Honesty Is Such a Lonely Word

bloghonestawardew8I knew when I started reading my friend Vanessa’s post over at her site, Random Ramblings, that she was going to tag me for this meme. And I swear I didn’t cheat and scroll down to see. I just had a hunch. The deal is, as an honoree, I have toΒ  A) list 10 honest things about myself – and make it interesting, even if I have to dig deep! (Dig deep? I hardly ever do that so this will be a stretch. AHEM.) and B) pass the award on to 4 bloggers that I feel embody the spirit of the Honest Scrap. (Vanessa changed the rules to say “embody” because she is SO like that. And I mean that as a compliment.)

Ten Truthful Things:

1) I have to hold onto a wall or railing when taking the stairs because I am deathly afraid that I will miss a step and plummet to my death. If I keep thinking like this, surely it will be a self-fulfilling prophecy.

2) I like scary, suspenseful movies but not if I have to sleep alone after watching it. While E.T. is not a scary movie, I used to be afraid that E.T. was in my closet. I KNOW HE IS A NICE ALIEN but my child’s mind did not care about logic.

3) I have a very difficult time being in a messy environment. When I was a kid, I babysat for this family who lived in filth. Dog hair, spilled cereal, dishes piled in the sink, layers of dust and a strange, stale odor in the air and it was SO GROSS. The kids were adorable but I felt like I needed to shower when I got home.

4) I am a very light sleeper. I bring ear plugs with me when I travel because I am very, very unpleasant if I don’t get enough sleep. On that same note, if I get to the place of starvation, I am an utter and complete bitch. Watch the blood sugar!

5) I really, really, really want to learn new dances. Especially Flamenco. I have a very stupid reason for not signing up. (See #8)

6) I cannot eat spicy food. I’m a complete spice wimp. I am, however, building up my wasabi tolerance.

7) I adore ferris wheels but only from afar. I don’t want to ride on them (vertigo) but I do want to collect photos of them.

8) I spend far too much time feeling bad about my looks, specifically my body. This. Really. Must. Stop.

9) I have crushes on girls. My current crush is Rosario Dawson. I would say Kate Winslet but mostly I want to BE her, not make out with her.

10) I am not living up to my full potential.

I tag:

Radioactive Girl

Bright Yellow World

Matterdays

Iron Fist

30 thoughts on “Honesty Is Such a Lonely Word

  1. Ok.
    A) That is my all-time favorite song. Go Billy.
    B) Me, too: 1, 3, 4, 5, 8, 9 and maybe 10. About 5 – two years ago I decided, fuck it. I want to dance. I signed up for lessons and it was a total fucking blast! I want to do it again!

  2. Being Kate Winslet? Yes, please. She is fantastic and I never tire of her.

    Messy environments are THE WORST. I come from very messy parents and I can not stand messes. While I am living with them again my room is an oasis.

  3. See, I have a girl crush on Winslet. Honstly, do you know of another actress who’s bared it all in practically every movie they’re in? She’s got balls.

  4. Ditto with E.T. I’m not sure which one scared me more: Yoda or E.T. I just know I fled the theater for both!

  5. #4 re: the needing food? Yeah, I’m exactly the same. I become uber bitch if I’m hungry πŸ˜‰

    They were a good 10 things. I love these kind of lists. Made sure I got tagged last week for one hehe πŸ˜‰

  6. Hey, E.T. is a nice alien, but he’s freaky lookin’. I’m right there with you on that one.

    As for Kate Winslet, there are many things I’d do with her. Many.

    And thank you for not tagging me. I had that nagging fear you had, but mine wasn’t fulfilled. πŸ˜‰

  7. Number 2! I am so happy to hear that I am not the only one! And number 4 also (both the sleeping and the hunger).

    Did I ever tell you that when my youngest was a baby, I would be terrified every time I walked by this one railing on the second floor of our house. I was terrified because I was positive I’d trip, lose my grip on him and he’d fall. I actually used to make my husband carry him when I had to walk through the one particular place in our house. I maybe should have saved that for my own thing when I do it though! I will try to remember to do this soon because it is fun!

  8. i have a crush on, and wouldn’t mind being kate winslet either. she’s on the cover of some magazine this month… allure? she looks AMAZING.

  9. I am so glad to hear that other people worry about the stairs also. I thought I was a freak. It started off with just stairs with holes in them. (Carkeek Park’s terrify me) But then when I was pregnant I freaked out at Barnes and Noble attempting to get on the escalator and now all stairs scare me.. the more open the scarier.

  10. I love the K/Cates (Winslett and Blanchett) and I’m with you on the light sleeping. I wake up too much and I’m unfortunately a bear when woken up too early.

  11. #10: I am not living up to my full potential.

    You took the words right out of my mouth. It is my greatest fear, my greatest battle, and long-suffering plight. The potential is immense…the reality doesn’t quite match up!

    I enjoyed this one….love honesty!!!!

  12. Oh man. I wanna be Kate Winslet too. Or make out with her. Whatever. She is one rockin’ babe!

    I cannot do spicy either. My husband can and I feel so lame when I am complaining about the “medium” salsa!

    I think you’re a hot tamale, and I have a little girl crush on you, so quit worrying about that bod πŸ™‚

  13. There is a STAPLES commercial, where this woman is speaking about how her office can save so much money? They cn start serving morning Donuts!! again! She is smiling so wide, and so childishly happy– she reminds me aLOT of you.:-) I think you have a way of helping people bare themselves, but in doing so, it can be hard to feel that way.(if that makes sense)

    Being Honest isn’t a problem you have, nope. I thin k however that you are willing to be, makes you truly beautiful.

  14. I’m sad that I wasn’t taged for this, but in truth, I think my few readers are pretty sick of memes about me anyway.

    I’m totally with you on numbers 8, 9 and 10. And was so sad that “Revolutionary Road” wasn’t good (in my opinion). We’re seeing “The Reader” next, and I have it on the best authority that I will LOVE it!

  15. Arrrrh! Okay, I’m in. This means there’s going to be an awful lot of disclosure on my blog in the upcoming weeks since I just signed up for five interview questions.

    Might be a little while before I get to this because of bonus truthful thing #11: I have a hard time sitting down to write these days, and that more than anything feels like it’s killing me by inches. Well, that and the cold.

  16. Pingback: Honesty - High places, low places « Bright Yellow World

  17. Hooray, thanks for playing along. I get that “I’m about to be named here” feeling too.

    I don’t love spicy food. I like flavorful food, but don’t burn my mouth with hot spices.

  18. Pingback: Iron Fist » Blog Archive » ten

Comments are closed.