now as I am nearing 36 and have been renting since I was… oh, 22 years old but a series of events have brought the necessity to my attention.

Event One: My landlord told me about one of her other apartment managers who had a toaster fire in his kitchen. Damage and loss and lots of problems that Renters Insurance could have helped out with.

Event Two: I have begun purchasing “grown up” furniture. Since I have moved in here I’ve splurged on a new bed, couch and other miscellaneous items. I want to protect my investment.

Event Three: I left a burner on my gas stove with a frying pan on top for about two hours. WHILE I WAS HOME. But did not notice.

Event Four: I left a burner on very low without a frying pan on top just this week. I left home at 10:30 am and returned at 7:30 pm to find a smelly but very lucky apartment still standing. IT WAS ON FOR NINE HOURS.

Event Five: I have become a forgetful idiot.

I think the insurance will be the best $25 a month I have ever spent. Because you never know and you’d hate to find out.

Knock on wood!

52 thoughts on “Just In Cases

  1. I actually just got that for my apartment- but mine, because random things have started to get stolen.. i.e. my shoes? Yeah. I don’t know either.

  2. Did the same thing when I moved to FL in 2000. Not sure why I didn’t have it for the, oh, 20 years before that… You’re always seem to be well-informed so you’ve probably already checked this out, but can you bundle it together with your car insurance? I do it with mine (State Farm) and I get a wicked deal on the renters portion.

  3. We are in sweet love with our renter’s insurance. Not because we plan on burning our apartment down anytime soon, but because for as little as it costs each month it’s worth its weight in gold if something ever DOES happen. We’ve had it since Chris bought his first Mac when we were back in Spokane.

    Can’t wait to see you! xoxo

  4. Good move. My husband did the frying pan thing last weekend. I came home to find an empty pan sitting over a medium flame and a cup of milk he had left half-full was spilled all over the living room rug by the dog. I think he was trying to get me back for forgetting to put the trash can on top of the refrigerator once, and he came home to dirty diapers and coffee grounds everywhere. (We have a really bad dog.)

  5. Yeah, I have to say that we bundle our renter’s with the car insurance and it’s pretty inexpensive. I became a renter’s insurance NUT when our friends’ apartment burned down. They lost everything – if not because of the fire itself, but because of smoke damage and water damage from putting out the fire. So…yeah. Good thing to have.

  6. My roommate just convinced me the other day that we NEED to get this! We love our computers WAY to much to not. Question: how/where do I get it? I suppose I could do my own research but I’m lazy.

    Yes is being my answer. Easy question.

  7. “all growed up” that comment above…craks me up!!

    Who knew renters insurance was so in-expensive? Coming from a thirty year old who still has YET to purchase furniture not from a thrift store or taken from the side of the road πŸ™‚

    Good decision!

  8. I know far too many people who have been devastated by home fires. Renters / Home owners insurance are a must. An absolute must. It’s hard enough dealing with the loss of all your belongings. I can’t imagine doing that knowing I have to pay for everything out of pocket.

  9. I think this is a terrific idea. It was always on my mind when I was in my apartments that anything could happen and I would have no legal way to get my belongings.

    This is something I am going to pursue next time. Kudos to you! I’m sure it’s a great feeling knowing you are protected.

  10. renters insurance=a good thing. plus, it also covers weird random stuff, like if your car gets broken into, or if your dog bites someone. you know, if you had a dog.

    oh, and i love that whole scene in “love, actually”, for as incredibly over-the-top cheesy as it is. but mostly because i wished i was that girl and colin firth was proposing to me.

  11. So your memory is going…..the knees are next. It won’t be long after that sleep will sound better than sex.

    You did the right thing!

  12. You are a smart girl. I’ve done the leave-the-burner-on thing too, but didn’t go out and buy renter’s insurance. I also left a candle going for about 12 hours while I was away from the house. Clearly you and I suffer from the same variation of early-onset Alzheimer’s.

  13. Your stove situation is my worst nightmare. I check the stove and the gas fireplace like 10x before I walk out the door — Ted thinks I’m OCD for it.

  14. Absolutely the best $25 a month anyone can spend. The Equity Properties in Seattle won’t let you move in without it and I know several property management companies require it. It’s just good practice and besides, it gives you an excuse to allow yourself to buy nicer things to adorn your home.

  15. Yikes! I worked with a girl years ago who got a call at work one day. From the firemen. To let her know there had been a fire in her apt. She went home to find literally everything she owned in a burned and soaked heap on the sidewalk. She’d left a curling iron on. After that, I never went without renters insurance… and now that I own a home, homeowners insurance of course!

  16. Renter’s insurance was very, very good when we were robbed last January. Something like five grand worth of electronics was stolen, and we were able to replace it all within two weeks.

  17. OMGosh!!

    I am horrible about forgetting pot and pans on burns still (burning?) on.

    I’ve always had renter’s insurance because my mom’s an insurance broker. Can’t get away from that insurance crap. LOL

  18. The renter above me shoved cloth diapers down the toilet that connects to my toilet. It exploded. Thus causing $7,800 damage into MY APT. Her rental insurance covered it all but her deduction. This happened 12/21/2008 and finally after 19 days of having no ceilings, no walls in my bathroom and had to have my carpet replaced from 4 inches of stinky sewer water in four of my six rooms… Life is back to “normal.” So yes having rental insurance is a good thing.

  19. Is that like contents insurance? Cos you have to have it here in the UK if you’re renting. I wouldn’t be without it cos you just never know what might happen.

  20. I was prompted to do the same when a vehicle was broken into and contents were stolen from the vehicle. I inquired about filing a claim was told the loss isn’t covered under auto insurance but is under home owners or renters.

  21. Good for you! When my condo burnt down, I was lucky that I had JUST finished university and could still be insured under my parents plan but I know a lot of people were really screwed because they didn’t have insurance. Now I have it and I sleep better too!

  22. Would that title be a reference to Love Actually? πŸ™‚

    I always thought Renter’s Insurance was a good idea, but never got around to it πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.