Self-Love Day 2009

vdaypourhommeToday (and tomorrow) mark the third annual Self-Love Day started by none other than the Queen of the PRB, Snackie. Last year I kind of cheated and talked about the Fella instead of directly about myself. And the year before that I made a list. Boy, I was ambitious (and single).

The deal is to dedicate a post to talking about yourself and something in particular you love about you. THEN anyone reading can chime in with something they love about you thus creating a wild comment orgy lovefest.

Was that too graphic? Ooops.

So what do I love about me? Maybe it’s because I’ve been so sick this week but it really got me thinking about being nurturing. I’m a thoughtful person who is good at nurturing people. I’ll run to the store for juice if you need it. I’ll send you a card when you’re feeling blue. I’ll hold your hand when you are crying. I’ll tell you you can do it when you courage falters. I’ll cheer for you on the sidelines and throw you a party to celebrate.

I love that about myself.

Here’s the part where you chime in (if you feel like it) with what you love about me. Feel free to participate! Self-Love Day is actually two days this year so you also have tomorrow.

Here’s how the whole thing works:

1.) You’re gonna grab yourself a banner.  If you don’t like the one I’ve used in this post, you can find another one here.

2.) You’re gonna post that banner and then tell us all something that you really like love about yourself (thus, the “self-love” portion of our program).

3.) Ask or beg your readers to post one thing that they too love about you!!!  If your blog friends are nice, you shouldn’t have to beg…much.

4.)  Enjoy yourself and spread the love by doing this on your blog!  If you want to, drop me a line or a trackback so that I know you participated too!

49 thoughts on “Self-Love Day 2009

  1. Ah, how do I love the Sizz? Let me count the ways…

    Her writing – true, honest, forthright. I sense that when we read her posts, we read “her.”

    (Hey, I might actually do this. It’s way past time for a new post at my place.)

  2. This is easy: Sizzle = big heart which means she is a wonderful human being. Plus gorgeous voice (which I think I’ve mentioned a gazillion times over but one can never be sick of hearing such a compliment I think).

  3. I love that you’re ever evolving. Some people are so happy to say in their little ruts but not you! You are always looking to change, find new things, improve, blah blah blah.

    Thanks so much for doing the Self-Love Day this year!

  4. Easy peasy. You are very welcoming in person. You are warm and I sense that people feel immediately at ease with you. You have a great smile and a great sense of style.

  5. Sizzle – I blog-love you to bits! I ‘stalked’ you for quite a long time before finally posting a comment. What kept me reading is your honesty, your openness, your sense of self, your sense of humor, and your kindness to those who matter most in your life. Your writing has inspired me on more than a few occasions, and I thank you for that. Between today and tomorrow I will try to also partake in this little self-lovefest. Can’t hurt, eh? 🙂

  6. open to learning, growing, evolving…
    appreciation of music
    fanatastic sense of humor
    honesty, even when it sucks
    willingness to look at and own your “stuff”…and then not sit in it…
    unwavering friendship

    xoxox

  7. Things I love about Sizzle: you have a big heart and a whip fast sense of humor; you have awesome taste in hats and in cooking shows (even if some rude people tend to ruin it for you on Twitter); you’re honest and open and willing to share yourself in hopes that it can help others; and you’re just an all around awesome chica! Hope you get to feeling better soon and that you have a good Valentine’s Day!

  8. The thing I love about you, Sizz, is that you’re trying damn hard to change some things about yourself that historically haven’t worked out for you (i.e., in the wild world of relationships). That’s huge. HUGE! Totally admire you for it, too. Have a great weekend.

  9. You’re right on the money about your nurturing qualities. I love that you have more than once offered to come by the house and do my dishes. That’s some love there. I’ve also seen you interact with young children (Charlie), and I can honestly say that based on that relationship, your nephew Finn is lucky to have such an awesome aunt. Seriously, you are very kind.

  10. Happy Self Love Day!

    One thing I love about you is that you strike me as someone who is very kind, warm, and compassionate.

  11. I cant say it any better than any one else her has, you have determined caring and genuine personality that makes you truly a nice person. Since no one else mentioned it, you also have a great rack. 🙂

  12. I love your persistence, your willingness to laugh at yourself, and that sideways smile you give me when I am laughing at you and you have just decided to begin laughing with me, but you don’t want to encourage me, so you just smile.

  13. I love that in your writing there is vulnerability, honesty and compassion that I have not found anywhere else. The fact that you able to share all this is such a gift.

    Happy Valentines!

  14. I love that you have such ‘sister love’. It really shows that you believe us girls are empowered and capable!

    And the hair, it’s good!

  15. I love how straight-forward you are in your writing, not shying away from putting a good face on things when they’re going bad. It makes you appear much more honest and easy to know through your blog. And that makes your blog much more enjoyable to read, even when I feel for you through the hard times! Keep it up!

  16. What I like about Sizzle:

    ~ Her posts are well written, witty and funny!
    ~ She is kind and takes the time to answer comments when applicable
    ~ She’s got a nice singing voice (even if she doesn’t give herself that much credit! hehe)
    ~ She’s got a great sense of humor, can laugh about herself and is not afraid to share it with the world.

  17. I love that you didn’t run screaming from the theater when Etta James started practicing a little self-love of her own… in an entirely different way.

  18. *jumps on love dog-pile*
    I believe it is your loving, malleable nature, that lets you be friends with such a variety of people. This comes from your generous heart, I think. It shows in your ease to talk with, and the ready smile on your face. 🙂 Generosity is a beautiful thing.

  19. Okay, a lot of people said your big heart, so that one’s taken. :p And I think I said this one of the past years, but I am in awe of how in touch you are with yourself–seeing the bad AND the good in a way few people do.

  20. How do I love Sizzle let me count the ways…
    First of all you are one of my favourite bloggers, there is an honesty in your writing which I admire very much.

    I love that you are so generous with your time, and that you genuinely seem to care about people. (Even the ones that tick you off.) In fact, I’d like to be more like you. 🙂

    Happy Valentine’s Day. Hugs.

  21. Ooooh. I like this assignment.

    I heart Sizzle because she writes such heart felt posts. Not afraid to be open and honest. Real. Sweet. Vulnerable but fiercely determined to remain independant. Funny as hell. Great singing voice and Diana Ross reincarnate. A great bloggy buddy. She can also pull off a firey red hair highlights like no one’s biz. She’s a cool tee-tee to Finn.

    And. And. And.

    Shot in the dark but I bet she’d make an awesome drinking buddy.

    lOVE YA!

  22. I have to pick more than one thing :-). I love your humor and I love that you love e.e.cummings. I love that you and I worry about the same silly things. I mostly love that you are a caring person. Happy Valentine’s Day!

  23. I love that you have such a kind and good heart. I love that no matter what you always want to be a good friend and help others…even when sometimes you should take care of yourself first. I love how you can be both honest and funny at the same time in a post and I love that you are so open about your feelings.

  24. I love (you! and) the awesome way you tell stories. I also love that I feel like I can talk to you about anything. AND that you live Not So Far away so that I can see your lovely face pretty often. In related news: Chris and I are overdue for a Seattle visit. When you feel better, we’ll come hang out! xo

  25. I love that you are unvarnished. And that you speak your mind. But unlike a lot of women with these two qualities, you are unfailingly nice. And nice counts for a lot in this world.

  26. What a great idea, one which I might be taking on myself momentarily. Being number 36 means that so many others have beaten me to this prompt, mainly saying what I would anyway.

    I’ll put the same sentiments in my own words then. I’ve only been reading here for a year, but I find your voice is very unique. I read approximately 6 million blogs, and I never get yours confused with that of another (something I’m prone to do in other cases). You seem to be a very warm and honest person, traits I greatly appreciate. I’m also filled with admiration that you personally reply to the shitload of comments you get, because that is not easy. I can’t even reply to a personal email or two a month.

  27. I love that you are funny, smart, quirky and kind. You keep an eye out for your friends (especially our girl TK) without being pushy. And if you ARE pushy? It’s only because you have no other choice.

    You are the kind of friend that people dream of having.

  28. I love that you are so sincere and honest. I love your spunky hair and your bright smile. I love that you aren’t afraid to try new things. I just love that you know the right thing to say when others are hurting. I wish I knew what to say to make you feel better. HUGS Love you Sizzle.

  29. I adore your “writing voice.” I have a feeling that it isn’t dissimilar from the voice I would hear if I were speaking to you.

    And I played too. 😉

  30. Oh Sizzle. How do I love you?! I love your stories about your arpartment building, I love your hair and I love that every picture of you, for some reason, always puts a smile on my face.

    You just seem like someone I could totally relate to in real life!

  31. I wish I had you around to take care of me when I am sick. I can tell you are nurturing and thoughtful from what you write, especially about Finn.

    I love that you are so giving. I love that you are compassionate and positive, and think about how others feel too.

    And I just found out today that I love your handwriting! 😉 (because I got the envelope you sent 🙂 )

Comments are closed.